Remembering Janice…and the card she inspired

Hi All,  

Yesterday and for quite a few days the last few months I’ve been remembering my friend Janice.  Saturday at our World Card Making Day Stamp Camp we took a moment to remember Janice and I created a card for all of us to send to her husband David as well as writing a short tribute.  Thought I would share with you too.  All but the colors and paper are retired.  Sorry the image isn’t better or more true to life.  My scanner is imitating a doorstop at the moment and my camera gave up the ghost long ago, so only have this quickie photo Cheryl was good enough to take in a pinch at the event.  

Remembering Janice

Remembering Janice

Janice Stone was a long time member of our group of local stampers who recently lost her battle with Cancer.  Throughout her long fight, she continued to stamp and found great solace in that craft.  A true Artisan, her heart and soul were in every drop of ink or embellishment she applied to paper.  She delighted in passing on that love of the craft (among other crafts) to her grandkids and sharing the fruit of her work with all around her.  I was privileged to spend time talking and stamping with Janice as she worked her way through this difficult time.  And I was awed by her spirit.  Rarely did she give in to depression or disability when joining in our group events and the joy she found in spending time here she said made the other days so much better.  She planned her cancer treatments so that she could count on having a good day to come stamp with all of us.  

Sadly, Janice died a few months ago on July 27th of this year in the presence of family and with a smile on her face as she went to meet her Lord.  

Thanks Janice for sharing your stamping bounty with us.  – Jean  

 *****  

One of the last requests Janice had, was that we assist her husband David in disposing of her stamp collection and other crafting essentials.  Much of it went at a garage sale, some was set aside for the youngsters, but the cream of the crop Janice wanted to see in loving hands that would appreciate, value and use the tools.  

Linda, Cheryl and I are all involved in seeing her last stamping wishes carried out and seeing the funds go to her husband David to help cover some of Janice’s last expenses and any charitable bequests.   We managed to sell quite a bit at our recent event and some have gone in other venues.  I’ll be posting the remaining retired Stampin’ Up materials (stamps, punches etc)  here on my blog in the next day or so so please check back and help us finish fulfilling Janice’s request.  

Thanks for letting me share my admiration for Janice with a wider world.  She was a very self effacing lady who never put herself forward except in her art.   She did however find a place in the hearts of all who knew her.  

*****

Here’s the details for the card above.  I only wish I had some of Janice’s wonderful samples to show you.  I did feel her very much present though as I created this piece and I’m sure there is more than a bit of her in this small tribute.

Stamps: Words of Wisdom (retired)

Ink: Bravo Burgundy, Rose Red, Dusty Durango (retired), More Mustard 

Paper: Very Vanilla, Bravo Burgundy, Soft Suede 

Accessories: Big Shot, Birds and Branches Sizzlit Decorative Strip die (retired from SU though still available from Sizzix), stamping sponges 

The birds and layer piece were cut from Bravo Burgundy.  The branches from Soft Suede.  The sponging of ink was done from the outside in – in the same color sequence as I’ve noted the inks in the above list – overlapping as I went.  The background coloring actually looks quite different in real life than in the picture.  The camera seemed to peer right through the layers and lost the glow and patina of the original.  This design is inspired in part by a piece I saw by Tammy Doll on our demonstrator site’s Stampin Connection Showcase.  Though her project I  isn’t there you can see her blog here – http://www.stampinup.net/esuite/home/tammydoll/blog 

Thanks for looking in and joining me in remembering Janice. 

Hugs and blessings – Jean

2 Responses

  1. What a beautiful card, and a beautiful tribute to your friend! I’m sure it touched her husband so much. Take care!

  2. Beautiful and powerful, Jean!

Leave a Reply

