Watercooler Challenge – WCC31 – Hello Winter

WCC31 – Heidi’s Sketch Challenge

Hello Winter

(yep…I’m hot and wanting the weather to cool off)

WCC31 Heidi's Sketch Challenge

Yikes!   I saw that sketch and my mind went blank.  I panic when something looks complicated or I can’t easily see the layers.    Then I realized I just needed to break down the parts into it’s layers and suddenly it all made sense.   It actually helped to take some of the scraps I had sitting on my desk and replicated the layering and positions.   Being a visual person in many ways I’ve learned coping mechanisms that help in my crafting.  How about you?   Did you panic…does it look complicated to you?  Really it’s easy peasy as you’ll see when you check out the Challenge Artists various takes on the sketch.

Join the rest of the design team over at the Challenge blog website here to see the rest of the teams designs and to add your own with the linky doodad.  When you add your own design and there are more than three entries, one of you will be a challenge winner and have the option to place the winner’s badge on your own site.  Of course…you’ll also win bragging rights!

**********

Here’s my Hello Winter interpretation of Heidi’s sketch.

Hello Winter - WCC31 - Heidi's Sketch Challenge - Jean Fitch using several new Holiday Catalog items.

With it as hot as it’s been the last few days…105º, 102º and so on I’m longing for cooler winter temperatures.  So yes…I’m ready to say…Hello Winter.   Of course once it actually comes I may be singing another tune.   I’m really a Fall and Spring girl though this year we had very little Spring and Fall is promising to be as hot as Summer.   Predictions are for a heavy winter though so I better enjoy the sunshine while I can and dream of winter in an idealized way now that new Holiday Catalog product is in my hot little hands.   September 1st is just around the corner when you’ll be able to order as well.   Trust me when I say…you are going to love it…and you are going to want it all!

Did you see the new Holiday Catalog sneak peeks?  Here’s a hint…think shapes and papers and glue.  I had so much fun with papers and embellishments that I almost forgot to add stamping to the card.  Then I realized that it might be good to identify who I was saying hello to so my friends I’m sending this too won’t be too confused when they see snowflakes in August.  I searched my stamps and found a text from the new Happy Scenes stamp set that said Happy Winter so I selectively stamped the Winter part of the text and gold embossed it.   Gold seemed to fit the theme I have going with the new and gorgeous Winter Wonderland Designer Vellum Stack.   If you’ve always wanted to play with vellum…this stack is the perfect way to get going.  You get 36 sheets with 3 each of 6 gold foil & 6black designs.  I also made liberal use of the new wood Snowflake Elements.   As for the glue hint…we have a new fine tipped glue pen/dispenser.  It’s very useful for those skinny mini spaces, sequins and other embellishments.  Just don’t use it on ribbon since it’s quite liquid.  It’s quite strong though it does take a bit to set up and finish it’s bonding.   A tad different from some of our other adhesives but once you learn its ways you are going to love having this in your arsenal of crafting tools.

 Supplies:

Stamps:  Happy Scenes – Winter text image  (2015 Holiday Catalog)

Ink:  Versamark

Paper: Crumb Cake, Very Vanilla, Basic Black Cardstock.  Gold Foil.  Pretty Petals Designer Series Paper Stack, Winter Wonderland Designer Vellum Stack (2015 Holiday Catalog)

Punches: 1″ circle, Banner Triple (new – creates the flag/banner ends)

Other:  Big Shot, Greetings Thinlet dies, Metallics Sequin Assortment, Paper Snips,  Fine-Tip Glue Pen, Dimensional, SNAIL

*****************

 That’s it for this challenge.  I hope you’ll join the Watercooler challenge and show us your own sketch inspired project and link up to us.  We didn’t have sufficient linky posts to declare a winner for the last challenge but I hope you’ll check this post out so you can see the wonderful additions by Susie & Kathe. Check the challenge site for rules on competing for future challenges.

Hugs and Blessings to all my challenge friends and readers.

Jean Fitch in pink

One Response

  1. Nice start on winter! Love this card Miss Jean. It’s beautiful with the vellum background and all those wooden stars. I feel a CASE coming on. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a comment