WCC02 – CASE THE NEW CATALOG – Watercooler Challenge

 

CASE: Copy and Share Everything.

I’m totally loving the new Watercooler Challenge Blog.   It’s a new kid on the block as card challenges go but promises to be fun and since many of my Watercooler friends are on the design team it seemed a friendly and fun place to get my feet wet in the Challenge arena.

Have you ever been stuck for a place to start a new card.  Wondering what design features, what stamps, colors and so on would work together….check out the world of Card Challenges and especially the Stampin’ Up catalog!    While Stampin’ Up no longer officially calls it’s catalog an Idea Book it still works that way for me.  Many talented concept artists create the samples shown in the Annual Catalog and I find that a truly inspirational place to start.

For my first jump into the  world of card challenges…here’s my CASE of the Circle Card Thinlit die sample on page 138.  What I call a Circle Flip Card.    To see the samples the Watercooler Team came up with as well as other entries to the challenge visit this post.

CASE the Catalog - CASE of Stampin' Up's 2014 Annual Catalog page 138 - Jean Fitch - Circle Card Thinlit die, Trust God, Petite Petal and the Arrow embossing folder and Moonlight DSP.   More pictures and details in post.

WCC02 CASE the Catalog Watercooler Challenge

Supplies:

Stamps:  Trust God, Petite Petals

Ink: Basic Gray, Basic Black Stampin’ Write Marker

Paper: Hello Honey, Lost Lagoon, Whisper White, Vellum Cardstock.  Moonlight DSP stack

Punches:  1-3/4″ Circle, 2-1/2″ Circle,  Bitty Butterfly, Petite Petals

Other: Big Shot, Circle Card Thinlit Die,  Arrow embossing folder, Whisper White Baker’s Twine, Rhinestone Basic Jewels, dimensionals and glue dots

All products Stampin’ Up unless otherwise noted.

**************************

The very cool thing about this die are the options you have.   The basic card die creates a simple flip.  I decided to add an extended fold to it (hidden until you open the card) to allow a bit more scope for my written message once I add that and send it off to the friend who encouraged me to jump into the challenge (hi Miss Marsha!).   Then there are the many additional dies that come in the set ( 10 in all including the basic card die) that make layering fun.  For a quick tutorial on how to add that extended flap I have the video pinned here.

The first change to the CASE I made after the added flap was the color choice.  I decided to showcase this years new In Colors instead of last years.   So Hello Honey and Lost Lagoon teamed up for the first time in my stamp studio.    I had a wee bit of trouble getting the Arrow embossing folder just right (next time I’ll now to change the sandwich to a tighter fit) so I altered and added the strips of designer series paper (the new Moonlight DSP paper stack reflected the arrow theme perfectly!) as needed.    I also decided that the die cut chevrons would look better reflecting the arrow pattern of the paper so I fit them  into the tracks created by the embossing folder.    I don’t know about you but I’m loving this folder that carried over from the earlier Occasions catalog.   It fits the Prairie School or Arts & Crafts design styles from earlier decades to a T – Prairie School is one of my favorite styles that architects like Frank Lloyd Wright made popular.

Here are a few views of the card from different angles that also show a few of the extra die pieces from the card set that I used:

CASE the Catalog - CASE of Stampin' Up's 2014 Annual Catalog page 138 - Jean Fitch - Circle Card Thinlit die, Trust God, Petite Petal and the Arrow embossing folder and Moonlight DSP.   More pictures and details in post.

Three tips:

Tip 1: As you can see from this back view of the front flip circle I die cut another scallop circle using the die that comes with the card set.   You may not know this…but the scallop die in this card set is identical in shape and size to our 2-3/8″ Scallop Circle Punch.   Since I don’t yet have this punch I’ve been able to use the die in it’s place for many, many projects!  Score!  That’s $16.95 I was able to put towards a new stamp set!

Tip 2:   When you don’t have a circular stamp to use to step up a punched image…grab your Stampin’ Up Project Life journaling pen or a coordinating Stampin’ Write Marker.    I used the heart die in the set to create a window and then realized the threads peeking through weren’t exactly the look I was going for so I die cut another heart in Mossy Meadow and inserted into the Lost Lagoon scallop piece.    Looked a little plain and I wanted to echo the circle motif I had going on so I grabbed my Basic Black Stampin’ Write Marker and added my sentiment.   It’s those personal details that really share the love don’t you think?

Tip 3: When you create with these flip cards keep in mind how you will deliver it to your intended recipient.   If you add rhinestones or other hard accessories to the back of the circle it will leave marks on the layer underneath when you fold the card and mail it.  If you are hand delivering it’s probably not as much of an issue but a trip through the post office has the potential to leave all kinds of indents from things like jewels and buttons and so on.  Something to think about as you design.  Flatter is better on the under layers.

Here’s the back view of my full card.  I left that extra back flap unembossed for easy writing before I pop it in the mail.   And speaking of mailing…this is one of those cards that will likely take a bit of extra postage what with the flap, layers  and rhinestones that I’ve added.  If however you keep the card simple and less dimensional the flip cards will mail just like any other standard one layer card.

CASE the Catalog - CASE of Stampin' Up's 2014 Annual Catalog page 138 - Jean Fitch - Circle Card Thinlit die, Trust God, Petite Petal and the Arrow embossing folder and Moonlight DSP.   More pictures and details in post.

 

CASE the Catalog - CASE of Stampin' Up's 2014 Annual Catalog page 138 - Jean Fitch - Circle Card Thinlit die, Trust God, Petite Petal and the Arrow embossing folder and Moonlight DSP.   More pictures and details in post.

Here are the two main ingredients you need to CASE this card:

arrow embossing folder

Stampin’ Up’s Arrow textured embossing folder. Item# 132187

To see more fun examples of what you can do with this cool die set check out my Pinterest Board for flip cards here.

Circle Card Thinlit die store image

Circle Card Thinlit Die (10 pieces) – Item# 133480

 

Thanks for joining me today and I hope you’ll check out the Watercooler Challenge Blog.   And don’t let the Canadian spelling you may find there throw you for a loop.  Really…we do speak the same language.  LOL

Hugs and blessings…

Jean Fitch in pink

8 Responses

  1. You always have great cards jean, glad you could join the challenge this time.

  2. Awesome card, Jean!! You’re always so helpful with sharing the details on how you made it, too 🙂 I’m hoping to join in the ‘cooler challenges, too. Thanks for sharing, my friend!

  3. Jean, I’ve been wanting to try these now with your video {haven’t checked it out yet- at son’s} may get the kick start to try it. Love it. hugs {Patti

  4. Jean, love the colours you’ve chosen for the card. Love your tips.

  5. Cute! Thanks for all the great tips.

  6. Great card, Jean. The tips will be useful once I have the die. 🙂

  7. Very pretty card….had not noticed it in the new catty…yes, the concept artists still draw us in and that is wonderful! TFS….

  8. […] one of the projects we’ll be making.   You can see a second in this post here.  So many saw these samples in June and asked for them that I just had to add them to the […]

Leave a comment