Wacky Watercooler Blog Hop: April’s In Color Filled Hop

 April 2016 Banner

Welcome to our April Blog Hop

This month we are focusing on the retiring In Colors as well as a special “CASE the Watercooler” feature.

Hopefully you’ve arrived from  Marie’s blog.  I love Marie’s creative work as well as the name of her blog.  Tanglewood Cottage just sounds like some place I want to settle in with a cup of tea, a good book and creative and crafty work.  The perfect description I’m sure.

As usual you can follow this hop in a circle going either direction.  You can return to the home hop site if you ever get lost along the way.

*******

First up is a duo with gold in common but shown in different color ranges.

Golden Number of Years

Golden Number of Years - Wacky Watercooler April 2016 Blog Hop - Jean Fitch - Number of Years and Something to Say stamp setsTwo cards for the price of one picture. {grin}   I was running out of the Mossy Meadow version of the paper and decided to see what else would work with this design.  I rather like the look of the Basic Black Designer Series Paper from Botanical Garden.  A very Asian look I thought. One of my favorite design types.

Golden Number of Years (Shiny Version)

Golden Number of Years (shine version) - Wacky Watercooler April 2016 Blog Hop - Jean Fitch - Number of Years and Something to Say stamp sets

I threw in the shiny version picture so you would have a better idea of just how shiny the the gold really is in person and with a bit of light at the right angle.  Either way the look of the cards feel very elegant to me.   Who knew the wild Botanical Garden paper could have such a nice and restrained pattern in it.  Very Saville Row don’t you think if these papers were material for suits?

The card is a tent fold that stands up and has a delicate frame created with our Oval Collection Framelits.  Sadly those Framelits are on the retiring list.  So are the Itty Bitty Accent punches and the Something to Say stamp that I used to create the flowers.  The Botanical Garden paper is going too.   Thankfully the Number of Years and it’s matching set of dies are staying!  Whoop. Whoop!

So if you want to recreate this exactly and don’t have these items…time to start shopping!

Supplies:

Stamps: Number of Years, Something to Say (flower)

Ink: Versamark

Paper: Mossy Meadow, Sahara Sand, Basic Black, Tangelo Twist & Botanical Garden Designer Series Paper

Punches: Itty Bitty Accent Pack

Other:  Big Shot, Oval Collection Framelits, Large Numbers Framelits, Heat Tool, Gold Embossing Powder, SNAIL ,  dimensionals, glue dots.

Technique: Heat Embossing & Frame and Window Die Cutting.

With all the variety of occasions in this stamp set you can easily imagine Birthday or Anniversary as two appropriate occasions for this card.  Add the sentiments now or add them later on the inside.  Either way…Happy is the perfect word for the front.

**********

CASEing our fellow artists has become a popular feature on many of our hops so of course…we couldn’t resist doing it yet again.

I had my wish granted with Bev as my CASE subject.  I so enjoy cruising her blog and seeing her creative use of color and design mixed with her caring and all embracing spirit.  I always end up with food for thought as well as creativity that reaches into my soul and changes me.  In a good way. 😀

Here’s the card from Bev that I’ve CASEd and a link.

Bev's bouncing Brayer - WWC54card

If you want to get a taste of Bev’s outlook that will set you thinking here’s another post that really caught my mind and heart.

CASEing Bev with a Party!

Make a Wish Birthday Card - April 2016 Watercooler Blog Hop - Jean Fitch - Perfect Pennants

Yes…I know that’s not the usual way of spelling casing.  But…when I CASE (copy and share everything) I use the word case in capitals in a different way so the add-ons change as well. {grin}

Here’s the inside:

Make a Wish Birthday Card interior - Watercooler April 2016 Blog Hop - Perfect Pennants & Party Wishes

Thanks Bev for the inspiration.  This was a fun one!

Supplies:

Stamps: Perfect Pennants, Party Wishes (Occasions Catalog)

Ink: Blackberry Bliss, Mossy Meadow, Lost Lagoon, Tangelo Twist, Hello Honey (yes…all the retiring In Colors!)

Paper: Blackberry Bliss, Whisper White & Gold Glimmer Paper

Punches:  Itty Bitty Punch Pack (star)

Other:  SNAIL , glue dots, dimensionals

Technique: Baby Wipe Inking

The Baby Wipe Technique is a fun one and the color choices are only limited by your imagination.

