Hanukkah Blog Hop: Day 3

Hanukkah 2012 Blog Hop

*****

Welcome to the first ever Hanukkah Blog Hop! We are so excited to be able to share with you some wonderful Hanukkah related projects. We’ll be posting 2 projects a week on Sunday’s & Wednesday’s until the first day of Hanukkah on December 9th! There are 4 of us participating so that is a total of 9 hop days for a total of 36 ideas!! Are you ready to be Hanukkah project inspired?!   

If you are following the standard order of the hop you’ve arrived from Miriam’s post with her timely and wonderful gift card holder made with Stampin’ Up’s Petite Pocket Die.  Thanks Miriam!  If you’re moving in reverse that’s okay too, as we’re one happy Stampin’ Up circle of friends on this hop.    If you’ve gotten lost along the way check the buttons at the bottom of the post and the general links to the hoppers blogs to find your way back.

We hope you all enjoyed the first 2 days of our Hanukkah Blog Hop! If this is your first visit, go back and visit Day 1 and 2 and hop on through.

 

Do you ever feel as if you are seeing stars?   That’s been my experience all week!   Stars to fold,  stars to decorate,  to send to friends and of course stars for the Hanukkah Hop!   

While the picture above isn’t mine, it looks very much like what I can see at night from my front deck.  I live out in the country, where lights are few and far between,  at about 1500 feet above sea level.  And after years of living at sea level I now feel as if I can reach up and touch the stars.    Not quite the same as when I lived in New Mexico’s high desert at 7,000 feet but still, they feel close.  And they are inspiring.   That velvety blue sky and God’s original Festival of Lights so often puts me in mind of Hanukkah and the star shine of the candles in the menorah calling us to remembrance and celebration.    

I’m happy today to share these paper stars to complement your own Hanukkah Celebrations.  I hope they will inspire you to create your own.   To send them out to gladden someone’s heart (that is why we create and send our cards right?) or decorate your home with them in some fashion.  

 

Jewish Celebrations in Night of Navy

All images copyright Stampin’ Up!
All materials used are Stampin’ Up!

The smaller star is a story in itself.  The tutorial for the large star I found showed only the one size and I was determined that the big star needed a little brother (Hanukkah is in large part about family right? :D).   Search as I might, and I discovered quite a few other people were looking too, I couldn’t find the cutting or scoring dimensions for a smaller equilateral triangle (the base shape of the construction) so had to drag out my very rusty math skills and the wonderful 1/4″ grid found on the new Stampin’ Trimmer by Stampin’ Up! 

After a bit of trial and error I figured it out.  I did discover though that a small star like the one shown here has very little space inside for holding treats or texts so works best as an ornament or an embellishment  for another card or larger project.  That being the case I mounted it on the circle punched image from Jewish Celebrations (found in the Holiday Catalog). 

Now I just have to decide whether I want to hang it from a thread (our Stampin’ Up Bakers Twine or Linen Thread would work nicely), add it to a banner or maybe even add to a wreath or other decoration for my front door.   Hm…might even make several and string them all together in a  banner like the one Andi showed us last Wednesday.  You did see that banner right?  If not click on the day 2 link above at the top of the post.   I should add that these stars look nice from the front or the back so perfect for hanging across doorways or other areas where both sides will be seen.

And here’s the inside of the larger star when it’s unfolded.  I forgot to take a picture of the little stars interior so you’ll have to come back later in the week when I show more stars and how they were made. 

Supplies:

Stamps: Jewish Celebrations (Holiday Catalog)

Paper: Night of Navy DSP from the Regals Color Collection Designer Series Paper Stack, Very Vanilla & Night of Navy Cardstock, Brushed Gold Cardstock

Ink: Night of Navy Classic ink

Punches: Extra Large Oval, Decorative Label, 1″ Circle,  2-1/2″ Circle, Boho Blossom, 1-1/4″ Scallop Circle (Holiday Catalog) 

Other: Simply Score, Stampin’ Trimmer, Gold Glimmer Brad (Basics Glimmer Brad Collection), glue dots and dimensionals, stampin’ sponge.

Note: All stamped images used Night of Navy ink.  Some stamped off for a lighter shade.  The large star will fit inside a 6″ Square envelope.  The diameter is approx. 5-5/8″.   The small star fits in a 3″ square envelope and has an approximate diameter of 2-3/4″.  The star folds tuck in so the star will hold itself closed making it perfect for either a card or an ornament.

***********

Come back throughout this week for the unfolding details (sorry, I couldn’t resist :D).   To see different stars, their details, close up pictures and of course their insides.  These are fold cards after all so what can be folded…can also be unfolded.

Hop stars straight from the desk.

I’m beginning to think I could fold these guys in my sleep.  

Want to make your own?   Here’s the basic video from a sister demo Cindy Elam.  Here’s your chance to view the new Stampin’ Trimmer from Stampin’ Up in action!    Nice view of the Simply Score too!

If you’ve gotten the  folded star bug now, I  found another very cool Origami Star of David here but discovered my fingers weren’t quite nimble enough to make it.

Thank you for hopping along with us.
Your next stop is Andi’s blog, where she is going to show you some more great Hanukkah related projects!

Make sure to come back again and visit on Wednesday for Day 4 of our Hanukkah Blog Hop!

Hanukkah 2012 Blog Hop Previous  Hanukkah 2012 Blog Hop Next

Here’s a complete list of the Hanukkah Blog Hoppers in case any links don’t work.

1. Andi Potler
2. Yapha Mason
3. Miriam Permut
4. Jean FitchYOU ARE HERE!

