More Cards in the Mail from Convention!

My mailbox runneth over….with more cards in the mail from Convention.  Yep…that’s two out of the 2,984 that created that amazing Guinness World Record for Stampin’ Up!  You can read more about that remarkable achievement here in my previous post.

The friends I’ve made since I took up stamping in 2006 have been amazing.   Close, creative and inspiring.

Karen Huber who sent me this very special & delightful card is one of them.   Karen and I met through Stampin’ Connection (a demonstrator online community site).   And the rest is history.   A fun one involving wacky watercoolers and more!

Blooming With Kindness - Karen Huber - watermarked

After a quick troll through the catalog here’s what I’ve found for Karen’s ingredients.

Stamps:  Blooming with Kindness, Papillon Potpourri

Paper: Afternoon Picnic Designer Series Paper, Very Vanilla, Basic Gray, Crushed Curry, Pear Pizzazz, Coastal Cabana & Wisteria Wonder Cardstocks

Ink: Basic Gray & Wisteria Wonder & Crushed Curry (inside)

Other: Big Shot, Floral Fusion Sizzlit die, Small Butterfly punch, Itty Bitty Punch Pack, Circle Scallop punches, Basic Jewel Rhinestones,  Regals Candy Dots, Basic Gray 1/4″ Stitched Grosgrain Ribbon, dimensionals and adhesive.

This is one happening card!   And a labor of love on Karen’s part.  I can see why this was a popular swap card that’s turning up on some pretty cool blogs all over the Stampin’ Up Ether.   Thanks Karen for making me part of a historic event!     Glad you survived Convention even though it involved hobbling on a broken foot!

Here’s another record setting event Karen and many of my Convention friends also took part in:

Convention 2013 Service Project

While it didn’t earn a plaque or other memento it was certainly memorable as 5800 demonstrators came together to build and fill over 2,000 kits for kids who spend their birthdays in a local Children’s Hospital.   That’s a personal record for Stampin’ Up and a wonderful way to fulfill the 25th Convention goal to Be the Difference!    Do you see that wall art from the Children’s ward?   That’s a Wish Tree Stampin’ Up provided with die cut pieces for kids and their families to add their wishes to the tree on the wall in the Children’s ward.   Here’s a few more pictures showing what it’s all about.

Stampin' Up Wishing Wall Tree at Children's Hospital in SLC

Wish medallions on the wishing tree

Wish medallions on the tree

Stampin Up's wish on the wishing tree

Don’t those wishes blow you away?  It certainly does me.  Also makes me proud to be a part of a company that cares and gives back for and from all of us.   Stampin’ Up works during the year to keep the kids craft cupbards filled as well as providing special things like the birthday kits.   Way to Be the Difference Stampin’ Up!

My wish for you and your families is a joy filled life.   And if you find yourself in hospital on a birthday…I hope you find a box with banners and other celebratory goodies waiting to help you make it a better day.   Of course NOT spending your birthday in a hospital would be even better right?

Hugs and blessings – Jean

2 Responses

  1. Jean, you too make a difference. I’m so glad you became part of my life, even though we’ve never managed to meet in person—yet. I’m so glad you received those cards to make you part of the Guinness World Record. You certainly deserve your own piece of it. Karen made a wonderful card. I hope neither you nor I nor any of our friends wind up celebrating our birthdays in a hospital. If the worst happens, however, and any of us do, I hope that we, too “find a box with banners and other celebratory goodies waiting to help you make it a better day”.

  2. What a beautiful card!! Good mail is always happy mail!

    And yes, those wishes blow me away and made me tear up a little. Sick children pretty much tear my heart out!

Leave a Reply

