Hanukkah Blog Hop: Day 4

Hanukkah 2012 Blog Hop

Welcome to the first ever Hanukkah Blog Hop! We are so excited to be able to share with you some wonderful Hanukkah related projects. We’ll be posting 2 projects a week on Sunday’s & Wednesday’s until the first day of Hanukkah on December 9th! There are 4 of us participating so that is a total of 9 hop days for a total of 36 ideas!! Are you ready to be Hanukkah project inspired?!

We hope you all enjoyed the first 3 days of our Hanukkah Blog Hop! If this is your first visit, go back and visit Day 1, 2 and 3.   And don’t forget to circle round to all 4 blogs in the hop for each of those days. 

******

Have you had a chance to make a few of the stars I showed you last Sunday?    I had hoped to have more tutorials and links up for you on Monday but it wasn’t to be.  Too much star gazing perhaps on my part?    Whatever caused it I’ve been down with a high fever so for the hop this time around I’m showing you a few more of my “star” creations.

Everyone in the pool!  It’s time to party!     Okay…that’s maybe a little bit over the top for an introduction of my Pool Party and Snow Flurry star.   Though I have to say…when I lived in Southern California the Hanukkah celebrations I was invited to did often end up in the pool!   Hm…maybe that’s why my hand grabbed for the pool party in the first place?   Doesn’t really explain the snowflake though now does it?  

All images and die cuts copyright Stampin’ Up!

I think I mentioned last Sunday that the flames of the Hanukkah lights remind me of starshine and today you can see that they also remind me of snowflakes.  Each one unique and glowing and starlike.  In my mind at least.  So I couldn’t help combining the two images.     Believe it or not if you place it correctly the star card will open with the snowflake in place so you can place a greeting inside then fold it closed again.  To see what the card looks like open you can see last Sunday’s star card here.   Of course you can also hang the star up like an ornament or place it on a card holder in the center of a bouquet.    Had a thought too that you could make several of the smaller stars then hang them off the larger one with fishing line or thread and then hang the entire piece from a chandelier as a decorative mobile over your table.   Of course if you live in Florida some might comment on your snowflake motif!

In case you are wondering, that snowflake is from the Snow Flurry die in the Holiday Catalog and it wasn’t cut with paper.   This time around I used aluminum flashing!  Yep…the same metal used on roofs and gutters and available fairly cheaply at your local home store.   That Snow Flurry die is one tough Bigz die and like all Bigz dies it can handle up to 50 different materials (see the list below) and flashing is one of the materials.   Some time back my local Lowe’s store had a flashing that was silver on one side and gold on the other.  Makes for a real two-fer as we used to say.   Also makes for some lovely snowflakes don’t you think?   Layer the various sized snowflakes in alternating colors with glue dots or a glue gun and top it all off with one of our large 8mm pearls.   We made just the snowflakes as winter ornaments at my last Stamp Camp.  Light and simple and fun to enclose in a card to a friend – especially if they live somewhere they don’t get to see the real thing.   Here’s a close up of  both of the stars and their details.

All images and die cuts copyright Stampin’ Up!

 

When I put this together I first had just the snowflake on the star and then I decided to see what setting it off would look like with a 2-1/2″ circle as a backing piece.   I was wonderfully surprised to find that the large snowflake seemed to be made with that size circle in mind.   I love that Stampin’ Up takes these kinds of details into consideration when they plan their designs.  Don’t you?

You’ll notice one little oops in the details.  We no longer sell the textured paper I used.  Not to worry though…the regular cardstock works just fine as you can see from the little star.

Supplies:

Stamps: none exterior – Jewish Celebrations interior – same design as that used in last Sunday’s Star here.

Paper: Pool Party Textured Cardstock, Brushed Gold Cardstock, Very Vanilla used inside

Inks: none exterior – Night of Navy interior

Other: Big Shot, Bigz Snow Flurry die (holiday catalog), aluminum flashing, Stampin’ Trimmer, Simply Score, 2-1/2″ Circle Punch,  glue dots, dimensionals

All images and die cuts copyright Stampin’ Up!

