Wacky Watercooler November 2016 Blog Hop: All About Christmas!

2016-november-banner

Welcome to our “All Out” Christmas Blog Hop

Hello and Welcome to the “All Out” Christmas Celebration Wacky Watercooler Blog Hop.  If you are looking for inspiration for Christmas you’ve come to the right place.

As usual you can follow this hop in a circle going either direction.  Of course you can also return to the home hop site if you ever get lost along the way.   That site will also, with a bit of scrolling back lead you to any and all of our past hops that you might still find inspiring.

Now that you’re here I hope you’ve arrived from  Gail’s blog.   Gail is a dear friend I first met in the Watercooler.  She’s also one of our many (and talented) Canadian stampers.    I hope you found her projects as inspiring as I always do.  I always enjoy Gails original take on life and on stamping.  She’s so often the heart of our Watercooler stamping group.  A fun presence that reminds us all how much joy there is in life.

*******

Today all the stops are out and we’ve a wide open field for any kind of project!  So…what do you think I did?  Cards of course.  {grin}   Over the next few weeks I’ve got projects of all kinds on tap to show you but as we approach the end of November I’m working madly to finish as many cards as I can so I’ll meet my first week of December mail out deadline.   That’s my annual deadline…just don’t ask me when they really get mailed.  LOL

Here’s my first Christmas offering.   A

The secret ingredient is Washi Tape…and gold.   Love that rustic/formal combo.   Over the weekend I’ll be sharing a page of directions as well as a pictorial tutorial to show you exactly how it’s done.  It’s really quite easy.

Santa Sleigh Tree with Washi Tape

(click the image for a larger view)

santas-sleigh-with-washi-tape-jean-fitch-copy

Inside

santas-sleigh-washi-tape-inside-jean-fitch-copy

Supplies:

Stamps: Santa’s Sleigh, Star of Light (the three stars)

Ink: Versamark, Garden Green

Paper:  Crumb Cake, Early Espresso Cardstock & Gold Foil

Other: Big Shot, Santa’s Sleigh Thinlits, Baker’s Twine Trio (Holiday Catalog), Warmth & Cheer Washi Tape, Gold Embossing Powder, Heat Tool, Dimensionals, Glue Dots, SNAIL

***********

Next up is a fun Gift Card Holder in a bag.   For this project I got my new Stitched Frame Framelits out to play.  I’ve done the new rectangle from a square in this same design but wouldn’t you know…I gave that version away!  Arghhh…just before the hop.   So…check back again and I’ll have that for you too as well as directions on how to make the rectangle.  In the meantime…here’s the simpler version.

Note:  The Blooms & Wishes stamp set that I used is 25% off through the end of November so if you want to CASE it’s the perfect time to purchase the ingredients.

Stitched Frame Framelit Gift Card Bag

stitched-gift-card-bag-jean-fitchPlain without insert

 

christmas-stitched-frame-gift-card-holderChristmas with insert that holds a gift card

flower-stitched-gift-card-holder-detail-november-2016-watercooler-hop-jean-fitch-copyDetail of the stitched frame piece

stitched-gift-card-pocketBackside of the insert with the gift card pocket

stitched-gift-card-bag-2-jean-fitchAlternate version

Supplies:

Stamps: Blooms & Wishes, Merry Medley (background Stamp)

Ink: Soft Suede, Watermelon Wonder, Wild Wasabi

Paper: Soft Sky, Whisper White, Glassine Bags

Other:  Bone Folder, Linen Thread, Baker’s Twine Trio (Holiday Catalog), Rhinestone Jewels, Paper Snips,  SNAIL, Glue Dots, Dimensionals.

I’ll have directions for this one as well over the weekend.

***************************

Last but not least here’s my final project.  It just isn’t Christmas without a star right?  So using the Star of Light stamps and dies I’ve created a couple of “Star of Bethlehem” type card designs.

