Quickie Post for a Quickie card

Hi All,

I needed a quickie enclosure card for a handknit scarf I sent to a friend the other day (sorry I forgot to take a picture of the scarf).  I had the scarf wrapped up and realized…hey…I’m a paper artist too… and what’s a gift without an enclosure card.  So I  took a quick scan of my desktop since I had just finished a swap and assembled something in about 2 minutes before popping the box in the mailbox.   I would have done a full card but that swap was already in the box and I thought a somewhat coordinating enclosure card would be just the thing to fold over the ribbon.  Besides I love what so many call scraplings – a small piece that uses the scraps we all have sitting around.   I don’t know about you but I always feel so creative when I dump some scrap on my desk and set a goal of creating something fun from basically nothing.  

 Hm..do you think God considered Adam and Eve scraplings made from what he had laying around?   That might explain a few things don’t you think?

Here’s the somewhat matching swap card in case you missed it – https://jlfstudio.wordpress.com/2011/03/18/silhouette-in-red/

And here’s what I came up with on the spur of the moment.   I think originally I was going for a globe, with kindness working out from the poles.  Of course I also needed something to make my round tab punched piece of  a retired SU Spanish paper go a little further and look a wee bit more globelike so I could put the bird on it too! LOL

Still, that bird is supposed to be a dove in theory and the Cherish sentiment means cherish peace (the dove), be kind to each other and the world.  Also letting my friend know she’s been a blessing as she cherishes me, is kind to me and does so much for our world, our friends and others. 

Quite a lot of meaning to pack into one small enclosure.  But then, I never could pack light!  Even as a backpacker!

Mary's Card - A Quickie Scrapling

Paper: Textured Real Red Cardstock,  First Edition SDSP, Crumb Cake C/S, Naturals White C/S,  retired Spanish SU DSP paper (sorry the name escapes me though its my fav paper for many things)

Ink: Real Red Classic

Stamps: Baroque Motifs, God’s Blessing (inside)

Other: 2 step Bird Punch, Small Oval Punch, Round Tab Punch

***

The inside had a text from God’s Blessings:

“Blessings brighten when we count them!

Thank You for blessing my life in such a wonderful way!”

(Thanks Mary!)

***

So…What’s on your desk?

Who doesn’t have time for a Scrapling!

Hugs and Blessings – Jean

Leave a Reply

