WCC05 – Watercooler Color Challenge – New and Old Meet in the Middle

Happy Sunday my friends.

Time for another Watercooler Challenge (WCC05).   This time around our illustrious leader Terri A. has given us the following color set to work with.

WCC05 July 27th color challenge

I hope you’ll decide to play along and add your own creation to the Challenge linky found here.   You’ll also be able to see all of this weeks wonderful team creations at that link.

 

Here’s mine:

WCC05 Color Challenge   - created by  Jean Fitch using Work of Art and other Stampin' Up Supplies

Supplies:

Stamps:  Work of Art, Happy Watercolor (retired from Occasions 2014 catalog)

Paper: Rich Razzleberry, Crumb Cake, Very Vanilla Cardstocks.   Epic Day Designer Series Paper (retired)

Ink:  Rich Razzleberry, Daffodil Delight

Other: Big Shot,  Hearts Collection Framelits,  Adorning Accents Edgelit (retired) ,  Adorning Accents Embossing Folder (retired), Large Heart Punch (retired), Small Heart Punch (retired), Basics Jewels Rhinestones, 3/8″ Crumb Cake Taffeta Ribbon (retired).

 

I had a fun time with this challenge.   Especially because, as luck would have it, I had many scraps and project pieces littering my work space in exactly these colors.   That’s my excuse for using several retired items too!   Gotta clean up the work space right?  No matter the dates of the materials?  LOL

At some point in the last year or so I had created the Rich Razzleberry card base.   I was experimenting with edgelits and embossing folders that were new to me at the time but never got around to creating a fully finished card.   This was pre the Big Shot Magnetic platform and I probably thought that trying to create this with customers would be a bit of a challenge to get it all lined up and cut straight.   The two hearts were scraps from one of last years favorite DSP’s – Epic Day.   The perfect Daffodil Delight accent and I used last years large heart punch to create a layering piece in Rich Razzleberry.    Since the card base already had the little embossed hearts it seemed the perfect lead in to a heart theme which of course led me to use Thank You as a sentiment and create my own heart themed background.   And wouldn’t you know…last Spring’s Occasions set Happy Watercolor has the perfect sized Thank You and was sitting out just waiting to be added to that visible section of the inside of the card (I think my young nephew would call this a peekaboo card since some of the inside peeks through).     Don’t you love happenstance when you are creating on a deadline?   The eye settles here and there and it all just happens to go together!  SWEET!

Of course my latest favorite stamp set Work of Art was also already on the desk.  That set is sure turning out to be a work horse for me given it’s terrific versatility.  I wasn’t sure the two stamps that make up the Thank You would fit on the die cut heart I had already cut, but as luck (and happenstance) would have it, it did.   The bow even tied correctly the second time around (now that’s a first for me).  Somehow I have a feeling my much loved husband Steve was looking over my shoulder from Heaven and egging me on.  Placing everything I needed ready to hand.   Wouldn’t be the first time and Friday (when I was working on this) would have been our 33rd wedding anniversary.  So…yep…I’ll take all the angelic help I can get…especially when half my current supplies are still packed from my last event!

On another subject….I came across the following on Pinterest the other day.  Looks like a good set of points  to ponder for a weekend.    Of course doing would be even better right?    LOL

Life thoughtsI hope you are having a blessed weekend too and finding time to stamp.   Grab your colors and your scraps and join in.

Hugs, love and blessings to all of you –

Jean Fitch in pink

6 Responses

  1. thank you for being a part of the challenge, Jean!!!!

  2. Love the hearts and polka dots from the Work of Art set, Jean. They really set the mood for the card. The embossed hearts and pretty scalloped edge just put it over the top. Thanks so much for sharing.

  3. What a lovely light and cheery card.

  4. Jean, lovely card! I really like the idea of recycling that cleans the desk top and enjoyed use of those retired components. I also appreciate your sign at the end of your post! Take care sweetie!

  5. I have never been so lucky as to have such wonderful pieces just sitting and waiting for me to create a project – this card is gorgeous – and of course the color combo is the bomb! Need to remember those double embossing folders – great ideas and thank you for the inspiration!

  6. So much new and old to love! Great work!

Leave a comment