Where are your borders… and everything but the colors are current…Floral Fusion love #2

Psst:  Have you heard…the 2013 Holiday Catalog went live last Thursday!  Make sure to download a copy and enjoy!

And don’t forget the carryover Holiday product found here!

Now back to our regularly scheduled post. {grin}

*****

What’s a girl to do when she has no graduation stamps?  Improvise of course!

Well that and check old SU catalogs for CASE inspiration and then head for the border with a guide to Fabulous Phrases.

Here’s what I found for my favorite stand by text stamp set – Fabulous Phrases – in last years catalog (not really all that old right?):

Fabulous Phrases - SU Card

All images © Stampin’ Up!

And here’s where I ended up:

A tiny tad tricky since I wanted one layout to work for guys and gals.  So Floral Fusion Sizzlit to the rescue!   Lets me use more guy type colors and soften it with a floral flourish right?  And bling…can’t forget the bling for the girls.  And curves…definitely need a few curves (did I mention I’m working slightly blue today…Bashful Blue to be exact…seemed appropriate).

Borders Score - Celebrate You in Crumb Cake

In case you are wondering…it’s supposed to be read Celebrate You, Celebrate Life, Celebrate Dreams.   I know…I shouldn’t have to explain but when I did this card at a Stamp Camp it turned out to be necessary.  Campers thought I left off the r on the you.   What do you think…should I send instructions with the card?   Sad when you don’t know if a graduate can read (or at least read the way I intend them too) don’t you think? 😀

Borders Score Celebrate You in White

And here’s the more masculine version:

Borders Score Masculine

I should probably mention too that this card is a great layout for using up scraps and leftover die cuts and punches from other projects.  If you are like me you have a box filled with punch cuts from those scraps you just don’t want to throw away with out taking tiny punches to them.  One other note about this use of the Floral Fusion.  I used the two smaller sizes on the die and added in the Itty Bitty punch pack matching punch so my flowers would be smaller than the one on the CASE of Carrie’s card here.

Supplies:

Stamps: Fabulous Phrases, Suggestions for interior: Pure Gumption, Word Play, Pursuit of Happiness

Ink: Bravo Burgundy, Early Espresso, Soft Suede

Paper: Bravo Burgundy (4”x11”), Bashful Blue (2-1/4”x 3-3/4”), Certainly Celery (3-1/2” x 1-3/4”  & 3-1/2” x 1-1/4”), Whisper White (3-1/4” x 1-1/2”)

Punches: Itty Bitty Shapes Punch Pack

Other: Simply Scored, Borders Scoring Plate, Jewels Basics Rhinestones, 3/8” Whisper White Or Crumb Cake ribbon, Big Shot, Square Lattice Embossing Folder, Flower Fusion Sizzlit, Apothecary Accent Framelit, Label Framelit.

Gotta love that Floral Fusion die.  Simple shape that layered really stands out.  And…it coordinates with the little punch from the Itty Bitty Punch Pack so nicely.   Classic shape I used to come across quite a bit in my Art History classes too.  For the masculine version I made use of the basic shape and skipped the floral frou frou.  Although now that I think about it…I think I did intend to put one rhinestone jewel on the Bashful Blue itty bitty punch piece.  Sigh…the best laid plans right?

And did you notice the embossed designs on the Bashful Blue larger layer piece?  Nope not a new folder or a new use for an old one.   It’s the Simply Scored Borders Scoring Plate!  How’s that for a mouthful.   I love the extended use that plate gives me for my favorite Stampin’ Up tool.   Well…favorite next to my Big Shot that is.  And that’s exactly where that Simply Scored tool is…right next to my Big Shot on my beat up German dresser I found when thrifting several years ago.  A small adult could almost sleep in the drawers that’s how big it is.  Makes for a nice work surface.

If you haven’t used the Borders Scoring Plate here are a couple of videos with tips and details on it’s use.  My favorite is Kay Kalthoff’s but Donna Griffith of Stampin’ Up does a nice job with the basics as well.

http://youtu.be/4nmomT1p_VQ – Stampin’ Up video

http://pinterest.com/pin/464644886525614204/– Excellent tips for success by Kay Kalthoff (if you only watch one…watch this one!).

If you’d like the extended details and directions here they are.  Feel free to mix up the colors to match your school or your stash or next Stampin’ up paper order.

Borders Celebrate You – Graduation – blog version – PDF Directions

And here’s a fun game I came up with for this stamp set a couple of years ago.  Yeah…I have way too much time on my hands.  LOL.

Fabulous Phrases game sheet

And my answers are here:

Fabulous Phrases Word List

Hope you had a day filled with fun and stamping.

Hugs and Blessings – Jean

One Response

  1. I really like how these cards turned out!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

