Wacky Watercooler June 2016 Blog Hop: New Catalog Open House

Wacky Watercooler New Catalog Hop 2016 June Banner

Welcome to our June New Catalog Open House Blog Hop

Today we’re opening our hearts, homes and studios to the New 2016-2017 Annual Catalog.   Hopefully you’ve had that little darling of a catalog in your hands already for a week or two.   And I hope you will agree with me that it’s the best catalog ever!   Yeah…I know…I say that every year…but this year I really mean it! 😀   So many wonderful items carried over from my favorite ever Occasions Catalog and even better…new toys (er…creative tools) to play with for the next 12 months.

Now that you’re here I hope you’ve arrived from  Marsha’s blog.  Marsha and I have been friends for years and often bounce ideas off each other.  Today is no different since Marsha never fails to come up with interesting and inspiring projects that always land on my CASE list!  Can’t wait to go back and see which of her wonderful projects I’ll be making next!

As usual you can follow this hop in a circle going either direction.  Of course you can also return to the home hop site if you ever get lost along the way.

*******

For today’s “open house hop” I’ve decided to share the same cards I shared at last Saturdays live open house.  Friends were able to make these next two cards and play with new colors, new punches, new images and of course new Big Shot bits and pieces (as well as the returning favorite Woodland embossing folder).

Now that we are into June Stampin’ Up has returned the Woodland Embossing Folder to the lineup.  It departed for a short time after the Holiday Catalog retired last January but after an outcry from customers and demos alike they brought it back.  If you’d like a repeat of that for the Cups and Kettles dies and stamps from Occasions call Stampin’ Up at 1-800-782-6787 and share your thoughts!

Please note:  If you would like the directions to either of the following projects please drop me an email or leave a comment.  I’ll be happy to pass them along.

Foxy Friends in the Woodland

Wacky Watercooler June Blog Hop - Foxy Friends in the Woodland Duet - Jean Fitch

Wacky Watercooler June Blog Hop - Foxy Friends in the Woodland Landscape - Jean Fitch

Wacky Watercooler June Blog Hop - Foxy Friends in the Woodland Portrait - Jean Fitch

With the dark hues of Tangerine Tango and the bare birches of the Woodland EF this card will work perfectly for Fall.  Add a die cut Santa cap and it works for Christmas.   Of course foxes are out and about any time of the year so the basic design works all year round as well.

Foxy Friends and the new Duet Banner Punch and matching Thoughtful Banners stamps are turning out to be two of my favorite bundled product packs.   The only thing I forgot was the coordinating Foxy Friends Designer Series Stack!  No worries…it’s coming.

Check back next week for a quick look at what I’m planning for both bundles come Christmas!    Our local Rogue Stampers group will be doing Christmas in July and I’m hoping an early peek at two of the cards will fill our roster of attendees at the Stamp a Stack we have scheduled.  There is always room for you dear reader if you are in the area.

Supplies:

Stamps: Foxy Friends, Thoughtful Banners

Ink: Memento Tuxedo Black, Early Espresso, Tangerine Tango, Calypso Coral, Crumb Cake, Wild Wasabi

Paper: Tangerine Tango (5-1/2” x 8-1/2”), Whisper White Thick (3” x 3-1/2”), Whisper White Thin (4” x 5-1/2”, strips)

Punches: Fox Builder (new), Duet Builder (new), Corner Rounder or Envelope Punch Board

Other:  Big Shot, Woodland Embossing Folder, Dimensionals, SNAIL

 

***********

Floral Affection’s Flirty Wink

Wacky Watercooler June 2016 Hop - Floral Affection embossed Flirty Flamingo colors, First Sight stamps - Jean Fitch

Wacky Watercooler June 2016 Hop - Floral Affection embossed, Flirty Flamingo colors, Partial Wink, First Sight stamps - Jean Fitch

Two variations.  One with all but the dots inked and the other with only the flowers.  Pity you can’t see the sparkle and shine that the Wink of Stella clear pen imparted.  Pick your favorite.  I’m curious to hear which you prefer.