 

Supplies:  

Stamps:   Jewish Celebrations

Paper:  Pool Party & Very Vanilla Cardstock, Night of Navy page from Regals Designer Series Paper Pattern Stack

Ink:  Night of Navy

Other:  Stampin’ Trimmer, Simply Score, 1″ Circle Punch, 1-1/4″ scallop circle punch (holiday catalog), glue dots, dimensionals

Here’s the list of 50 materials I promised earlier:   Big Shot approved Materials – SU flyer

and a chart I created  with dimensions and a video tutorial link for the stars: Star Fold Card Dimensions

Here’s a close up of the Snow Flurry die from the catalog page so you can see the individual shapes I layered together.  Largest snowflake is 3-5/8″ x 3-5/8″  :

******

 And just for fun…here’s what my Pool Party star looks like when my photo program ran an automatic color adjustment routine on it.  I can’t decide if that’s what the star would look like when done in Marina Mist or Bashful Blue.  What do you think?  Gave the silver flashing a nice purple tint too don’t you think?  Interesting that the Brushed Gold paper stayed gold…though it does look just a tad more shimmery to me.   Makes for a more traditional Hanukkah color scheme too.

******

Late breaking Hanukkah News…what better place than the Hanukkah Hop to spill the beans….Stampin’ Up has released a brand new My Digital Studio download kit with everything you need to create cards, scrapbook pages and any kind of Hanukkah related project you can imagine.  After seeing what Miriam did with the new download I’m contemplating using it to create table decorations and other holiday favors.    Might even create a few decorative bits to put on the fronts of  some brand new stars.   What could be easier than dropping some of the images and embellishments on a single page then punching them out and adhering to my many stars!  Perfect!    And even better…if you don’t yet have My Digital Studio…it’s on sale for 50% off during the Online Extravaganza sale this week.   Check with your demonstrator for more details.  

Hanukkah Happiness Ensemble Digital Download

******

Hope you all have a Happy Thanksgiving tomorrow!

Thank you for hopping along with us.
Your next stop is Andi’s blog, where she is going to show you some more great Hanukkah related projects!

Make sure to come back again and visit on Sunday for Day 5 of our Hanukkah Blog Hop!

Hanukkah 2012 Blog Hop Previous  Hanukkah 2012 Blog Hop Next

Here’s a complete list of the Hanukkah Blog Hoppers in case any links don’t work.

1. Andi Potler
2. Yapha Mason
3. Miriam Permut
4. Jean FitchYOU ARE HERE!

15 Responses

  1. Beautiful, Jean. I hope we have snow for Chanukah. TFS.

  2. These are just gorgeous, Jean! It may be warm enough to go in the pool this Hanukkah… Thank you for all of the details on these gorgeous stars!

  3. How fun Jean! I love the 2-fer colors. I may have to take a trip to the hardware store!

  4. Oh, Jean – these are absolutely gorgeous!!!!!!!! I have used aluminum flashing for garden stakes, but never on a small scale for cards. Now I have to buy that die!!! I’m sure I will find a lot of other uses for it, as well.

  5. I love the stars and all your information. I’m definitely going to have to see if I can find the appropriate weight of metal flashing to try something like this. The snowflakes take on a whole new life done in real metal.
    BTW are you having a bit of a war with your photo programme?

  6. Soooo very sorry that you are sick…hope the fever and all that goes with it disappear very fast!!! Beautiful stars….I am also a lover of stars and love to look up at the sky – but we have too much city light to really enjoy as much as you do out in the country. Take good care and Happy Thanksgiving!

  7. You are as clever and creative as you are kind and thoughtful! Happy Thanksgiving and many blessings to you!

  8. These are beautiful!!!! I love the snowflakes!!!

  9. […] you enjoy the remaining 5 projects! If this is your first visit, go back and visit Day 1, 2, 3 and 4.  And don’t forget to make the full hop rounds as you do so.  Wouldn’t want you to […]

  10. really pretty!! i thought that this new snowflake die would be too small for the aluminum projects but it looks really great. i will be cutting some metal snowflakes for sure!

  11. […] projects and found lots of inspiration! If this is your first visit, go back and visit Day 1, 2, 3, 4 and […]

  12. […] projects and found lots of inspiration! If this is your first visit, go back and visit Day 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and […]

  13. […] projects and found lots of inspiration! If this is your first visit, go back and visit Day 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 and […]

  14. […] projects and found lots of inspiration! If this is your first visit, go back and visit Day 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8. […]

  15. […] Next up is one I’m sending out at Passover this year.   If you remember the Hanukkah Hop from a couple of years ago you’ll remember that I love these Star Fold cards.  This time […]

Leave a comment