July Wacky Watercooler Blog Hop: Follow up with Blog Candy and project reveals

Welcome to the July Blog Hop follow up and reveals…not to mention a bit of blog candy!

If you missed the Blog Hop that started last Thursday you can find the full line up here.     And…you can see my original post here.  Trust me when I say you don’t want to have missed this hop.  Some truly wonderful creations were shared that you will want to CASE for Christmas ideas and creations of your own.

*******

Here was my original Every Blessing card:

Every Blessing

Christmas in July!  Every Blessing.  The new silhouette set.

And here is the Men in Black version.   I know…they aren’t wearing sunglasses but I couldn’t resist the title.

Every Blessing - Men in Black - Jean Fitch

I really like the all black header piece.  The gold thread wrapped around the piece really pops don’t you think.  Part of why this version is my favorite.

This also shows the trickiness of photographing black doesn’t it?  I find I have to suppress the flash and play with the lighting.  It also reminded me that one should skip using the embossing buddy when working with black as the residue left behind is much more noticible.   And one other reminder I saw here in this other card….

Every Blessing  Men in Black - Jean Fitch See the star?   If you have long hair…make sure it’s up and out of the way when heat embossing or you’ll get drag marks and even halo looking effects if it moves around in the Versamark and in the gold powder.   A non stamper might not notice but it makes me crazy!   Of course it used to make my Dad crazy too so he was forever cutting my long bangs and long hair – yep…he was the barber of the family when I was a kid.

Every Blessing inside - Jean Fitch

And of course the interior…almost forgot to show you this.   I die cut a star from Very Vanilla and stamped the other sentiment from the set.   Of course you can fancy it up a bit more.  And if, like me, you like to add a bit more than just your signature you can add a quarter sheet of vanilla to the usual area and add the star with sentiment to the upper half of the interior.

Supplies:

Stamps: Every Blessing

Ink: Memento Tuxedo Black, Versamark

Paper:  Basic Black, Very Vanilla, Corrugated Paper (Kraft used though package also includes white)

Punches: Itty Bitty Accents Pack (star)

Other: Big Shot, Chalk Talk Framelits, Star Collection Framelits (for the inside sentiment), Gold Embossing Powder, Heat Tool, Gold Metallic Thread, Basic Jewel Rhinestones, SNAIL or Tombow multipurpose adhesive glue, glue dots.

Check back Sunday to see more detail shots and for my Men in Black version and then you can vote for which one you prefer.  Who knows…there may even be a bit of candy involved.  😀

***************************

My next celebration of Christmas in July was a Luminaria.  Or it would have been if I had remembered to bring the little electric candle back from my event so I could take a picture.  Here’s the lit version below the original.  Much better don’t you think?   In real life the sentiment pops…it’s just hard to photograph.

Gentle Peace Star Filled Luminaria

Gentle Peace Star Filled Window Luminaria - Jean Fitch

Gentle Peace Luminaria Card lit - Jean Fitch

And a side view:

Gentle Peace Luminaria side view - Jean Fitch

Here’s the imagination gone awry one:

Gentle Peace Luminaria Curved Sentiment - Jean Fitch

I had the idea that the sentiment should follow the bend of the star.   Not a bad idea per se….the gold embossing just doesn’t show up as well in the gold embossing.  Perhaps if I had stamped it in black it would show.   I love the bendability of the photopolymer stamps and can’t resist featuring that ability…it just didn’t work quite as well as I had hoped in this particular instance.

One other thought about this star design.  If you aren’t happy with the “embossed” impression that the die makes you can cut from the back of the card front and you won’t have that impressed star effect.

Here’s the fun tag/ornament that I created with the star piece that is left over from the design of the card front.   Another opportunity to use lots and lots of the beautiful Metallic Thread that Stampin’ Up brought out in the new annual catalog.

From this:

Blank Ornament Star

To this:

Gentle Peace Star Ornament - Jean Fitch

Simple but fun right?

Supplies:

Stamps: Gentle Peace

Ink: Versamark

Paper:  Soft Suede, Crumb Cake, Vellum Cardstock, Corrugated Paper (Kraft used though package also includes white)

Punches: Itty Bitty Accents Pack (star)

Other: Big Shot, WoodGrain Embossing Folder,  Star Collection Framelits, Gold Embossing Powder, Heat Tool, Gold Metallic Thread, Basic Jewel Rhinestones, Very Vanilla Seam Binding (retired), SNAIL or Tombow multipurpose adhesive glue, Glue dots.

Can you see the subtle detail I got by running the hardwood stamped section through the Woodgrain embossing folder.  It’s almost something you notice by touch more than by sight.  Still…I like it.

This card was a CASE of one by Carol Payne.  Click on her name and you’ll see her version and a wonderful video showing how she puts it together.

So…I mentioned blog candy right?

Here’s the candy:

Gentle Peace Blog Candy - candle not included

A set of :  Card, ornament, blank star and a few feet of the metallic thread (not shown) to create your own.  Electric candle not included as it’s a pain to ship. 😀

To win the candy just drop me a note or a comment here in the post telling me which of the Every Blessing cards you prefer…the one with a vanilla stamped sentiment or the all black version.   Tell me too which of the new or not so new Christmas sets in the new annual catalog you want to work with (pages 68-72).   I’ll use the random number generator to select a winner and get the package out to you once I’ve named the winner and you’ve provided the address.

*******

Thanks for checking back.  Hopefully you’ve enjoyed the background views and new ideas.   As a reward for getting this far along in the post here’s the direction sheets you can download for free for the Christmas projects from my hop post.    They may read a little oddly since they were created for my Christmas in July Stamp Camp where samples were available to see and I was right there to answer questions. 😀

Every Blessing – Shepherd Christmas Card  – PDF directions for Every Blessing card

Gentle Peace  – PDF directions for Gentle Peace Card

*******

Hugs and blessings,

Jean Fitch in pink

2 Responses

  1. Jean, you do such an outstanding job of showing your projects and explaining the technique used. TFS

  2. I loved the black twisted Every Blessing lighted card.

Leave a Reply

