Watercooler Wednesday Challenge – WWC53 – Balloons Aloft

WWC53 – Heidi’s Sketch Challenge

Watercooler Wednesday Challenge - WWC53 - Heidi's Sketch Challenge - Jean's Balloons Aloft

Welcome to this weeks Watercooler Wednesday Challenge.  Today Heidi’s provided us with a wonderful sketch to work with.  I’ve actually turned it sideways so for me it looks like this:

Watercooler Wednesday Challenge WWC53- sideways

**********

Here’s my version…a tad different don’t you think?

Jean’s Balloons Aloft

Watercooler Wednesday Challenge - WWC53 - Heidi's Sketch Challenge - Jean's Balloons aloft

Instead of copying the sketch exactly I took the elements and played around with them a bit.   Are you surprised?  LOL

They are still all there (I think).  The four squares were downsized and moved apart a bit for their placement and the center panel has a mat.  I tried it plain but it just didn’t pop – a different way to say…blah.

In my imagining, as I designed, I thought of a balloon seller or a child having just let go of the balloon strings and as they drifted up the strings began to go their own way preparing to drift on the winds.  Who knows where they will drift…perhaps over your own house?  Or all the way to China from Oregon?

As for the sentiment.  Let Us Celebrate…(and eat cake) I rather thought it would work for a number of events.  Birthdays of course but also Graduation, New Baby, Anniversary and so on.  After all…what celebration doesn’t do better with cake…right?

Thanks Heidi for setting my mind drifting along with the balloons with your wonderful sketch.

Supplies:

Stamps: Balloon Celebration

Inks:  Blackberry Bliss, Hello Honey, Lost Lagoon

Paper: Whisper White, Hello Honey Cardstock.  Perfectly Artistic Designer Series Paper (Sale-a-Bration Limited Time)

Punches: Balloon Bouquet, 1″ Square, Corner Rounder

Tools & Adhesives:  Snail, Dimensionals

If you wanted to step this design up or add more texture you could use Baker’s Twine or thread of some kind as the Balloon strings, add a bit of ribbon or twine and maybe a few sequins.  I even considered adding a small word to the top of the largest balloon or possibly a small image of sentiment in a circle backed with a scalloped circle and placed at a junction of the strings.  So many possibilities that I hope you will give this a try with your own CASE of mine or your own version of the sketch challenge.

Did you notice that once again I’m playing with the retiring In Colors.  Yep…can’t get enough of them.  I hope you’ve gotten stocked up on the inks and papers and any accessories you want.  They are going to go fast once everyone realizes they are leaving…you really don’t want to be left out either do you?  Feel free to hit the Shop Now button at the top of the right sidebar and add your In Color (and other) purchase.  And don’t forget that Sale-a-Bration is still going so you can earn wonderful free products with each $50 increment you spend.

*********

That’s it for this challenge.  To see the rest of the design teams Anything Goes Challenge contributions head on over to the Challenge blog website here.   That’s also where you can add your own creation with the linky doodad.  When you add your own design and there are more than three entries, one of you will be a challenge winner or runner up and have the option to place our new badges on your own site.  Of course…you’ll also win bragging rights!

Check here to see the winner of last weeks challenge.  And here to see all the other linky and Artist Team entries.  Check the challenge site for rules on competing for future challenges.

Stay tuned to the challenge site to see who answered the Design Team Call that was issued with last weeks challenge.  I’m looking forward to new playmates in the Challenge Sandbox.

I hope you’ll join us next Wednesday for yet another Watercooler Wednesday Challenge.

Jean Fitch in pink

 

 

 

 

 

One Response

  1. Jean, I love your card. I’ve been wondering what to do with the SAB Perfectly Artistic dsp I got. It can be a little overwhelming for me, but you have found a lovely balance; the swirls are visible, but don’t detract from the other elements. TFS.

Leave a comment