Will you be my sunshine for one last day?

You Are my Sunshine - Wood grain

(click any of the pictures for a larger view)

I know, strange title isn’t it?   But not if you want to purchase the stamp I used in my project today.   July 31st at midnight this lovely single stamps goes back in the cupboard and likely won’t be seen again.

The title of the post also reflects kind of how I’m feeling about the real sunshine in my mountain valley.

For the last few days we’ve been surrounded by smoke, smoke and more smoke.  The air quality board even rates us today as being unhealthy to breathe outside.  Wow…now that’s something we don’t hear often in my neck of the woods.   Not entirely sure what to do about that either, except stay inside with the windows and doors sealed and hope the air inside holds out.

There are 24 fires burning in Southern Oregon at the moment and a couple of them are within about 30-50 miles and making their presence felt with smoke practically down to the ground.   When you cool your house by opening up in the evenings that’s just not possible, so more than the fire is heating up right about now.   Please God…much as I love the sun (well in moderation – LOL) …could we please have some rain to wash out the fire and clear the smoke.  I think the 1,000 or so firefighters would really appreciate that right about now too.   I’m also thinking 1,000 of these cards would be well received by those crews too.  Anyone want to come stamp a bunch of these?  I’ve got the stamp, ink and dies if you’ve got the paper.   Or you can get the stamp for yourself and let your local fire guys and gals know how much you appreciate their hard work.

Here’s a few more in a variety of colors…including one that’s almost psychadelic as we used to say in the 60’s and will have you seeing dots everywhere.  Some have had their lattice upgraded with the Woodgrain Background stamp.  Can you tell I went for simple by NOT watercoloring most of the text stamps on these cards.  Of course if you want more sunshine you can use a Daffodil Delight Marker to add that extra bit of brightness.

You Are My Sunshine - Turquoise

I hope you’ll pardon the crumples in a couple of the cards.  They got sat on by a Big Shot and no I don’t mean a movie star.   Sad the things that happen to poor defenseless cards at a Stamp Camp isn’t it? 😀

You Are My Sunshine - Pumpkin Pie

Wouldn’t this Pumpkin Pie one be great for the Fall?

You Are My Sunshine - Daffodil Delight

Lots of bright primary colors on this one with the Real Read Polka Dot Designer Series Paper and the Bright Daffodil Delight and Gumball Green.  After making this version I dreamed and saw polka dots everywhere…on everything.

You Are My Sunshine - Pear Pizzazz

Here’s the list of makings and also a link if you want to download the same directions I shared with the Stamp Campers.

Stamps:  Sunshine (single stamp #132671, $5.95), A Round Array, Various sentiment sets for inside.

Ink: Early Espresso, Daffodil Delight, Gumball Green and Crumb Cake Classic pads, Daffodil Delight & Gumball Green Marker.

Paper: Gumball Green, Early Espresso, Daffodil Delight, Naturals White, Naturals Ivory, Pear Pizzazz, So Saffron

Punches: 7/8” Scallop Circle, Bird Builder, Itty Bitty Shapes Punch Pack

Other: Big Shot , Lattice Bigz die, Perfect Polka Dots Embossing Folder, dimensional

You are my sunshine Lattice Card  – PDF of Directions

Oh and in case you are curious here’s the inside:

You Are my Sunshine - Inside - Crumb Cake and Daffodil Delight

Not sure why my camera added that blotchy dot in the middle of the text but probably a lighting issue.  With the smoke obscuring my natural light I’m having a fun time with picture taking.

For those of you with botanical purists in your vicinity who want to know why you are showing sunflowers in June and July….tell them they are black eyed susans…calms them right down!  Yep…that came up at Stamp Camp.

To see what other Single Stamps are going away at midnight you can download the following:

Single_Flyers_Assortment3_US(1) – Assortment 3 Single Stamps

Single_Flyers_Assortment4_US(1) – Assortment 4 Single Stamps

That’s it for today.   If you love the singles stamps…don’t delay today is the very last day.

Hugs and love – Jean

One Response

  1. Jean, I’ve offered to share the rain quite a number of times, haven’t I? My air is quite pure because it’s well-washed. And your sunshine would be a welcome change.

    Seriously, love the cards. You couldn’t stop with one, right? I don’t blame you. I bought that stamp the first day it became available. I used to sing that song to my daughter when she was a baby and fussy. You’ve done a beautiful job with the lattice behind the stamp, too. Love it! This is one of those cards where, when you open it up, it’s beautiful on the inside as well. Thanks for sharing. And good luck with that foul air.

Leave a Reply

