Watercooler Challenge – WCC22 – Adventures in Silhouette

 Adventures in Silhouette

For this challenge Heidi  has provided us with a wonderful combination challenge to play with and create projects.

Challenge: Create with watercolors and a silhouette

Join the rest of the design team over at the Challenge blog website here to see the rest of the teams designs and to add your own with the linky doodad.

I once knew a lady who using a pair of small sharp and pointed scissors (her “snippity snips”), could cut the most amazing silhouettes of people, animals, plants and even complicated lace patterns.  Not being quite that talented with scissors (my paper snips from Stampin’ Up), I resorted to Stampin’ Up punches and dies.

Here’s my entry…no bunnies today but it is another 3D.  Have I mentioned lately that I’m hooked on 3D and punch and die related projects?   With Father’s Day on the horizon (okay…this basket would work for Mom too) I wanted something in what I considered guy colors.   I know…all our colors work for anyone (though good luck with Pink Pirouette or Blushing Bride for any guy who knows the names of our colors…or just has an aversion to pink) but you have to admit some can be a challenge (hm…maybe I should have given some thought to adding to my Father’s Day challenge coming up just to make it tough on all concerned) more than others.   My late husband was a fan of tans, blues and browns (a big fan of birds and other natural wonders too) so keeping all of that in mind here’s what I came up with.

Father's Day Basket - WCC22 - Heidi's Challenge - Front view basket - created by Jean Fitch

and a corner view so you can see the handle and a bit more of the lining.

Father's Day Basket - WCC22 - Heidi's Challenge - Side Basket view - Jean Fitch

I’m still deciding what to put inside this fun basket.  Maybe little 3″ x3″ why I love you cards or coupons for chores or dinners out or whatever your heart desires.  Of course…Hershey’s kisses and other treats are always a great pleaser as well.   And if your imagination fails you…Dad can always use another tie wrapped up and placed inside this much more imaginative basket!

 Supplies:

Stamps:  None so far

Ink:  Elegant Eggplant, Night of Navy, Lost Lagoon (does water count as an ink?)

Paper: Lost Lagoon, Early Espresso, Basic Black Cardstock, Festive Designer Kraft Paper (Clearance Rack), Watercolor Paper

Punches: Bird Builder, What’s Up, Owl Builder (circle for the birdhouse door)

Other:  Big Shot, Circles Framelit Collection, Flower Frenzy die (leaf bough), Two Way glue pen, Sticky Strip, SNAIL

********************

Not too bad for my first Berry Basket attempt.  Of course I had a bit of help.  My friend Patti Leeke created this gorgeous basket that was my starting point along with Heidi’s wonderful (and brain teasing challenge). Patti's Bird Punch Basket  I saw that and knew I had to incorporate the bird and bird house into my design. I learned a few things along the way.  One…I love this Berry Basket die!  And I bet you will too.   Here’s another fun project by my friend Deb that will give you a few more ideas on using with a card.  Deb posted it on our last Challenge in the linky doodad.  Nice when you can do cards and other things with a die than just it’s intended use.

Other tips from my friend Patti Leeke who has done quite a few of these.  1) Always line your basket with a fun paper.  That’s Patti’s firm and fast rule.  2) Put your cardstock basket together first (except for the rim and handle) and then add the liner -matching up the holes at bottom of basket and adding glue in between the holes as well as other areas (Patti’s favorite glue for this is the Tombow multipurpose liquid glue in the green capped bottle).  Once that’s done then add the scalloped or straight rim by placing the completed rim on the table and then squeezing the basket sides and move the rim up into position.  3) If you have a slightly imperfect side…hide it with a doily!  Boy do I wish I’d remembered that rule!

My tip…don’t stress about how it all goes together.  These baskets are going to be stinking cute no matter how it goes together.   I’m looking forward to making one with copper flashing.   Then I can put it on my desk to hold various doodads.   That’s the genius of a Bigz die.  It can cut 5o materials – see the list here:

Big Shot Materials List for use with Bigz and Originals dies

Here’s a quick look at the liner – do you remember that paper from the 2014 Holiday Catalog?  It’s now on the Clearance Rack at a killer price.   Father's Day Basket - WCC22 - Heidi's Challenge - inside basket And a close up of the flowers I used to cover up the handle attachment:

Father's Day Basket - WCC22 - Heidi's Challenge - heat and flower accent - Jean Fitch

Can you guess where I found the tiny heart?  It’s from a fairly new photopolymer monthly stamp set that doesn’t appear in the catalog – Lovely Amazing You.

In case you are still wondering about the basics of the Berry Basket die from the Occasions Catalog here’s a video from Stampin’ Up showing their tips:

I hope you’ll join the Watercooler challenge and show us your own watercolor and silhouette project and link up to us.  Don’t forget to check the Watercooler Challenge Blog post here to see who was the winner of the last challenge submissions by linky artists.    Check the challenge site for rules on competing for future challenges.

Hugs and Blessings!

Jean Fitch in pink