Watercooler Wednesday Challenge – WWC69 – Hello World – Kath’s CAS Masculine Challenge

WWC69 – Kath’s CAS  Challenge

(CAS = Clean & Simple)

WWC69 - Kath's Masculine CAS Challenge

Welcome to this weeks Watercooler Wednesday Challenge.  This week Clean and Simple is the style that floats my boat.  Oh yeah…you just know I had to get a pun in there right? 😀

Which reminds me.  What stamping god decided that boats/ships and so on are masculine?  Have they met the new Navy?   That said…I do tend to grab ships, cars and trees when someone says make a guy card.  That’s also when the blue color tones come out as well.  Hm…must be that anti pink programming kicking in.

To to keep it simple…here’s the card.

**********

 Hello World

(as always click the pictures to see larger images)

WWC69 - Hello World - Kath's CAS Masculine Challenge

I’m not entirely sure this counts as simple since I did bring out the heat gun for the emboss resist technique part of the card…but hey…tools and guns…can’t get much more masculine than that.

Same with the card theme.  Hello World…I’m heading out.   Didn’t Columbus, Drake and a few other guys do pretty much that exact thing?  Of course…they didn’t know the world was round.  They must not have had a Stampin’ Up Circle punch or the Open Sea stamp set to guide their travels.

Supplies:

Stamps: Open Sea, Chalk Lines (both are retiring May 31 – don’t wait to order they are almost gone already and Stampin’ Up isn’t making any more).  Watercolor Wishes – greeting

Inks:  Soft Sky, Tempting Turquoise, Night of Navy Classic Inks & Versamark & Basic Black Archival or Black StazOn.

Paper: Soft Sky, Whisper White

Punches: 2″ Circle

Tools & Adhesives:  Heat Tool, Clear Embossing Powder, Stampin’ Sponges,  Dimensionals, SNAIL.

Technique:  Emboss Resist Masking Technique

Cost (without envelope): 22¢

*********

Simple to create (as well as low cost) with the right tools.  On the focal layer (4″ x 5-1/4″) I masked off a narrow strip using post it notes.  Using Versamark ink I stamped the wavy design from Chalk Lines into the masked off area.  Added Clear Embossing Powder and then heat set with a Heat Tool.

Then using Stampin’ Sponges and ink I started with circular motions to sponge first Soft Sky in random areas, then Tempting Turquoise and then a light amount of Night of Navy inks.  Remove the masking papers and admire.   Well yeah…I tend to admire each step along the way.   But especially the inked up look of this technique.  I can get lost staring at the color changes.  If you want to be a bit brave you could also throw in a bit of Wisteria Wonder or Elegant Eggplant to add another depth of color.

After the color tricks just stamp the ship from Open Sea in Black StazOn or the Basic Black archival that will set pretty well on top of the embossed area.  Stamp the World image also from Open Sea in Night of  Navy ink on Soft Sky scrap of paper.  Stamp the greeting in Black (Night of Navy might have been a good choice as well) then punch with the 2″ circle punch.   Add focal layer to Whisper White card base then add the punched world with dimensionals.

If you want to keep it even simpler just stamp the Hello on top of the waves themselves.  Easy Peasy.

*********

That’s it for this challenge.  To see the rest of the design teams In Colors for Libby’s Challenge contributions head on over to the Challenge blog website here.   That’s also where you can add your own creation with the linky doodad.  When you add your own design and there are more than three entries, one of you will be a challenge winner or runner up and have the option to place our new badges on your own site.  Of course…you’ll also win bragging rights!

Check here to see the winner of last weeks challenge.  And here to see all the other linky and Artist Team entries.  Check the challenge site for rules on competing for future challenges.

I really hope you will add your own creations this week.  Really…this challenge is an easy one.

I hope you’ll join us next Wednesday for yet another Watercooler Wednesday Challenge.

Jean Fitch in pink

 

 

 

 

 

8 Responses

  1. Jean, this card is gorgeous! I love the “waves”! Great guy card!

    • Thanks Miss Heather. I do love making waves. I’m going to miss Chalk Lines terribly. Maybe SU got rid of the ship and then decided with no ship we didn’t need waves? I can never have enough waves!
      Hugs and thanks for stopping by. J.

  2. Oh Jean you totally crack me up! What a great card. Beautifully done! The “Hello” and world (globe) remark had me laughing in my seat. So apropo! Thanks for sharing this terrific masculine card.

    • Thanks Miss Penny. I’m not sure why but guy cards always bring out the humor in me. It must be the whole “y” chromosome thing.

      I’m not sure either of these retiring sets will leave my hands/shelves. The ship is such a classic and the Chalk Lines sets with the waves and other border type images are just so fun and easy. I got over some retiring paper last year that had these same wavy lines because I had the stamp and figured I could create my own background papers. Now…what’s a girl to do without her waves? Keep making them! In every sense of the word. {grin}

      Thanks for stopping by and the kind words. Hugs – J.

  3. Great card! TFS.

  4. I’m afraid that ‘Chalk LInes’ went past me, but I can see why you like it so much, Jean. Your waves are awesome! (no comment here about you making waves…*cough*) 🙂 Fabulous card, my friend!

    • I just knew someone (cough…U) would bring that up. I love my friends with a devilish sense of humor who aren’t afraid to share. LOL

Leave a comment