Watercooler Wednesday Challenge – WWC41 – Going 3D – My Paper Pumpkin Flower Card Box

WWC41 – Jackie’s October Sketch Challenge

WWC41 jackie nov 4 sketch

Welcome to this weeks Watercooler Wednesday Challenge.  Jackie threw us another fun sketch to play with this week.  Since Jackie’s Sketch was the perfect jumping off point for my design as viewed from the top my mind renamed it – 3D Paper Pumpkin meets Jackie’s sketch.

Ever since I saw the newest Paper Pumpkin Kit (October 2015) my mind knew those lovely cards needed a box to present to some lucky someone and Jackie’s Sketch gave me the direction.   I don’t know about you but for me this is one of the coolest Paper Pumpkins I’ve played with.  Of course most months I tend to say that.  LOL

**********

WCC41 -Jean's October 2015 Paper Pumpkin Flower Card Box - Jean Fitch

Here’s a close up of the butterfly detail.  I used some bits from the gold leaves to make the antennae and body highlight of the butterfly.

WWC41 - butterfly detail

In case you were wondering what pieces I had to play with in Octobers kit here’s a picture:

October 2015 Paper Pumpkin Refill Kit Contents

And here are some of the cards as Stampin Up designed them that could fit in this lovely box:

October 2015 Paper Pumpkin Cards

And the very cool stamps that came with the kit:

Blissful Bouquet October 2015 Pumpkin stamp set

Much as I liked the sentiments in the kits set I needed something a tad smaller that allowed me to place the words on the somewhat narrower banner strip.   I turned to Sheltering Tree.  Another photopolymer set that can be curved on the block and fit perfectly.  I did use the Basic Gray ink that came in the kit.  In person it gives the images a lovely soft look.

I went old school in creating my box from two pieces of paper scored all the way around (more details below).  The same technique crafters have been using for decades (if not longer).   Now that I’ve made one with this design, I can see some possibilities for alterations that I’ll have to try in the future (yes, I CASE myself sometimes)….which of course means I’ll have to get another refill kit or two.  😀

I  love that Stampin’ Up often offers refills for the none stamp and ink components of the kits available for a remarkably low price.   Everything but the stamps and ink spot for $8.00 here in the States.  Not bad for 9 cards and envelopes right?  Of course they are only available while supplies last.  You can see the various past kit refills here.  Add a few more bits from your stash and you’ll be able to get way more cards than that from the components.   I’ve been tracking lots of other stampers alternate creations on my Paper Pumpkin Pinterest Board here.   And if you want to see the kit in action you can view Stampin’ Up’s video about the kit here.   I’ll be sharing various and variations on card designs from the kit over the next little while as I find the time to play with all the bits and pieces.

Of course if you want to get signed up with Paper Pumpkin in time for the November Kit you can do that here.  Just make sure you do it on or before November 10th unless you want to wait yet another month to get in on the fun of Paper Pumpkin.   Each month it’s a new and different kit with stamps, ink and the pieces to make a variety of cards, tags and occasionally something a bit more 3D as well.  More details are available on the Pumpkin site so make sure to click the link above.

Supplies:

Stamps: Blissful Bouquet (October 2015 Paper Pumpkin Stamp Set), Sheltering Tree (sentiment)

Inks:  Basic Gray

Paper: Calypso Coral, Sahara Sand & Vellum Cardstock.  Papers and elements from the October 2015 Paper Pumpkin Kit.

Tools & Adhesives:
Big Shot,  Bold Butterfly dies,  Simply Scored Scoring Board, SNAIL, dimensionals, Sticky Strip

*******

Measurements and Details for the basic box:

The card box is really easy and perhaps old school in this day of special boards and dies.  Two sets of measurements.  One piece for creating the top and one piece for creating the bottom of the box.

Top: 6-5/8″ x 7-7/8″  – Score 1″ on all 4 sides

Bottom: 6-1/2″ x 7-3/4″  – Score 1″ on all 4 sides

After you score each piece at 1″ on all four sides you’ll want to use your bone folder to crease and fold on all the score lines (do each side separately).  Then cut two slits up from the bottom to the crossing score line on both of the longer sides on both pieces.  Place Tear and Tape on both smaller tabs and fit into the long side.   Here’s a basic template.  Click on the picture to see a larger view.

Basic Card Box Template

And the inside:

Basic Card Box interior

If you look in the lower right hand corner you can see where the tab fit into the longer side.  As you may be able to tell, the top (on the right) is just a slight bit larger than the bottom for an easy fit.

**********

That’s it for this challenge.  To see the rest of the design teams creations from Jackie’s Sketch Challenge head on over to the Challenge blog website here.   That’s also where you can add your own creation with the linky doodad.  When you add your own design and there are more than three entries, one of you will be a challenge winner or runner up and have the option to place our new badges on your own site.  Of course…you’ll also win bragging rights!

We had 5 wonderful linky posts this last time so there is a winner and a runner up for the last challenge.   Check out our winners here.  And check this post out so you can see the wonderful additions by all the challenge participants. Check the challenge site for rules on competing for future challenges.

I hope you’ll join us next Wednesday for yet another Watercooler Wednesday Challenge.

Hugs and Blessings to all my challenge friends and readers.

Jean Fitch in pink