Watercooler Wednesday Challenge – WWC95 – A More Masculine Cup of Cheer

WWC95 – Libby’s Masculine Anything Goes Challenge

wwc95-libbys-masculine-challenge-anything-goes

Welcome to this weeks Watercooler Wednesday Challenge.

Many thanks Miss Libby for giving us an Anything Goes challenge with a masculine theme this week.   It allowed me to grab the “boo-boo” card I originally created for our Simply Stamping challenge (remember I said that challenge took me 3 tries :D).   This is the card I originally had in mind to celebrate my late husband’s (and his brothers) love of flannel, sweaters and green cups filled with tea, coffee or hot chocolate).

When I first met my Fitch Family they had a lovely tradition of gathering for “a cup of cheer” as in cups of tea (or coffee in Alan’s case) with family gatherings of every type (a quick cuppa, family dinner or a major holiday).   I felt instantly at home as my own mom and I used to have daily “tea parties” for much the same purpose.  A time to catch up and have that cup that cheers and time together that warms the soul.

If you don’t yet have that tradition in your own family you might want to consider starting it this holiday season.  Makes for lovely memories and closer relationships.  I think of my far flung family with every cup of cheer I treat myself to these days.

**********

A More Masculine (and Green) Cup of Cheer

(as always click the picture to see a larger image)

Watercooler Wednesday Challenge - WWC95 -a-cup-of-cheer-Jean Fitch-July 2015 Paper Pumpkin and 2016 Holiday Catalog

Watercooler Wednesday Challenge - WWC95 -a-masculine -cup-of-cheer-interior-Jean Fitch-july-2015-paper-pumpkin-2016-holiday-catalogInside view

As you can see I’ve dug into my past Paper Pumpkin supplies once again.  Boy are those kits handy!   The July 2015 Thanks a Latte kit is the one I used yet again (to see the other recent one click here).  I love those stamps and wish we had a  Big Shot die to cut those cups!   Of course I’ve also kept my project current by including the Holly Berry Happiness stamp set and the Warmth and Cheer Washi Tape from the 2016 Holiday Catalog as well.

If you have that Pumpkin Kit are you wondering where the “green” cup came from?  I used one of the white die cut cups from the Pumpkin kit and applied Garden Green ink using one of our new foam brayers.  Quite a handy tool don’t you think?  The rest is paper, ink and washi tape.  An easy 10 minute or less card.  Especially easy since I used a Stampin’ Up Notecards & Envelopes set for the base.  Now all I have to do is address and send to remind someone in my family that I’m thinking of them.

Supplies:

Stamps:  Thanks a Latte (July 2015 Paper Pumpkin stamp set), Holly Berry Happiness.

Inks:  Cherry Cobbler, Garden Green, Smoky Slate

Paper: Whisper White Cardstock, Notecards and Envelopes set.

Tools & Adhesives: Warmth & Cheer Washi Tape, Foam Brayer,  Dimensionals, Bone Folder and a Clear Acrylic block or two.

Note:  the gold star I included in the inside of the card was a leftover gold foil Santa’s Sleigh star die cut from an earlier project.  Don’t you love using the bits and pieces that litter your desk?

Watercooler Wednesday Challenge - WWC95 -a-masculine -cup-of-cheer-angled-Jean Fitch-july-2015-paper-pumpkin

DIRECTIONS & Tips:

Tip:  If you are running out of pre-die cut cups you can trace one of the cups on a spare sheet of Whisper White paper and then fussycut with your Paper Snips.

Cardbase:  One ready made note card and envelope from the set of 20 that Stampin’ Up sells.

Focal Layer:  3″ x 4-1/2″ Whisper White – I’d suggest you use the Thick Whisper White so the dimensionals don’t show through.

1) Wrap the bottom of the focal layer with 4 strips of washi tape from the Warmth & Cheer collection.

2) Use the foam brayer to color your white cup cut out with Garden Green ink.  It will take quite a few layers of ink to get it as dark as I did.  Roll the brayer in several directions to get even coverage and no lines.   While the cup is drying use the Cherry Cobbler ink and place the sentiment from the pumpkin kit in the upper right corner.   Then check where you want the cup placement and stamp the steam at the top of the proposed cup area in Smoky Slate and then attach the cup with two dimensionals.

3) Attach the focal layer with dimensionals to the front of the card.  Add whatever you want to the inside of the card and decorate the envelope as well.

For the inside of my card I used a sentiment from Holly Berry Happiness, the cup and steam and sentiment from the Paper Pumpkin and another strip of washi tape as well as a leftover gold star sitting on my desk.

Another reminder from the earlier post.  These notecards & envelopes can be mailed with standard first class postage.  At least here in the States they can.  Not so sure about international mailing regulations.

*********

That’s it for this challenge.  To see the rest of the design teams contributions to Libby’s Masculine Anything Goes Challenge head on over to the Challenge blog website here.   That’s also where you can add your own creation with the linky doodad.  When you add your own design and there are more than three entries, one of you will be a challenge winner or runner up and have the option to place our badges on your own site.  Of course…you’ll also win bragging rights!

Check here to see the winner of last weeks challenge.  And here to see all of last weeks other linky and Artist Team entries.  Check the challenge site for rules on competing for future challenges.

I hope you will add your own creations this week to the linky.  I love the inspiration I find in your shared creations.

I hope you’ll also join us next Wednesday for yet another Watercooler Wednesday Challenge.

Jean Fitch in pink

 

 

 

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