It works by placing lines of color using reinker drops one by one on a folded up pad of two Baby Wipes and then placing your stamp across the lines of ink.    I’m storing the pad I created in an acetate box that closes tightly so I can come back over the next few days and create other designs with the same pad.  A fun and inexpensive way to play.   If you are a tad perfectionist you may want to take out your Stamp-a-ma-jig and place your long banners exactly.  I’m a more seat of the pants stamper so I eye it and enjoy the variations that happen since I can live with surprises and a bit of imperfection.

I love that all 5 of the retiring In Colors work so well together.  Very regal looking colors don’t you think?   I also found that the mix of stamp sets Perfect Pennants (annual catalog) and Party Wishes (occasions catalog) worked perfectly together.  My heart is still trying to get over the fact that both these sets are disappearing from my catalogs.  Really Stampin’ Up?  They’ve had their run?  Sigh.  I know I’m supposed to embrace change but it’s so hard when I love a set so much.  Check them out…truly…you’ll want them too.  That image from Party Wishes that says…a party without cake is just a meeting…caught me from day one of the Occasions catalog.

***************************

I encourage you to play with and purchase  these fun retiring products that I’ve shown you today.  As you can see they coordinate with products you may already have or can find in the Annual Catalog also with the upcoming new catalog as well.  But don’t wait too late if you don’t have them yet.  They are moving fast from available to fully retired and gone.  Sob!

***************************

That’s it for my share of the hop.  Time to move on to my Watercooler friend  Priscilla and her wonderfully inspired creations.  Her sweetness as a friend infuses her work too.  I know you will love her and the projects.

To follow the hop click on the link below:

next watercooler crock button

Home Button

Previous Button

 

 

11 Responses

  1. Ah Jean! I love your CASE and thank you for your kindness. My heart swells with such an unexpected tribute. Sending warm hugs on the wind to heal you.

  2. Love the card of Bev’s that you chose to CASE – and your version is awesome – very clean looking – could be a good masculine card, as well. Your first two cards are very Savile Row – elegant. That DSP pattern is my favourite out of that whole pack.

  3. Jean, I love the first set of cards and your comment about the pattern making an excellent suit for Saville Row. Yes, the patterns really are subtle but elegant. Your case of Bev’s card really catches its essence but makes it your own. Nicely done! I love the tribute to Bev’s view on love and the human spirit and link. Thanks for being part of our crazy April Blog Hop.

  4. You’re right Jean your first two cards are truly elegant. I had to go back to my paper stash and look at the Botanical DSP as I had forgotten that one. The embossing is beautiful and really gives these cards a wow factor. What a great CASE of Bev’s brayer technique card. I love the way you’ve used the banner’s and the Make a Wish sentiment is awesome. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Great cards, Jean! I love the way you “CASEd” Bev, and your sweet tribute.

  6. […] Fens YOU ARE HERE Penny Hanuszak Buffy Cooper Marie Green Jean Fitch Priscilla Ivler Bev Heidi Weaver Deb Smart Gail Allen Marsha Reed Before moving on, please scroll […]

  7. Jean, I love how you used the baby wipe technique for CASEing Bev’s card – brilliant! I’ve never done my colours in ‘lines’ before – just random dropping & mixing. Yours looks great! (I too am gutted that Perfect Pennants is retiring – what’ll I do without it?!) Love the Number of Years cards, both embossed & not.

  8. Hi there Jean! You Number of Years card are eloquent and clean! Love the gold embossing! Your take on Bev’s CASE is wonderful. I have never thought to put lines on with my rei-nkers before – thanks for the tip!

    p.s. If I settle in with a good book and a cup of tea I would be out like a light (speaking from experience)! *grin*

  9. Oh Jean – what a lovely pair to start off the post with! Both pairs that is! I like your design and black is always a favorite of mine! The baby wipe card was a great one to CASE. Your take on was quite nice! Great way to use that stamp! I might just have to copy that one myself!

  10. Wonderful work, Jean! Your CASE is fantastic and I appreciate the technique instructions–I have never tried the baby wipes with lines of color, but after seeing your card, I know I’ll be trying that SOON! Such a great card, both celebratory and masculine (if you needed a man-card).
    And your first set of cards are very elegant–love the gold embossing!

  11. […] retread of a baby wipe pad I made several weeks ago for the April Watercooler Blog Hop you can see here.  I stored the “ink” pad I created in an old acrylic clamshell stamp case and […]

Leave a Reply

