WCC28 – Sending Wishes

Watercooler Challenge #28

WCC28 Buffy's color challenge

Buffy’s Color Challenge

Welcome to a new challenge.  This time Buffy has tossed out a unique grouping of  five colors and dared us to do our best!   After just a bit of grumbling…and a few questions about the sanity level she enjoys…hee, hee….we all buckled down to creating.  And I have to admit…I’m now interested in making a few more cards with this color combo!  I think too that I finally figured out their appeal.  They’re all tones found in Vintage creations from decades and possibly centuries past.   All together they reinforce that look and feel.  Yep Miss Buffy…you converted me. 😀

After a good bit of head scratching…and truthfully…a bit of looking at other entries on our Design Team site (I swear…at least a few of my sister artisans stole my first ideas!)…here’s my entry:

 

WCC28 - Buffy's Color Challenge - Sending Wishes  by Jean Fitch

What do you think?   Does this reflect a bit of vintage look and feel?   The more I look at it the more I think of my Grandmother’s handkerchief box.  Many of them delicate with embroideries or printed patterns of flowers and butterflies and yes…many with these same colors!   And keep in mind…my grandmother was born in the late 1800’s.   And her handkerchief box reflected the various years…and also included some from her own mother.  Now I’m wondering if I should have gone with a faux silk background to get even closer to those handkerchiefs.   Hm…maybe next time.

Supplies:

Stamps: Butterfly Basics, Floral Wings (hostess set)

Ink:  Pool Party, Wisteria Wonder, Pink Pirouette, Melon Mambo, Rose Red, Early Espresso

Paper: Pool Party, Wisteria Wonder, Pink Pirouette, Melon Mambo, Rose Red, Whisper White

Punches:  Bitty Butterfly

Other:  Big Shot, Oval Collection Framelits,  Rhinestone Basic Jewels, Dimensionals, SNAIL

The trickiest part of the card, I found, was deciding which color butterfly should hang out with which colored flowers.  Finally, before my head could explode I decided to simplify it and keep color with color.  Easy peasy.  So why did it take me most of a day to figure that out!

************************

Join the rest of the design team over at the Challenge blog website here to see the rest of the teams designs and to add your own with the linky doodad.  When you add your own design and there are more than three entries, one of you will be a challenge winner and have the option to place the winner’s badge on your own site.  Of course…you’ll also win bragging rights!

That’s it for this challenge.   Sadly we didn’t have a winner for the linky added projects last time.  We need three or more submissions to award that prize.  I hope this time you’ll join in the fun and grab a friend or two as well and get creating!  Check the challenge site for rules on competing for this and future challenges.

Hugs and Blessings to all my friends and readers.

Jean Fitch in pink

Leave a Reply

