Wacky Watercooler January 2017 Mini Blog Hop #2: Occasions Catalog Redux!

2017-january-mini-blog-hop-banner-2

Hello & welcome to the second of our two mini January Hops

This month we’re offering two mini hops since the Occasions Catalog and the Sale-a-Bration brochure just went live January 4th.  There is just too much stamping goodness to contain ourselves to one single hop!

Once again we’re showcasing the new Occasions Catalog and also the freebies from the Sale-a-Bration products.

As usual you can follow this hop in a circle going either direction.  You can also return to the home hop site if you ever get lost along the way.   That site will also, with a bit of scrolling back lead you to any and all of our past hops that you might still find inspiring.

Today I’m honored to be starting the hop but if you are working the hop in a reverse circle you may have arrived from Priscilla’s blog.   Amazing work as always Miss Priscilla.  I always find wonderful CASE ideas from her shared projects.

******

Today I drew my inspiration from the Sale-a-Bration brochure.  Using the new Detailed Dragonfly Thinlit dies and the new Hexagon Dynamic Embossing Folder it was easy to create a very simple but colorful card.

Inside the Lines Dragonfly Dreams

(click the image for a larger view)

wacky-watercooler-january-2017-hop-2-inside-the-lines-dragonfly-dreams-jean-fitch

wacky-watercooler-january-2017-hop-2-dragonfly-interior-jean-fitch

Supplies:

Stamps: Swan Lake, Beautiful You (inside sentiment)

Ink: Bermuda Bay, So Saffron, Sweet Sugarplum

Paper:  Basic Black, Bermuda Bay & Very Vanilla Cardstock CardstockInside the Lines Designer Series Paper

Other: Big Shot, Detailed Dragonfly Thinlit Dies, Hello You Thinlit Dies, And Hexagon Dynamic Embossing Folder, Very Vanilla Thick Baker’s Twine, Bone Folder, Paper Snips,  SNAIL, Tombow Liquid Glue, Dimensionals, Foam Brayers.

Measurements:

Bermuda Bay Cardbase: 5-1/2” x 8-1/2”

Basic Black Layer: 3-3/4” x 5-1/2”

Inside the Lines DSP: 3-1/2” x 5-1/2”

Very Vanilla inside mat: 4” x 5-1/4” + scraps for words and dragonfly

I love the soft feel of the colors and elements.  Nice too that the drawn picture is already there and waiting since I don’t have those types of artistic talents.  Thanks Stampin’ Up for giving us a wonderful starting spot to play with.

A very easy card.  Because I created this card for a class I used three foam brayers (they come 2 to a package) so that there would be one brayer for each of the three colors applied to the Inside the Lines Paper.  Basically I CASE’d the card from page 10 of the Sale-a-Bration brochure.  I decided to mat the brayered piece with Basic Black (and then embossed the matted piece) to really make the colors pop and then used a Bermuda Bay cardbase to add a bit more pop and color.  I found that this layout worked with most if not all of our various die cut words.  Turned out the most popular word in class was sunshine!  Possibly because of all the rain going on?  I loved the way the dragonfly tail could run right into the “n” of the thanks so most of my versions used the thanks.  After all…who can’t use a few cards saying thanks!

Now it seems I’m going to need even more of this paper as all 22 people in class pretty much used up the whole pack!  Between this brayered version and the one I shared in a recent card color challenge I’m using up the three ink colors reinkers and the paper incredibly fast!

Click the link below to download a PDF of the directions and pictures:

Inside the Lines Dragonfly Card by Jean Fitch

***********

My dear friend Germaine sent me a gorgeous card using the new SAB set Avant Garden and since she doesn’t have a blog couldn’t participate today.  So…I decided to add her card to the hop via my blog.   She wanted me to tell you that this card is a CASE of one by Brandy Cox found here.  I love the ribbon and other alterations she made don’t you?

wacky-watercooler-january-2017-hop-2-avant-garden-germaine

Supplies:

Stamps: Avant Garden (SAB freebie)

Ink: Basic Black, Melon Mambo, Old Olive

Paper: Basic Black, Melon Mambo, Whisper White Cardstock,

Other:  3/8″ Stitched Satin Ribbon, Brights Sequin Assortment,  Bone Folder,  Paper Snips,  SNAIL, Tombow Liquid Glue, Dimensionals.