Star of Light 1 & 2

star-of-light-1-jean-fitchSilver embossed version – stamped behind the window

star-of-light-2-jean-fitchSilver foil die cut version

Supplies:

Stamps: Star of Light

Ink: Night of Navy, Versamark

Paper: Soft Sky, Whisper White, Silver Foil

Other: Big Shot, Evening Star Thinlits, Bone Folder, Silver Metallic Thread, White Seam Binding,  SNAIL, Glue Dots, Dimensionals.

***************************

I encourage you to play with the products that I’ve showcased today.  Especially if you are still working on getting your own cards ready to send out.  As you can see, the products I’ve used will coordinate with products you may already have or can find in the Stampin’ Up Holiday and Annual Catalogs.

*******

That’s it for my share of the hop.  Time to move on over to my friend  Christine’s blog.   Christine is another original who is crafty in so many ways and areas and that joy of creativity always shines through.  I know you’ll be inspired in so many ways.  Enjoy the rest of the hop and I hope to see you back here soon.

To follow the hop click on the link below:

next watercooler crock button

Home Button

Previous Button

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

9 Responses

  1. Cute, would have really loved it if you had used your green plaid raindeer with wreath.  But this is a sweet idea.

    From: Rogue Thoughts…Jean’s Stamping Studio in the Rogue Valley To: happycampersjpl@bellsouth.net Sent: Thursday, November 17, 2016 8:02 PM Subject: [New post] Wacky Watercooler July 2016 Blog Hop: Our Third Anniversary Celebration! #yiv5768797486 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv5768797486 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv5768797486 a.yiv5768797486primaryactionlink:link, #yiv5768797486 a.yiv5768797486primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv5768797486 a.yiv5768797486primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv5768797486 a.yiv5768797486primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv5768797486 WordPress.com | jlfstudio posted: “Welcome to our “All Out” Christmas Blog HopHello and Welcome to the “All Out” Christmas Celebration Wacky Watercooler Blog Hop.  If you are looking for inspiration for Christmas you’ve come to the right place.As usual you can follow this hop in ” | |

  2. Jean, I’m blushing! Thank you for the lovely comments. Your projects are all amazing – love the Washi Christmas tree. And the Gift Card Bag – what a great idea to use the glassine bag. You mentioned using the square stitched framelit to make a rectangle – how did you do that? I’ve been trying to figure it out. And the stars – oh my – I had that bundle on my wish list, but didn’t order it.

  3. Beautiful cards Jeanne…and what a great idea using washi tape for the Christmas tree cut out!! Love the glassine bags..so pretty, and the stitched framelits are the best! Thanks for the inspiration. 🙂

  4. Jean what an amazing and inspiring collection of cards. The Washi tape behind the tree is so awesome. I simply have to try that and your great little gift card bag. I love how you spiffied up that glassine bag! Awesome. Your Star of Wonder cards are both brilliant and Case-worthy. Thanks Jean for always delighting!

  5. Hi Jean, what a great assortment of cards! I couldn’t figure out what DSP you had used for the tree but, yes, after reading I can see that there are a whole lot of designs of Washi tape inside that die-cut tree. What a clever idea! I thought your decorated glassine bag was pretty but with that card inside, adding all that additional colour and script it really came to life. But my favourite has to be the Star of Light card. They’re both lovely but when I look at #2, I hear my mother winging the song and that’s it for me. I love it! Thanks for sharing.

  6. Welcome back to the hop, Jean. I see a theme going here. You used both the cut outs and the negatives. Each one is so lovely. I am kicking myself now for giving my polka dot bags away, but now I am inspired to decorate my other bags. Love them all.

  7. You are so creative, Jean! I think my favourite is the washi tape Christmas tree – what a great way to use the washi tape (I always have tons of it, just sitting around looking pretty). Great way to use the bags for a gift card holder.

  8. I love your washi tree! So cute…but you had me at “gift card holder”, Jean! Love the glassine bag with the card inside–beautifully decorated and so pretty! Thanks, Jean; I thoroughly enjoyed reading about your creations and can’t wait to come back and see some directions.

  9. Jean, thank you for joining the hop, you’ve been missed. Such pretty cards. Your first card with the Washi tape behind the tree is so wonderful. One I will have to CASE! Love your sweet bag, and the Star of Lights cards are wonderful.

Leave a Reply

