WCC29 – Flap Fold Flowers

WCC29 Bev’s Special Folds Challenge

Welcome to a new Challenge.

This time around we are folding!

Pretty much any kind of card fold little or big.  Simple or intricate.  You decide.   If you have a different idea than the picture…go for it!

Here’s the picture that was provided to encourage the thinking and the MOJO.

Fun-Folds-All-Cards

 **************

Do you believe in kismet, coincidence or just blind dumb luck?   When I encounter that phenomenon I refer to it as inspiration.  LOL

Of course all of that also helped me to create this:

 

WCC29 - Wild About Flowers Flap Fold Card - Jean Fitch - Wild about Flowers & Trust God stamp sets

So how did I get there?

A week or so ago I had this wonderful tutorial by Julie Davison hit my inbox courtesy of SplitcoastStampers Weekly Inkling Newsletter.   Wonderful inspiration every Wednesday.  If you would like to get yours you can sign up for it on the home page of SCS here.  Of course I had to look at the gallery and came across this card (also by Julie Davison):

Tulip Flap Fold Card - Julie Davison

click the picture to see Julie’s post

All of that, the need for a card for the challenge plus a real hankering to play with my brand new stamp set Wild About Flowers put me on the road to creativity.

Needless to say…I had a very fun time learning a new fold and bending my own ideas into the fold parameters as well.   I always like a challenge.  Well duh…that’s why I work on our Wacky Watercooler Challenges. {grin}

I altered Julie’s basic design just a bit.  I added an Old Olive mat layer that creates a thin color border between the Pretty Petals designer series paper and that rather intense Pacific Point paper.  Hard to see in the photo but noticeable in the real card.   Of course I changed the stamps and the punch border but the rest is pretty much Julie’s design.  Now that I’ve done the basic design I have a few ideas for a stepped up version so check back.

Here are a few other views with the card unfolded.   If you don’t recognize the edging tool I used for the front flap…check out your punches.   I created the border with the Decorative Label punch.

 Click on the images to see a larger view

WCC29 - Flap Fold unfolded - Jean Fitch

WCC29 - Flap Fold top fold view

WCC29 - Flap Fold Side View - Jean Fitch

WCC29 - Flap Fold Front view - Jean Fitch

WCC29 - Flap Fold - inside folds - Jean Fitch

WCC29 - Flap Fold - front unfolded - Jean Fitch

Supplies:

Stamps: Wild about Flowers, Trust God, Lovely Amazing You (for the inside and still available for a short time)

Ink:  Old Olive, Pacific Point

Paper: Pacific Point, Old Olive, Very Vanilla Cardstocks.  Pretty Petals Designer Series Paper Stack.

Punches: 2-3/8″ Scallop Circle, 2-1/2″ Circle, 1-3/4″ Circle, 1″ Circle, Scalloped Oval, Decorative Label

Other:  Stampin’ Trimmer, Dimensionals, SNAIL

I love the way the design from the Pretty Petals paper stack mimics the cornflower images I selected.  I’ve had a scrap of this paper sitting on my desk for a while now so not surprising I opted to use it.  I used the flip side to create the vest take out box you saw here.  Stampin’ Up does such a wonderful job of giving us papers and stamps that work so well together don’t you think.  Not to mention the general coordination of colors across many product types.  Love that!   Loving the new catalog too!

************************

Please join the rest of the design team over at the Challenge blog website here to see the rest of the teams designs and to add your own with the linky doodad.  When you add your own design and there are more than three entries, one of you will be a challenge winner and have the option to place the winner’s badge on your own site.  Of course…you’ll also win bragging rights!

That’s it for this challenge.   You can see the winner for the linky added projects for the last challenge here.  It was a hard choice as all the entries were wonderful.  If you haven’t looked already…take a look here.  You’ll be inspired.   I also hope this time you’ll join in the fun and grab a friend or two as well and get creating!  Check the challenge site for rules on competing for this and future challenges.

Hugs and Blessings to all my friends and readers.

Jean Fitch in pink

 

2 Responses

  1. Loved this

    Sent from my iPad

  2. Such a great fold for this challenge. Great colours, great DSP choice and I really like the fancy edge along the bottom of the front flap. That was clever using the Decorative label punch. Also thanks Jean for all the links to the tutorials. Awesome!

Leave a Reply