 

Supplies:

Stamps: Various text stamps – First Sight, Wetlands

Ink: Basic Black, Flirty Flamingo (reinker), Wink of Stella Clear Brush Pen

Paper: Flirty Flamingo, Whisper White (thick)

Other:  Big Shot, Floral Affection Embossing Folders, Dimensionals & SNAIL

Technique:  Painting with Wink of Stella brush pens.

***************************

Technique:  Painting with Wink of Stella Clear Brush Pen using the Flirty Flamingo ink refill.

Technique Tip:  It’s easy to paint with the Wink of Stella pens.  Place a wee bit of reinker in a dish and pick up the ink with the Wink of Stella pen and apply to the area you would like to color.  Works with an inked image or an embossed image.  To clean the pen just wipe it on a scrap of paper until the color disappears from the pen tip.  Much as you would use a blender pen.  Of course…you are losing a bit of the shimmer fluid that way.  You might prefer to keep a variety of pens dedicated to color ranges like pink, red, orange, green, blue and so on so you can just pick up a pen and go.

As an alternate: You can also just squeeze the pad and use the ink from the pad cover that transfers from the squeeze.  However…and it’s a big one…make sure you wipe up the leftover mix of ink and shimmer fluid from the Stella pen.  You’ll contaminate your ink pad if you don’t thoroughly clean all the leftovers from the cover before closing the pad.   Much safer to use the reinker in a separate dish in my opinion.

*******

I encourage you to play with the fun new products that I’ve showcased today.  As you can see, they coordinate with products you may already have or can find in our new Annual Catalog.

*******

That’s it for my share of the hop.  Time to move on over to my fab friend  Heidi’s blog (she’s also our wonderful hop coordinator so leave her some comment love!) her wonderfully inspired creations are another set always fun to see and CASE.  Heidi my dear…you really have to stop enabling me into new product!   Of course…what else are friends for.  LOL

To follow the hop click on the link below:

next watercooler crock button

Home Button

Previous Button

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

13 Responses

  1. Oh my gosh. Love both of these.

    Sent from my iPad

  2. Wonderful cards Jean! Need to pin these fabulous cards to use later!

  3. Jean, I love your fox card!

  4. What a fun foxy card! I want to get that bundle – thanks for the inspiration! Your last two cards showcase simple elegance! TFS

  5. Your fox card is so cute. But I love your Flirty Flamingo cards with the Floral Affection Embossing Folders that are colored–really pretty. I’ve colored with the Wink of Stella brush, but not on the embossed image–I really like it! Thanks for sharing the technique.

  6. Hi Jean….Love both your cards. The fox so cute! Thanks for sharing the wink of stella technique. I loved the first card Forever Friends, it is beautiful

  7. Oh, I really need to get that Foxy bundle!! Your cards are so cute; I love his brown sox on his front legs:) The Floral Affection EF hadn’t caught my attention at all, until I saw your cards, Jean. I really like how you showed them off with inking the embossing.

  8. I really like the two different orientations you show on your foxy cards, and the use of the Woodlands EF. It’s really nice to see the link between the two and I loved the shout out for the Cups and Kettles bundle. You go girl! I haven’t really paid much attention to the embossing folders since the new catties came out, so I was very impressed (no pun intended), with the Floral Affection cards you created. Really beautiful. Thanks Jean for your attention to detail and fab cards!

  9. Jean, that little fox is just too cute! Can’t wait to see what you’ve planned for him for Christmas.

  10. That foxy card steals my heart, Jean. I love the bundle and the variety of “critters” which can be created using it. I wonder if it will take off and become a staple in everyone’s crafting stash like the ever-popular Owl Builder punch? The Floral Affection embossing folders really show off that lovely Flirty Flamingo colour, don’t the?

  11. Just love your cards, Jean.

  12. Jean, FUN Foxy Friends Card… Love the use of the embossing folder… Inspiration for me… and Flirty Wink… the use of the wink of stella…. Love, Love, Love…. Faith

  13. Love that foxy card, Jean! The more projects I see with it, the more I think I need to bump it up on my wish list. Nice Flirty Flamingo card.

Leave a Reply

