Watercooler Challenge WCC21 – Happy Easter!

Happy Easter sunrise and ribbon

And welcome to the WaterCooler Challenge WCC21

For this challenge Susan Horr has provided us with a wonderful set of colors to play with and create projects.

WCC21 - Susan's color challenge

Join the rest of the design team over at the Challenge blog website here to see the rest of the teams designs and to add your own with the linky doodad.

Here’s my entry…can you see all five colors?  I couldn’t resist making a 3D Easter bunny project.

Jean's WCC21 - Bunny Box CASE  of Linda Parker

With the challenge going live on Easter Sunday I felt I had to create something fun and just a bit sweet (yeah I know…bad pun with all those chocolate kisses on view).  I’ll also admit I’ve gotten addicted to these bunny boxes.  I’ve made quite a few as gifts the last week or so.    I’ll share pics of those others next week.  Along with their stories and a handy cheat sheet for making the bunny boxes.

The basic box uses my favorite Envelope Punch Board tool.  The rest is all punches, glue dots and sticky strip.  Can you see the bitty touches of Calypso Coral and So Saffron?  The whiskers are Calypso Coral Baker’s Twine that is sadly now retired but the paper is still current and available to punch with the Itty Bitty Accents Punch.  Only two dots of So Saffron but Susan only gave us the colors and didn’t say how much of each we had to use.  LOL   This really is a paper and glue project with almost no ink and only a couple of stamps from the Crazy About You, a 2015 Occasions catalog stamp set.

If you’d like to make your own here’s the link to fellow demo Linda Parker’s excellent video tutorial.  She’s a demo in the United Kingdom.  As far as I can tell she’s the originator of this design.  Thank you Linda for sharing your most excellent project and generous free tutorial.

 Supplies:

Stamps: Crazy About You (Happy Easter) from the 2015 Occasions Catalog

Ink:  Bermuda Bay

Paper: Whisper White, Bermuda Bay, So Saffron, Pool Party, Sahara Sand, Basic Black, Calypso Coral Cardstocks.

Punches: Extra Large Oval (formerly Wide Oval), Large Oval, 2-1/2″ Circle, 1/2″ Circle, Scalloped Oval, 7/8″ Scalloped Circle, Owl Builder (small circles on feet), Cupcake Builder (smallest So Saffron circles), Itty Bitty Accent pak (heart and flower), Curvy Label

Other:  Envelope Punch Board, Calypso Coral Baker’s Twine (retired), Venetian Crochet Trim, Calypso Coral Subtles Designer Buttons, Glue dots, Sticky Strip, Two-Way Glue Pen

********************

I’m also submitting this project for the Friday Mashup Challenge – FM203 –  here.

This is the first time I’ve entered the Friday Mashup and I’m not entirely sure if it’s okay to add additional colors (besides neutrals) or not.  If so then this is both the color challenge and the Easter Critters challenge all mashed up.  If not then I guess it’s only the Easter Critters.  I was so excited to see that their colors matched mostly with our Watercooler Challenge colors.  Great minds think alike right?   Check out the Mashup I linked above and join in that challenge as well.

********************

One more WCC21 Entry

Since Easter is for me, primarily a religious celebration I thought I’d make a second card to add to the WCC21 Linky.

Jean's Modern Label Cross - WCC21

Supplies:

Stamps: Crazy About You (Happy Easter) from the 2015 Occasions Catalog

Ink:  Bermuda Bay

Paper: Whisper White, Bermuda Bay, So Saffron, Pool Party, Sahara Sand, Calypso Coral Cardstocks.  Best Day Ever Designer Series Paper (2015 Sale-a-Bration retired) Calypso Coral sheet.

Punches: Modern Label, Itty Bitty Accents Pak, Cupcake Builder (small circles)

Other:  Stampin’ Up! Paper Trimmer, Glue dots, Snail, Basic Jewels rhinestones, ruler, pencil

Quick and simple, easy to make and mail out to friends.  I think this one will be going out to a community of nun friends in my old stomping grounds of the Santa Ynez Valley.  They have a wonderful farm and a mixed community of nuns and laity living on the property.  All committed to a simple way of life and celebrating our Lord Jesus in the context of the Divine Mercy.   I hope they will approve of the simplicity of this card and the joyful colors of Susan’s color challenge.  Lucky for me the Catholic Church celebrates the feast of Easter for more than just a day…so when they get it next week…it won’t we late!  😀

The basic shape of the cross uses Brenda Quintana’s brilliant Modern Label Cross Tutorial.  Brenda is also known as Qbee and and she’s famous for Hershey Treat folded 3D projects of all kinds.  To me she is simply the queen of simple and fun and she freely shares so many of her wonderful projects.  Check her out.  I’ve got an entire Pinterest board dedicated to her brilliance!

I hope you’ll join the Watercooler color challenge and show us your own interpretation of the picture and link up to us.  Don’t forget to check the Watercooler Challenge Blog post here to see who was the winner of the last challenge submissions by linky artists.    Check the challenge site for rules on competing for future challenges.

Hugs and Happy Easter!

Jean Fitch in pink

15 Responses

  1. Adorable, TFS The talent in the Watercooler is always amazing.

    • Thanks Patti for leaving such a lovely comment. I have bunny sitting on my desk and cute as he is I’ve almost polished off all the chocolate kisses! Happy Easter my friend.

  2. Jean, I love your projects and appreciate the link to the cross card!

  3. Love the bunny, Jean!! thanks for sharing!

  4. Jean, both projects are winners. I love, love, love that Easter bunny and will be CASEing it. That card is beautiful as well. I would never have thought to use the Modern Label Punch to make a cross but it works so very well. I’ll have to remember that. TFS

    • Thanks Heidi for the kind comments. I’m so in love with the cross idea and the bunny box that I have a feeling you’ll be seeing more of them!

  5. The bunny is so so CUTE!!!! Love it..might just need to make one…before next Easter!!! 🙂

    • Thanks Sheri. Now that Easter is about to be behind us I’m switching to Hello Spring as a sentiment. Of course Happy Birthday and other general sentiments would work too!

  6. Adorable projects Jean, the 3D bunny is crazy cute! Thanks so much for playing along with our challenge at the Friday Mashup!

  7. Jean – your 3D bunny is adorbs! Apparently Friday Mashup thought it was a winner too! Congrats, friend.

  8. Your Easter bunny has such a sweet look and holds such precious cargo! Love all the details from the eye shape to the bow by her ear, oh and did I mention the chocolate! Cute, cute, cute. Thanks for the link too. I also really like your Easter cross. Purely genius using the Modern Label punch for the cross. That would never have occurred to me. Thanks as always Jean for your special projects. Hope you had a Happy Easter.

  9. This is so cute. Love it. Thank you for sharing your supply list.

Leave a Reply

