It’s officially the holidays…have you punched something yet?

Today I have a quick punch tip/trick for you.  And knowing that the holidays are stressful for so many I thought I’d offer you an alternative style of punching to soothe and inspire you.   As a crafting enthusiast social worker friend of mine says…punch paper…not people. ☺

Here’s a PDF flyer with the above information on it.  One for you and one to share with a friend.  Or if you are a demonstrator you can print and share with customers.

Lace Ribbon Border Punch Trick Flyer  – PDF flyer with 2 copies per page

Okay, bad joke in the title I know, but I couldn’t resist, especially since I had a punch trick to share with you.   And it is Black Friday after all with all the pushing and shoving to get the best deal.    The crowds and bad behavior was one more reason I stayed home and shopped online in my jammies with Stampin’ Up’s Online Extravaganza!    I also played with the bits and pieces from the picture above.  Don’t you love it when you can get one punch to work with another to create something wonderful.  I love my new little blossoms/snowflakes from the center of the Lace Ribbon Border punch.   I can see my next experiment will be to play with the open spaces the flowers left behind.

*****

Lately I’ve been getting fascinated with Redwork all over again.  If that’s not something you are familiar with there is a  summary here that I found using Google.   Whether in embroidery or quilt form its a fun, nostalgic crafting idea.   So of course I had to create a paper version – probably the first of many – LOL.   When I first learned the basics of redwork embroidery my Mom insisted on the KISS principle.  Keep it simple, unembellished and the only deviation she herself made was to use an ivory or vanilla background instead of the more traditional white.   Easier on the eyes and less glare I guess.   Whatever the reason that’s my prefered background too as you can see – ignore the brown matting if you can…that’s the only way I can get my scanner to show a vanilla background.   Although now I come to think of it.  I could have used just a vanilla layer on a Cherry Cobbler base…hm…note to self…try that variation tomorrow.

This card also included another experiment for me.  Heat embossing with a new embossing powder.  Stampin’ Up in the new catalog came out with a new Cherry Cobbler embossing powder that was a perfect accompaniment to my redwork inspired design.   I wish my scanner had picked up the shine of this awesome new option.    Can you tell I’m in love with all things Cherry Cobbler?  Yep, my all time favorite of the additions to the color family from last year.  And of course the perfect color for Fall and Christmas and probably Valentines too!  Really…I’ll find a way to even make it work for Easter!    And if you like the look of the “Noel” image you can find that in the Many Merry Messages stamp set that’s currently on sale for 50% off during the Online Extravaganza that ends November 30th.  

In case you’re wondering where the little tree came from.   No Stampin’ Up doesn’t have a new punch.   They do however have a new die.   The Stocking Accents die from the Holiday mini has a number of fun accent pieces you can use with the new Stocking die or all by themselves.   Lately I’ve been cutting them out of felt and creating fun ornaments but that’s a post for another day.

 

 

 Stamps:  Many Merry Messages (on sale for 50% off during the Online Extravaganza)

 Ink:  Versamark

Paper: Very Vanilla & Cherry Cobbler Cardstock

Other:  Lace Ribbon Border Punch, 3/4″ Circle Punch, Big Shot, Stocking Accents Die, Cherry Cobbler Embossing Powder, Heat Tool.

 

Stocking Accents Die #124099 $17.95 Many Merry Messages #116586 $17.48 while on saleMany Merry Messages #116586 $17.48 while on sale

 

Many Merry Messages #116586 $17.48 while on sale

If you decide to stay home and shop with Stampin’ Up you can click my shop online button in the sidebar or any of the highlighted Online Extravaganza text.  The sale runs until November 30th and you can order online through my website, email me your order or host your own workshop to take advantage of the savings.   There are glimmer brads and ribbon I was itching to add to my card on sale but of course that wouldn’t have been in keeping with the simplicity of redwork design.   Ah well…another day…another set of rules will allow me to play with sparkle and shine.   How about you…have you punched anything today?

Hugs and blessings – Jean

One Response

  1. Cool tip with the punch, Jean! And your redwork is gorgeous! I will definitely have to try this!

Leave a Reply

