Watercooler Wednesday Challenge – WWC63 – Jean’s Birthday Garden

WWC63 – Kath’s Color Challenge

(if you live other places in the world it might be Kath’s Colour Challenge)

Watercooler Wednesday Challenge - WWC63 - Kath's Color Challenge

Welcome to this weeks Watercooler Wednesday Challenge.  Today…we’re playing with soft Spring colors as well as one that makes your mouth water.  {grin}  I don’t know about you but my mouth is watering for watermelon after a day of playing with the color and typing the name.  Thanks Kath for the craving and the colors!

**********

After playing with the Number of Years stamp set at my last Stamp Camp I just had to bring it out one more time for these lovely soft colors.  And with my sister-in-laws birthday this month it was the perfect time to create a lovely Spring birthday card just for her.

Jean’s Birthday Garden

Watercooler Wednesday Challenge - WWC63 - Kath's Color Challange - Jean's Birthday Garden - Number of Years and Happy Birthday EveryoneOutside

Watercooler Wednesday Challenge - WWC63 - Kath's Color Challenge - Jean's Birthday Garden - interiorInside

Supplies:

Stamps: Number of Years, Happy Birthday Everyone, Papillon Potpourri

Inks:  Pear Pizzazz, Blushing Bride, So Saffron, Watermelon Wonder & Wink of Stella Gold

Paper: Pear Pizzazz, So Saffron, Watermelon Wonder, Whisper White Cardstocks

Punches: Itty Bitty Punch Pack (flower), Bitty Butterfly

Tools & Adhesives:  Basic Jewel Rhinestones, Glue Dots.

Cost: 44¢ per card. Assuming you have all the ingredients. 😀    Extra for envelope.

*********

I love quick and simple cards.  With the exception of a couple of stamping oopsies that meant I had to recut some paper this was one of those 15 minute cards.  It really helps to take that extra few seconds to mount the stamps so the text is straight and level on the block!  Duh!   And now that I have the design down and all the equipment in place it would be more of a 5 minute card for creating duplicates.

One trick is to stamp the first set of leaves/stems (love that it’s all combined in one image stamp) in the middle of the row and then stamp to the left and right with some of the image a bit lower and off to the sides.  I also found that stamping the sentiment in the top corner first gave you a better idea on where and how high to stamp the leaves/stems image.  Originally I stamped the greeting in the left upper corner but well…did I mention that oopsie thing when the stamp wasn’t correctly on the block?  As they say…paper has two sides…but of course Watermelon Wonder is a fairly dark color and does show through.  So when I flipped the card over it was prudent to change the text to the right hand side.   Not really a big deal and gave me a chance to add the butterfly to balance the overall design.  Gotta love the mother of invention right?   The Gold Wink of Stella (love those Stella pens.  So easy to use) was used to add centers to the flowers and a bit of dash to the punched flower as well.  You can see on the inside stamping that I also played a bit with it on the stamped flowers as well.  I couldn’t find my Clear Wink of Stella pen or I would have added a bit more sparkle.  Now that it’s stopped hiding (of course it waited until the picture taking and posting) I’ll add a bit of bling before dropping it in the mail to my lovely SIL.

One other subtle bit of color I love is the very narrow Pear Pizzazz mat.  It adds just the right punch of color separating the vivid Watermelon Wonder and the plainer Whisper White.  Pity I forgot to replicate that on the inside.  Ah well…there is always a next time.   After all…this is the base design for one of the cards at my next Stamp a Stack on April 23.  If you are in the area I hope you will join us.  You can find us at the Central Point Presbyterian Church at 456 W. Pine St.  Central Point, Oregon.

*********

That’s it for this challenge.  To see the rest of the design teams Color Challenge contributions head on over to the Challenge blog website here.   That’s also where you can add your own creation with the linky doodad.  When you add your own design and there are more than three entries, one of you will be a challenge winner or runner up and have the option to place our new badges on your own site.  Of course…you’ll also win bragging rights!

Check here to see the winner of last weeks challenge.  And here to see all the other linky and Artist Team entries.  Check the challenge site for rules on competing for future challenges.

I really hope you will add your own creations this week.  Really…this challenge is an easy one and you can start stocking up for those Spring Summer occasions ahead.

I hope you’ll join us next Wednesday for yet another Watercooler Wednesday Challenge.

Jean Fitch in pink

 

 

 

 

4 Responses

  1. So, so, so pretty, Jean! I love that image from the numbers set, too. The color combination works very well in a spray of flowers.

  2. P. S. Thank you for showing us the inside of your card. I love to see what people do there.

  3. Hey Miss Jean. This is such a pretty card. I love the location of each detail, that comes together in a beautiful card. Great use of the color sketch, too! I hope that you are doing exceedingly well my friend.

  4. Jean I really like the airiness of this card. It feels like Spring in the meadow. Thanks for all the tips on placement, this is really a card to CASE. Appreciated.

Leave a Reply

