Quick Tip: Stampin’ Up’s Ribbon Dotted Scallop Ribbon Border Punch works for Counted Cross Stitch!

Hi All,

Just a quickie post tonight.  I wanted to show you my latest addiction…actually a renewed addiction – Counted Cross Stitch Stampin’ Up style!

Year’s ago and back when my eyes were still eagle sharp I was a Counted Cross Stitch freak.  I have almost nothing to show for it as I tended to give away everything I made but most days found me with a needle in hand adding color to aida cloth.  There are a few incomplete pieces that maybe one day I’ll finish and keep for myself…sigh… another item for the to do list.   😀   

Anyway when I got a chance to play with the Dotted Scallop Ribbon Border Punch (more commonly known as the ribbon punch) I realized the spacing was perfect for cross stitching.  And I couldn’t resist playing with the idea.  Turns out the White Baker’s Twine from the Summer Mini is the perfect pairing.  Slightly thinner than the mixed color versions and no worries about how the striping will work on the stitches too.    This little tag card  is from a May Stamp Camp and  a set I created to fit inside the Milk Carton from the Mini Milk Carton die also from Stampin’ Up.  Turns out you can fit about 12 of these little beauties inside the mini milk carton.   When I get a good picture of the birdhouse Cheryl made from the milk carton I’ll show you the rest of the little mini cards.  The sizing on the little cards is 1-1/2″ x 1-3/4″ (folded).   Great little scraplings basically and limited only by your imagination and the scraps on your table.

I could also say this is a sneak peek from the new Idea Book & Catalog coming July 1.   Both Pretty Postage stamp set and the Bakers Twine are in the new catalog!  YAY!

Supplies list:

Stamps: Pretty Postage (Summer Mini & new IBC)

Ink: Cherry Cobbler Classic Ink

Paper:  Cherry Cobbler, Not Quite Navy & Crumb Cake Cardstock

Other: Small Tag Punch, Dotted Scallop Ribbon Border Punch, White Baker’s Twine, needle

I used my Stampin’ Up White Gel Pen to mark where you would make your first set of  diagonal stitches then go back the other direction to make the crosses.   Quick and easy and I can do a short piece like this in under 3 minutes.

*****

Don’t you think this little guy has a bit of a nautical feel (maybe its just the colors everyone is using with Open Sea these days)?  Did you know sailors used to do needlework too?  Besides stitching and repairing the canvas sails?   I’ve seen some amazing examples of Colonial era sailors stitch work in East Coast museums.   Hm…wonder if those tuna fisherman today keep up the traditions?   

May your stamping dreams be filled with little x’s….

Hugs and blessings – Jean

3 Responses

  1. Oh how absolutely clever. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Great idea and yes it does have a very nautical look to it. Can’t wait to see the milk carton (I happily have that die!) and how it all goes together. TFS!!!

  3. FANtastic Jean! What a neat little detail.

Leave a comment