Easter Chick Nuggets!

Easter Nuggets...no fair!

Easter Nuggets…no fair!

Sounds cruel doesn’t it?

Work the poor chickens laying eggs for Easter egg hunts and then add the insult of chicken nuggets?

My neighbor’s chickens sent this reminder my way.

Refusing to be a Nugget!

No worries little chicks.

Nugget Chick on a nest

What we have here is a Hershey’s Nugget Treat Holder.

Featuring the Scallop Tag Topper and Petite Petal punches from the 2014 Occasions Catalog.

For more information on the Origami Star Box “nest” see this post.

Nugget Chick with Eggs

Who knew that a Nugget Chick would lay Malted Milk Eggs?  Yum!!

Well obviously Hershey’s did since they make both!

Here’s a close up of just the chick…..

Easter Nugget Chick

Very simple to create with the following ingredients (all but the nuggets are available from my online store here).    I made use of Brianna’s tutorial here for the treat box itself (though I had to make a few changes as my punch is tighter than hers and so won’t punch double for the top as she does).   I’ll have follow up template and basic steps later this week so you can see my alternative method.   I got the idea for the Chick design from a post by Julie Davison that I pinned here.

Supplies:

Stamps:  Teeny Tiny Wishes

Ink: Black Stazon

Paper:  Daffodil Delight, Pumpkin Pie (3/4″ square), Basic Black, Naturals White Cardstock

Punches: Scallop Tag Topper, Owl Builder (eye’s & heart), Petite Petal Punch, 2-3/8″ Scallop Circle, Banner Punch (punched ends of the Easter tag)

Other: Simply Scored Scoring Tool, Daffodil Delight 1/4″ Stitched Grosgrain Ribbon, Whisper White 1/8″ Taffeta Ribbon, Craft Scissors, Sticky Strip, Two Way Glue Stick, Glue Dots, Hershey’s Nuggets (4)

Here’s a pinnable reminder (or you can right click and save the image) :

Easter Chick Nugget Scallop Tag Topper Treat Holder

I have to say…the neighbors chickens are sleeping easier tonight.   They had a rough day listening to my mutterings about chicken nuggets and the dog who lives with them was on a barking tear (something that always upsets free range chickens).   Today we also had a peek at the sun  so I was able to enjoy the daffodils in all their glory.   Nice to have the real thing and not just the Daffodil Delight paper in my studio to brighten a not quite Spring day.  😀

Sale-a-Bration Special:

Place a $50 order with me before Sale-a-Bration ends (March 31st) and I’ll send you two of these little Easter Chick Nugget Treat Holders and personalized tags for you to put in an Easter Basket!  Or if you prefer the makings to assemble your own.   After you order, send me an email with the names you’d like on your Easter Chicks.   jlfstudio@live.com will find me.  

Here’s a more vintage view of some other very happy (non-nugget) chicks.  Do you think they came out of the shell with their bonnets?

Easter+chicks+spelling+Easter+vintage

Hugs and blessings from a chick who’s crazy about chocolate in many forms!  – Jean

Leave a comment