Watercooler Wednesday Challenge – WWC68 – Angel on Deck

WWC68 – Libby’s Color Challenge

Libby's Color Challenge

Welcome to this weeks Watercooler Wednesday Challenge.

Today we not only have a new challenge…but we also have a new guest artist.  Yay.   Fiona Whitehead has come out to play with us today.  Fiona has entered several challenges here in the Watercooler and we were all so wowed by her talent we just had to arrange a playdate!   Thanks Fiona for joining us and taking up the challenge as a guest designer.  Looking forward to seeing what you have for us today.

Also today…Libby gave us another “official” chance to play with the retiring set of in colors.  I’m still not sure how I’ll survive their retirement.  Sigh…there are just some colors that reach in and grab your soul.    Of course being the color fanatic that I am I just had to accept the challenge to work with all five outgoing colors.  Libby told us we only had to use 3 but then she added…we could use more if we wished.  So….yep…I wished!

See if you can find all five in my creation below.

**********

 In Colors Baby Wipe Technique Part 2

(as always click the pictures to see larger images)

Watercooler Wednesday Challenge - WWC68 - Libby's Color Challenge

Here’s another somewhat lighter picture.  The actual real life card is somewhere in between.  For some reason the digital camera picks up more white space than actually appears on the card and muddies the colors a bit more than they really are.  Loving the bit of textured look the watercolor paper gives the colors and the embossing.

On another topic.  Do you know how hard it is to type watercolor in the same post as watercooler.  Boy is that a challenge!

WWC68 - Libby's Color Challenge Natural Light watermarked

Supplies:

Stamps: Kinda Eclectic (gold leaves)

Inks:  Blackberry Bliss, Hello Honey, Lost Lagoon,  Mossy Meadow, Tangelo Twist, Versamark

Paper: Blackberry Bliss Cardstock, Watercolor Paper, Gold Foil

Punches: None

Tools & Adhesives:  Big Shot, Big Shot Die Brush, Botanical Builder Framelit dies, Heat Tool, Gold Embossing Powder,  Basic Jewel Pearls, Gold marker to color pearls, Fine Dimensionals, Glue Dots, SNAIL.

*********

Believe it or not this inking is a retread of a baby wipe pad I made several weeks ago for the April Watercooler Blog Hop you can see here.  I stored the “ink” pad I created in an old acrylic clamshell stamp case and it’s still juicy!

Of course the colors have melded and melted together a bit more.  Not the same defined stripes I had before.  But…that worked to my advantage with the technique I used.

I just spritzed the watercolor paper then placed it over the “pad” and tapped around it with my fingers. Moved it and tapped some more. Kept repeating until I got the look I wanted. Dipped the edges a bit to get a nice line of color along them and then gold embossed the leaf image from Kinda Eclectic in a few places.   Cut the fern looking leaves and some flowers from the Botanical Builder dies attached…colored the pears and added those.   Now I just need to find my Trust God stamp set so I can add the God Bless You sentiment.

This card is intended for a very special young lady who gave me the perfect gift on a day when I very much needed it.   Saving that story for another day as it’s time to hop on my way to a bit of a rest so I’ll be bright and bushy tailed for a new class at my local health center this afternoon.

*********

That’s it for this challenge.  To see the rest of the design teams In Colors for Libby’s Challenge contributions head on over to the Challenge blog website here.   That’s also where you can add your own creation with the linky doodad.  When you add your own design and there are more than three entries, one of you will be a challenge winner or runner up and have the option to place our new badges on your own site.  Of course…you’ll also win bragging rights!

Check here to see the winner of last weeks challenge.  And here to see all the other linky and Artist Team entries.  Check the challenge site for rules on competing for future challenges.

I really hope you will add your own creations this week.  Really…this challenge is an easy one.  Grab your colors and play!

I hope you’ll join us next Wednesday for yet another Watercooler Wednesday Challenge.

Jean Fitch in pink

 

 

 

 

4 Responses

  1. Jean what a lovely card for your friend. I love the soft subtle look and the way the colours have blended. I also like the use of the gold foil; it makes it so rich looking. Oh and thanks for the link back to your previous card, as it was one I intended to case but forgot where I’d seen it and I loved the blending technique.

  2. Wow, Jean, you really did get all the colours into your card as promised. Love the technique and the way the background of colours makes your gold foil flowers and ferns “pop”.

  3. This is absolutely beautiful Jean. I wish I could see it in real life. Wonderful “artsy” technique!

  4. GREAT card Jean! Love your background and how you were able to incorporate all the colors. The gold focal point adds just the right pop to the card too!

Leave a comment