Watercooler Wednesday Challenge – WWC83 – Double Z’s and a Tic-Tac-Toe

WWC83 – Penny’s Tic-Tac-Toe Challenge

WWC83 - Penny's Tic Tac Toe Challenge

Welcome to this weeks Watercooler Wednesday Challenge.

This week Penny has created a fun set of Tic-Tac-Toe elements for us to work with.   The overachiever in me really wanted to go for it all…but once the hair started being torn (mostly figuratively) I scaled back my expectations and decided to keep it fun and simple so I went with the right hand column of dry embossing, shade of green and die cut.  Of course I couldn’t resist throwing in a fun fold too just to show my independence!  LOL

**********

Double Z’s & Jar of Love

Watercooler Wednesday Challange - WWC83 - Jar of Love - Double Z Fold - Jean Fitchopen

Watercooler Wednesday Challenge - WWC83 - Jar of Love - Double Z fold - closing - Jean Fitchclosing

Watercooler Wednesday Challenge - WWC83 - Penny's Tic Tac Toe - Jar of Love - Jean Fitch closed

(as always click the picture to see a larger image)

While this type of card and with these design elements can be a bit fiddly it’s really not hard if you break it down into the various parts.   I’d say it took me about a half hour to get it all together after I worked out the measurements.  The next one will be faster I’m sure.   When I made one with a fairly new stamper it took her about an hour with a bit of help.   So most will probably find their time somewhere in between.  The cost really isn’t too bad since it’s basically paper and ink.  Depending on the bling you choose to add it should still run you about a dollar or slightly more for each card.  Of course…that’s assuming you have the stamps and dies.  Luckily the Jar of Love Bundle saves you 10%!

Supplies:

Stamps:  Jar of Love

Inks: Basic Gray, Mint Macaron, Pink Pirouette, Rich Razzleberry, Sweet Sugarplum, Soft Sky, Smoky Slate

Paper: Whisper White (4-1/4” x 5-1/2” piece to stamp and die cut all cut images + 2-3/8″ x 3-5/8″,  1″ x 11″ + 3/4″ wide strip for banner), Mint Macaron (4″ x 11″, 1-1/8″ x 11″ + scraps for die cutting), Rich Razzleberry (2-1/2″ x 3-3/4″,  5-1/2″ x 3-3/4″ + scrap for banner mat),

Punches: none

Tools & Adhesives:  

Big Shot, Everyday Jars Framelit dies, Fluttering Embossing Folder, Simply Scored, Wink of Stella pens (opt.), Two Way Glue Pen, Dazzling Diamonds (opt.), Dimensionals, Glue Dots, SNAIL or Fast Fuse.

 

Here’s a PDF with my basic directions and measurements.  Jar of Love Double Z Fold Card – Jean Fitch

Apart from Penny’s fabulous Tic Tac Toe I had a number of influences in the design and measurements.  The concept of a Double Z fold Card I first found via Amanda Bates and Jan B.  You can see Jan’s Video here.  You can also see some of Jan’s cards here.  Amanda has a differently sized card and tutorial here.   Of course of late the basic design is all over the internet and Pinterest.   I fell in love with Sandi MacIver’s card here and used most of her elements though not her colors, measurements or number of layers.  I especially fell in love with Sandi’s tip about using a quarter sheet to create all the elements so I could use multiple dies at one time with our marvelous Magnetic Platform for the Big Shot.  Made things run much faster and smoother that way.   Of course if you have lots of odd sized scraps to use up that works too.   Since I’m using my card for a class I tried to keep everything a tiny tad simpler so no one will walk out!  LOL

*********

That’s it for this challenge.  To see the rest of the design teams contributions to Penny’s Tic Tac Toe challenge head on over to the Challenge blog website here.   That’s also where you can add your own creation with the linky doodad.  When you add your own design and there are more than three entries, one of you will be a challenge winner or runner up and have the option to place our badges on your own site.  Of course…you’ll also win bragging rights!

Check here to see the winner of last weeks challenge.  And here to see all of last weeks other linky and Artist Team entries.  Check the challenge site for rules on competing for future challenges.

I really hope you will add your own tree creations this week.  I love the inspiration I find in your shared creations.

I hope you’ll join us next Wednesday for yet another Watercooler Wednesday Challenge.

Jean Fitch in pink

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Leave a comment