Love the way the dotted background paper was homemade with a stamp from the set and a piece of Whisper White cardstock.  Super!  The images are fairly quick to fussycut too.  So overall not too hard and a very elegant look.  Thanks for sharing your wonderful creation Miss Germaine!  I know I’ll be CASEing this cool project this weekend.

***************************

One last shared project from my sideline Linda.  I saw this card at our Stamp Camp last Saturday and knew you’d want to see it.  Didn’t have time to case it myself so this is Linda’s original work based on a sample from the Occasions Catalog.  I have to say…this card is the one that convinced me to order the Sealed with Love bundle of stamps and dies and the coordinating paper stack.   I really didn’t think I needed another Valentine set but it turns out I do!  Nice that I can save 10% off it as well don’t you think!   Thanks Linda.  My budget isn’t quite so sure.  LOL

wacky-watercooler-january-2017-hop-2-sealed-with-love-linda-miller

wacky-watercooler-january-2017-hop-2-sending-love-interior-linda-millerInside of card with the “love note” inside the envelope.

wacky-watercooler-january-2017-hop-2-sending-love-interior-detail-linda-millerCute the way the little love note pops right out of the envelope.

Both the envelope and the love note are created with dies from the set.

Supplies:

Stamps: Sealed With Love

Ink: Versamark, Real Red

Paper: Soft Sky, Real Red, Whisper White Cardstock, Sending Love Designer Series Paper Stack (inside), Gold Foil

Other:  Big Shot, Love Notes Framelit Dies, Gold Embossing Powder, Heat Tool,  Bone Folder,  Paper Snips,  SNAIL, Tombow Liquid Glue, Dimensionals.

I love the touches of gold that add a touch of elegance to the soft and subtle feel of the Soft Sky.  Even though Real Red is a bold and bright color it fits right in with the softer feel of the other colors.   Totally loving this card.  Thanks Miss Linda for sharing your creation for the hop.

***************************

I encourage you to play with the products that I’ve showcased today.   As you can see, the products I’ve shown will coordinate with products you may already have or can find in the Stampin’ Up Occasions and Annual Catalogs.  Don’t forget…from January 4th through March 31 your purchases may also earn you extra SAB freebies!   Sweet!

*******

That’s it for my share of the hop.  Time to move on over to my friend  Heidi’s Blog   Heidi is not only our coordinator for the hops and challenges our group participates in but she is an original and crafty lady in so many ways.  My CASE file overflows every time I visit her blog.  I’m so thankful that she recovered from her pneumonia (or mostly anyway) in time to participate in this hop.   Enjoy the rest of the hop and I hope to see you back here soon.

To follow the hop click on the links below:

next watercooler crock button

Home Button

Previous Button

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

8 Responses

  1. Love your Inside the Lines Dragonfly Dreams card, Jean. What a great background that SAB specialty paper offers, especially deeply embossed with that wonderful new ef. How nice of you to post Germaine’s lovely card since she doesn’t have a blog and also your sideline, Linda’s. They really show off the new products beautifully.

  2. What a great card for a class, Jean – and using one brayer per colour would certainly eliminate confusion (and a mess!) I just love the dragonfly dreams bundle. I was SURE that I didn’t need the Sealed with Love framelits (I got the stamp set at On Stage for free) – but darn you, showing an awesome card! 😉 I love them all!

  3. Great cards! Cute idea to add the love note inside the Valentine’s card!

  4. Happy Belated Birthday! I made the mistake of writing yours down in Feb. 😦 I love your dragonfly card, I’m going to pull mine and give it some attention ;).

  5. Love the Dragonfly card Jean. It really showcases how beautiful the paper is as well as the framelits. Great idea to use the different brayers as it would certainly limit the mess or indecision in a class. It was nice being able to see Germaine and Linda’s cards too. Both beautiful.

  6. What a great idea to emboss the SAB specialty paper, Jean. it really add interest. I love the inside of your Dragonfly Dreams card too. Thanks for sharing Germaine and Linda’s card. That was so nice of you!

  7. Very pretty cards, Jean! Love that dragon fly.

  8. Great use of Inside the Lines with the Hexagon embossing folder; I really like the look! Nice cards, Jean; thanks for sharing them all.

Leave a comment