What you can do with a Stampin’ Up! embossing folder, some embossing powder, and a tool or two

Hi All, 

A quicky post for you today.   I’ve been playing and experimenting once again!   I started putting a post together sharing links to technique tutorials and projects focusing on the newest Stampin’ Up! Impressions folders and suddenly inspiration struck me….well yeah, a few other things struck me too… the cat, the closet door….etc….yeah no pain no gain right? 

So…. 

Guess what happens when you heat emboss a Big Shot embossed image….Magic…as in paper turns to gold…that’s what.  Well sometimes a mess too but that’s a story for another time.  Hint:  I was embossing over the bathroom sink on a tray…..yep a cat was involved! 

I grabbed one of the new folders from the new catalog – Vintage Wallpaper – inserted some Very Vanilla Cardstock and ran it through the Big Shot…so far normal right?    Then….I took my Versamark pad and lightly tapped it over the raised embossed image…added gold embossing powder and applied heat with my trusty SU heat tool (best tool I’ve ever found for the purpose!).   The result…magic (at least I think so). 

Here’s my first two attempts.  

Gold Embossed Vintage Wallpaper - #1

 

  

Gold Embossed Vintage Wallpaper - #2

 

If you click on the images you’ll be able to see the shiny gold a wee bit better.  As you can tell I’m still perfecting the technique.   I got a little too enthusiastic with the pad and made a few oops areas and a few not quite filled in areas (pad needs reinking).  No problem – I’ll fill in some of those areas with flowers or snowflakes or something and the rest I’m calling Shabby Chic!  That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.   I’m thinking of  adding the Versamark to the folder and then embossing and seeing if that works any better…but that comes under the heading of tweaking the technique. 

My other thought was to try the poppin pastels technique with this too.   Add the Versamark once again then daub on pastels to the raised images.  Hm…maybe tomorrow if I can find the top of my stamp table. 😀 

Haven’t figured out what I’m going to do with these cool sheets just yet….Christmas perhaps, Parisian Artistic Etchings with Black contrasts, Punch pieces?  I’m sure I’ll come up with something.  When I do I’ll post a finished sample.  For now I thought I’d just share the inspiration of the moment in case you too want to play. 

If you need any of the products involved…heat gun, embossing powder, Impressions Folder, Big Shot, Paper, etc.  you can send me an email with your order or just shop online through my Stampin’ Up Website store (click the badge at the top of the blog sidebar).   And as always if you have any questions feel free to call or write. 

Hugs and blessings my stamping friends…and may inspiration find you  today and everyday (sans cats and doors of course :D) – Jean

2 Responses

  1. hmmm…i’m wondering if the versamark pen would work better to keep from having the oops spots? it would be tedious, but you could do a small section at a time that way.

  2. […] At the bottom of the post you’ll find links to many techniques for using these folders but plain or brayered, whole, punched or torn you will soon find yourself in love with all the possibilities these textured pieces add to your projects.  For one of my own experiments with the Vintage Wallpaper folder check out this previous post. […]

Leave a comment