Watercooler Wednesday Challenge – WWC72 – Balloons That Shake Rock and Roll to Celebrate

WWC72 – Jean’s In Color Color Challenge

Watercooler Wednesday Challenge Graphic - WWC72 Jean's In Color Color Challenge - new in colors

Welcome to this weeks Watercooler Wednesday Challenge.

Today I’m asking you to play along with Stampin’ Up’s newest batch of In Colors.  A fun set that has a color name that includes my favorite material…Denim!   I’m not sure that denim qualifies as dapper but since the name includes denim…I’ll take it!

Create your own design or CASE (copy and share everything) from the challenge artists or wherever you find your inspiration.  Play with all 5 colors or with the 3 or 4 favorites you have in your studio.  Are you feeling Flirty?  Seeing Sugarplums in your dreams?  Down with Denim?  Whatever your preference grab 3 or 4 (or more) and get down and inky.  On your mark…get set…go!

 

**********

 Balloon Punch Shaker Card

(as always click the pictures to see larger images)

Watercooler Wednesday Challenge - WWC72 - Jean's In Color Color Challenge - Jean Fitch - Bitty Balloon Punch Shaker Card - Thoughtful Banners Stamp Set

Here’s a close up of the shaker element:

 

Watercooler Wednesday Challenge - WWC72 - Jean's In Color Color Challenge - shaker detail - Jean Fitch

And the inside of the card.

Only needs a name and a word or two to be good to go.  And gives proof that I used all 5 of the new in colors!

Watercooler Wednesday Challenge - WWC72 - Jean's In Color Color Challenge - Bitty Balloon Punch inside of card - Thoughtful Banners Stamp Set

Can you tell I’m not letting go of the small retired balloon punch?  Yep…it’s just too perfect.   Especially for adding to the shaker bits.  Covers up a few little inky boo boo’s too.  Nope…not saying where they are.  {grin}

Supplies:

Stamps: Thoughtful Banners, Build a Birthday

Inks:  Dapper Denim, Emerald Envy, Flirty Flamingo, Peekaboo Peach, Sweet Sugarplum

Paper: Dapper Denim, Emerald Envy, Flirty Flamingo, Peekaboo Peach, Sweet Sugarplum, Thick Whisper White Cardstocks.   Window Sheets.

Punches: Bitty Balloon from the Party Punch Pack (retired from the 2016 Occasions Catalog)

Tools & Adhesives:  Big Shot, Lots of Layers Framelit Collection,  Metallic Sequins Assortment, Foam Adhesive Strips,  SNAIL.

Technique:  Shaker Card

Cost without envelope: Approx. 40¢

*********

I’ve gotten so addicted to shaker cards lately.  With the new foam adhesive strips they are just so easy.  Now when an idea strikes I can grab the strips and go!  My only limitation?  Keeping enough sequins and window sheets on hand!  Of course if the sequins run out I can use my various punches (especially the confetti stars and hearts punches) to create what I need.

Not sure how a shaker card goes together?  Stampin’ Up has created a video that explains the role of the strips and the basic idea here.   I did a couple of different steps on mine.  I used the Embossing Buddy to take down the stickyness of the sides of the strips (or I would have if I had remembered that step.  LOL) and…I built my shaker on the top of the card base front instead of on the inside of the card.  I feel that makes a neater presentation and adds a bit of height/texture to the card itself.  However you do it…it’s a fun presentation for the recipient.   If you choose the top down approach you’ll add the strips to the back side of your shaped cover/window combo.  Stamp on your card base and pile the shaker bits on top of the stamping and place the window combo piece directly on top.  One other tip…before you add the window sheet piece and strips you can flip the cover piece so the backside is facing up and use that “window” as a mask to stamp your images through without getting ink on the front side.  Easy peasy once you get the hang of it.   I’ll try to put a pictorial tutorial together so you can see the basic steps.   Probably will be a week or two for that since the Watercooler gang has a Blog Hop coming up this Thursday.  Stay tuned for that Hop…it’s shaping up to be a doozy what with all the new product available to play with.  And…there will be another shaker card creation I’ll be sharing during the hop (see the method to my madness with the lateness of the tutorial now?).

*********

That’s it for this challenge.  To see the rest of the design teams In Color Color Challenge contributions head on over to the Challenge blog website here.   That’s also where you can add your own creation with the linky doodad.  When you add your own design and there are more than three entries, one of you will be a challenge winner or runner up and have the option to place our new badges on your own site.  Of course…you’ll also win bragging rights!

Check here to see the winner of last weeks challenge.  And here to see all the other linky and Artist Team entries.  Check the challenge site for rules on competing for future challenges.

I really hope you will add your own creations this week.  Really…this challenge is an easy one.  Grab your colors and play!

I hope you’ll join us next Wednesday for yet another Watercooler Wednesday Challenge.

Jean Fitch in pink

 

 

 

 

Save

2 Responses

  1. Jean, great card. I love the balloons in the shaker, along with the sequins.

  2. Hi Jean. I’m loving this shaker card. Thanks for the link to the SU video to see how to use the adhesive strips and for your tips – very helpful. Luv how you carried over your little balloons to the inside of the card. I don’t blame you for not giving up that bitty balloon punch. I’m kicking myself I didn’t take advantage of that set when I had the opportunity. Have a great stampin’ week!

Leave a comment