Watercooler Wednesday Challenge – WWC45 – A “faithfully” rendered sketch?

WWC45 – Susan’s Sketch Challenge

WWC45 - Susan's Sketch Challenge - November 2015

Welcome to this weeks Watercooler Wednesday Challenge.  Time to get down to a rendition of our wonderful sketch provided by Susan.  With a sketch half your design work is done for you.  Thanks Susan!   Now I just have to pick colors, a theme, images and so on.   What I love about a sketch is that you can add, subtract and just change it up a bit…as long as you include the basic elements.   I had fun using my photo software to turn and turn the sketch to see if I wanted to use it sideways or upside down.   As it happened I decided to use it straight on as Susan showed it to us.  So not the norm for me.  I wonder if I was influenced by Susan now being a judge.  Yep…she was just elected by her town/township/area or whatever they call such things in New England.  So…Your Honor…this ones for you!  Congratulations my friend.  I’ll try to stick to the straight and narrow from here on in.

**********

I was puttering around in my Craft Room the other day and the idea for the Octagons hit me.  Right out of the blue.  I’m sure it’s not a new idea creating octagons from squares but I sure hadn’t noticed it before now.  So I did a happy dance and settled down to create my card for this challenge.  I hope you’ll give it a try too.

 

Faithful Season

WWC45 - Susan's Sketch Challenge - Peace Be With You - Jean Fitch

Supplies:

Stamps: All Ye Faithful, Reason for the Season, Happy Scenes (all from the 2015 Holiday Catalog)

Inks: Versamark

Paper: Whisper White, Lost Lagoon, Blackberry Bliss Cardstock & Gold Glimmer Paper, Gold Foil Paper

Punches: Itty Bitty Accents Pack – star, 1-3/8″ Circle

Tools & Adhesives:
Big Shot, Magnetic Platform, Squares Collection Framelits, Circles Collection Framelits, Stars Collection Framelits, Stampin’ Up Trimmer, Heat Tool, Gold Embossing Powder, Snail, dimensionals

Turning a Square into an Octagon – mini tutorial :

  1. Die Cut Your Square of Choice

Octogon from Square Step 1

2.  Set Aside the Square Framelit

Octogon from Square Step 2

3. Turn the Square So Points are Up, Down and Side to Side

Octogon from Square Step 3

4. Place the Square Framelit So It Cuts All the Points Evenly

Octogon from Square Step 4

5. And There You Have a Hexagon

Octogon from Square Final Result

6. Repeat With Larger or Smaller Square

Octogon from Square two sizes

7.  Layer the Octagons (If Desired)

Octogon from Square Layered

Repeat with as many sizes of squares as you want.

If you are a tad OCD about your crafting you may want to draw a line (or lines) on your cutting pad so you can line up the corners perfectly on the lines for a perfect cut.

And there you have it.  Two sets of shapes are to be found in one Framelit Collection!

Kind of reminds me of that old Doublemint commercial with twins and the Certs Commercial with the tag line…Two…Two…Two Mints in One!   If you are feeling nostalgic and want to see the Certs commercial you can find it here.  Don’t you love YouTube.

Here’s my revised version or homage if you will :

Two…Two…Two dies in one.  Double your pleasure…double your fun.

*******

Edited to Add:

Here’s a picture version of my mini tutorial that you can download or pin as a reminder:

Square to Octagon Mini Tutoral for the Squares Framelit Collection of dies from Stampin' Up!

*******

So have I convinced you that the Squares Collection needs to find a place in your Craft Room?  Order it today from my online store (see the sidebar and select Big Shot then Framelit Dies).

*******

That’s it for this challenge.  To see the rest of the design teams Sketch Challenge contributions head on over to the Challenge blog website here.   That’s also where you can add your own creation with the linky doodad.  When you add your own design and there are more than three entries, one of you will be a challenge winner or runner up and have the option to place our new badges on your own site.  Of course…you’ll also win bragging rights!

Check here to see the two honorable mentions of last weeks challenge.  And here to see all  linky and Artist Team entries from that challenge.  Check the challenge site for rules on competing for future challenges.

I hope you’ll join us next Wednesday for yet another Watercooler Wednesday Challenge.

Hugs and Blessings to all my challenge friends and readers.

Jean Fitch in pink

 

 

 

 

 

2 Responses

  1. Cool Beans Jean! Thanks for the great visual on how to do the Octagons. Love your card, too.

  2. Very nice card, not personally into religious, but like your card. Have had square framelits already in my stash!

Leave a Reply

