Watercooler Wednesday Challenge – WWC92 – Star of Wonder

WWC92 – Jean’s Sketch Challenge

wwc92-jeans-sketch-challenge-image

Welcome to this weeks Watercooler Wednesday Challenge.  I had fun coming up with the sketch for this weeks challenge.  Hopefully you’ll see from the Design Teams projects that you don’t have to follow the colors in the sketch.  I used the color solely to differentiate the separate layers.

Whether you use the sketch rightside up or turn it around for a different angle (as many of the design team members did) I hope you’ll find it fun and easy. I have to admit that the basic blockiness of the forms appealed to me.  Squares and rectangles make me happy.  Circles tend to confuse me and make me nervous.  I seem to like those hard discernible edges and corners.  After all…as a kid I always looked forward to seeing what was coming around a corner.  Still do for that matter.  It’s exciting!   LOL

Something else you might try.  You aren’t limited to rectangle shapes of paper.  If you want, your layers could be die cuts or other shapes.  It’s the layering that’s important.  Size is also totally up to you.   After I had my card finished I realized I could have used a set of stars for my overlapping layers.   That would have been cool don’t you think?   Hm…something to try another time just to see if it works.    I did try the Lots of Labels and Banner die cut shapes but they just didn’t seem to work for me.   I hope some of you out there will let your imaginations take flight and see what you can come up with for this week’s sketch challenge.

 

**********

Star of Wonder

(as always click the picture to see a larger image)

Watercooler Wednesday Challenge - WWC92 - Jean's Sketch Challange - Jean Fitch - Star of Light die & Serene Scenery

Card Interior

Watercooler Wednesday Challenge - WWC92 - Jean Fitch - Inside of card - Serene Scenery DSP & Peace this Christmas

Once I knew what the basic theme I wanted was, it all fell together pretty quickly.  I chose to apply a bit of the ombre technique, with gradations or shades of a color tone for my layering.  I drew the colors from the piece of Serene Scenery paper that I knew I wanted to use and that would also complement the die cut silver star that was already sitting on my desk from a class I taught several weeks ago.   Having a starting point always helps don’t you think?   I also went with one of the layer colors for the sentiment die cut.

One of the things I love about the star is the almost crackle feel it has to it’s look.  At least in person anyway.  I discovered that look when I experimented with which side of the foil paper I placed the Starlight embossing die when cutting.  To get this look I placed the die on the white backside of the foil paper.   You end up with a more subtle embossing and because the cutting plates I use are very chewed up some of that transferred to the foil as well.  It also took down the perfect shiny mirror look of the silver foil too.

So what do you think.  Does this card have a bit of a beach feel to it or a star at early evening?  Perhaps I’m being swayed by the Island, Bay & Pool in the color names?    Or thinking Hawaii when choosing the papers?   However you view it…may you experience the peaceful feeling in your own lives that I intended in this cards creation.

Here are the details in case you want to recreate your own version.

Supplies:

Stamps:  Peace This Christmas (interior sentiment)

Inks:  Island Indigo

Paper: Bermuda Bay, Island Indigo, Pool Party Thick Whisper White Cardstock; Serene Scenery Designer Paper Stack & Silver Foil Paper

Punches: None

Tools & Adhesives:  Big Shot, Starlight Thinlit Dies, Christmas Greetings Thinlit Dies, Basic Jewel Rhinestones, Simply Score Tool, Bone Folder, Dimensionals, SNAIL or Fast Fuse.

 

DIRECTIONS:

A very simple card really.  Cut paper.   Die cut two pieces and glue!  A no stamp card except for the interior sentiment and you could handwrite that if you wish.  {grin}

Cardbase:  Thick Whisper White – 5-1/2″ x 8-1/2″  Score at 4-1/4″  Fold and crease with a bone folder.

Layers:  Island Indigo 2-1/2″ x 5-1/4″,  Bermuda Bay 2-1/2″ x 5″, Pool Party 2-1/2″ x 4-3/4″,  Serene Scenery DSP  2-1/2″ 4-1/2″  Basically all the color layers are 2-1/2″ wide and the height decreases by a 1/4″ with each layer.

1)  Cut layers as indicated above.  Adhere them one by one offsetting equally as you move to the right.

2) Die cut a large star from the Starlight Thinlit Collection.  I used the one that embosses lines…but…I placed the die on the back of the foil paper (white side up) instead of the silver facing up.  This gave a more cracked glass look to it.  A tad more subtle.   Adhere to the Serene Scenery Designer Series Paper Layer with Dimensionals.  Add a rhinestone to the center.

3) Using Island Indigo Cardstock die cut the word Peace using the Christmas Greetings die set.  Of course any world would work if you want this to have a different flavor.  Adhere the word to the right hand edge of the card.  That finishes the exterior.

Optional ideas: Stamp some small star images from the matching Star of Light stamp set (perhaps heat embossing them in silver) across the Serene Scenery piece or along the visible white edges.   Or scatter a few more small rhinestones around the card face.

To finish the inside I adhered a small leftover strip of the Serene Scenery paper along the spine and stamped one of my favorite greetings from this year’s Annual Catalog Christmas section.

*********

That’s it for this challenge.  To see the rest of the design teams contributions to my sketch challenge head on over to the Challenge blog website here.   That’s also where you can add your own creation with the linky doodad.  When you add your own design and there are more than three entries, one of you will be a challenge winner or runner up and have the option to place our badges on your own site.  Of course…you’ll also win bragging rights!

Check here to see the winner of last weeks challenge.  And here to see all of last weeks other linky and Artist Team entries.  Check the challenge site for rules on competing for future challenges.

I hope you will add your own creations this week to the linky.  I love the inspiration I find in your shared creations and would love to see what you make of my sketch.

I hope you’ll also join us next Wednesday for yet another Watercooler Wednesday Challenge.

Jean Fitch in pink

 

 

 

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

2 Responses

  1. Great job with your sketch, Jean. The ombre effect ties the layers to your front panel beautifully. I love the single star on the front. Carrying the ombre effect inside with that strip on the left is the perfect way to finish off your card.

  2. Lovely card, Jean. The idea of using an ombre effect is great because it allows a lot color ranges for us to work with. Thanks for giving us this idea.

    And I also love the inside sentiment. I had completely overlooked that stamp set which has a lovely font, and so now I guess that’ll have to go on another order…sigh…

    Happy holidays to you.

Leave a comment