Christmas is here…………

Gloria in Excelsis Deo et in terra pax hominibus bonae voluntatis
( “Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace, goodwill toward men” )
  
Christmas blessings my dear friends and may you find joy in your hearts, upon your hearth and in your families whatever holidays you celebrate this year. 
 
The stars are bright out, the air is clear and cold and the feeling of anticipation is building.    And to the hush of awe and expectation is added the joy building in the heart and soul.   I have to say that Advent, its readings, traditions, candles and celebrations are my favorite season of the Church Calendar.   So much wonderful music and so many joyous tidings waiting to be shared and that prepare our hearts so perfectly for Christmas Day.   And oddly enough to some…for me, Hanukkah is a precursor of so much of this as well.   Perhaps its the shared theme of light and the waiting and the miracles common to both – I’ve never known.  All I know is that my menorah is right at home sharing space with my nativity and always has been.  And tonight Christmas has arrived heralded by angels, carols and bright starlight and candle flames (the snow is holding off for now – lol!).   I hope whatever traditions you celebrate have prepared a sacred space in your heart as well to nourish you and bless you and to create a place from which your own creativity can draw strength.
 
*****
 
Here’s a few of my favorite Christmas songs this season to set the mood.  Evie Tornquist has been a favorite of mine for decades now and trolling through YouTube tonight I discovered a treasure trove of her music video’s from a show on Dutch TV.   And Kathy Mattea’s Mary did you Know has been in my heart and on my playlist for some time as well.
 
Enjoy!
 
 
 
 
 
 
*****
 

Hugs and Blessings – Jean

One Response

  1. Have a merry and blessed Christmas, Jean!

Leave a Reply

