Pleasant Poppies in a Layered Fold

I don’t know how you design your cards, especially for an event, but for me it often starts with a basic color and a stamp set I’m determined to use.  In this case the returning color Calypso Coral was high on my list ( I just can’t seem to get enough of that color ) and of course that also brought poppies to mind.

Of course then the whole process came to a screeching halt as I really wanted to do something special and rarely seen before and my brain and my mojo deserted me both at the same time.  It happens that way some days.  😀

Then I remembered that recently I had come across a very fun tutorial on the Splitcoast Stampers (SCS)  website.  The Window Layered Fold tutorial.   It was love at first site!  Truly it was.   And that phenomenon repeated itself when I shared the project below at a recent Stamp Camp.    Then again when Pleasant Poppies (a Stampin’ Up background stamp) is involved what’s not to love.

Here’s the card in its folded position.

To give you an idea of its true size the folded card fits in a standard A2 envelope.

Poppy Window fold - watermarked

Now check it out opened up!

Poppy Layered open - watermarked

Is that cool or what!  Cooler yet…it stands up all by itself with no supports needed.

Here’s a close up of the side details.

Poppy Left detail - watermarked

Poppy right detail - watermarked

One of the truly fun things is that you can vary the center die cut for your texts and it gives a very different look to your project depending on the die selected.   The card looks tricky but is actually quite simple, just follow the steps.  If you have the new Stampin’ Up Magnetic Platform for the Big Shot it’s even easier yet.   I’ve added pictures of other variations at the end of the post.

I’ll also note that this same basic design works with any of our larger dies.  The Squares, Circles, Ovals and really any framelit that fits around the mountain plateau created by the basic folds and has several sizes for mats and focal pieces.

I found my favorite stamp sets for the side lights were Sweet Essentials and Loving Thoughts.   Both sets have nice long verses whose text styles work with a number of word sets – plus the sets have a few short words to go with the long if you prefer the matchy matchy look.

As you can see I kept the basic card background pretty simple and let the poppies speak for themselves.   Of course if you were of a mind to you could add more textured layers and pieces and ribbon and any other embellishments that struck your fancy.

Supplies (for all cards in post):

Stamps: Pleasant Poppies, En Français, Sweet Essentials, Trust God, Loving Thoughts, Fabulous Phrases, Lacy & Lovely

Ink: Crumb Cake & Early Espresso ink pads, Calypso Coral, Tangerine Tango, Gumball Green & Daffodil Delight Markers

Paper: Naturals White, Daffodil Delight, Calypso Coral Cardstock.  Crumb Cake Envelope

Other: Big Shot, Window Frames Framelit, Apothecary Accents Framelits, Oval Framelits, dimensionals & other adhesive.

Sample above made use of Trust in God, Sweet Essentials, En Francais, Pleasant PoppiesLacy & Lovely, Oval Framelit (for text window)

*****

Of course you know I’ll hook you up with a step by step and also a Word Doc of the SCS tutorial – though I would suggest you check out the video too on the SCS site here:

Pleasant Poppies Layered Window Fold Card – August 2013 Blog Post  – Word Doc Directions

Layered Window Frame Tutorial – Word Doc of the basic tutorial from SCS

*****

Here’s a few others including what the back looks like undecorated.

Poppy Window Layerd Card backside - watermarked

Keeping it all in the Window Frame family.

Poppy friends closed - watermarked

Poppy Friends open - watermarked

Poppy Friends Right Detail - watermarked

Apothecary Accents Framelit front and center.

Poppy Hello closed - watermarked

Poppy Hello open - watermarked

You’ll notice this last set fell afoul of an ink pad at last weekends event. 😀  Ah well…luckily the bases are easy to replicate and I can probably lift the panels off and reattach to a new, cleaner base.

*****

Thanks for sharing my little window on the world today.  Yep…really bad pun.  {grin}

If you don’t have poppies in your garden you can always add them to your cards.

Hugs and blessings on a brand new summer day.   – Jean

3 Responses

  1. Such a interesting and cool design and so beautifully stamped! Wonderful card!

  2. I love this card, Jean! Beautiful colors, and a very clever design. Your use of the En Francais stamp for the background is just enough to give the card the depth it needs. And I had to give a little moan of sympathy when I saw the ink splot on the last card. Oh, I’ve done that, too, and it’s so disappointing. Once I did it to a customer’s card! Yeow, talk about a moment to quickly find an embellishment to cover it!

  3. That is a gorgeous, “WOW” card, Jean!!! Wow!

    I really wish they’d bring back Poppy Parade. I didn’t care for it at all when it first came out, but grew to love it!

Leave a Reply

