Eggs looking for a home: Found!

What to do when you have a handful of eggs in need of a home?

Start folding!

Origami Star Box

As I was flitting around the web looking for inspiration and finding fun new things to pin I came across a new, fun,  Stampin’ Up blogger here and a fabulous Origami Star Box tutorial video I pinned here.   Score!   And of course I had to grab some of our wonderful Stampin’ Up designer series paper and give it a try.  Most of the star boxes I found were being used for Christmas treats  but I thought I’d give mine an Easter twist given the malted milk eggs that were sitting in my upcoming Wacky Watercooler Hop’s project basket.  Yep…that’s a less than subtle hint to come back on March 13th to see the hop!

For my first Origami Star Box attempt I grabbed a 6″x 6″ square of Everyday Enchantment Designer Series Paper from Sale-a-Bration 2 years ago (now available in the Clearance Rack in the online store).  Pausing the video at each step made it fairly easy.    I discovered that while the directions do work with Stampin’ Up’s Designer Series Paper,  some of the folds require a bit of work as the layers build up.  Using a bone folder to crease each fold as you go helps enormously.  And the coordinating colors of our two sided DSP really adds to the pop for this project.   My box was able to hold 8 large malted milk Easter eggs.  Jelly beans would be a fun filler too.

Here are a couple of close ups of the finished star boxes:

Epic Day This and That Designer Series Paper Origami Star Box

Epic Day This and That Designer Series Paper Origami Star Box

Origami Star Box - Everyday Enchantment Designer Series Paper

Everyday Enchantment Designer Series Paper Origami Star Box

And a downloadable PDF with the links listed as well as pictures you might like for your files.

Origami Star Box PDF Flyer

Hope you enjoyed this peek at what came off my desk today.  Come back tomorrow to see what’s sitting on this cute little nest!

Hugs and blessings – Jean

One Response

  1. […] more information on the Origami Star Box “nest” see this […]

Leave a Reply

