Dark & Dreary….this way comes!

Hi All,

Just a quickie post to show you a few fun & quick 3 x 3 Halloween Cards using the new Dark & Dreary stamp set from the Holiday Mini.   I put these together to showcase this Holiday Mini stamp set for today’s Stamp Camp.   The front’s of these cards could also be layered onto a small Pizza Box filled with treats and “Dreary” coupons :D.   Would also make lovely fronts for post it holders for colleagues “Dark” desks.

While I’m not normally a “Halloween” person this fun stamp set got my creative juices going and I decided to go a slightly different way than the traditional with the colors.

I was lucky enough to win this stamp set as Blog Candy from my sister Demo Jennifer Eby.  Thanks Jennifer!!  Check out Jennifer’s blog and all her wonderful and creative designs here.

*****

 

Supplies:

Stamps:  Dark & Dreary, Teeny Tiny Wishes

Ink:  Basic Black, More Mustard

Paper: Basic Black, Crumb Cake, More Mustard, Naturals White

Accessories: Word Window Punch, Corner Rounder Punch, Big Shot, Birds & Branches Decorative Sizzlit Strip Die (ret. from SU but still avail. from Sizzix), Sponge Daubers

Generally I think the construction of these are fairly self explanatory.   As you can see I was a tad too lazy to stamp the 31 on a different paper and find my circle punch so I just pressed the dauber more or less over the circle to highlight the 31 on the gate image card.

My next step with this fun stamp set is to try to recreate a neighborhood scene from my old stomping grounds in Buellton, CA in the Santa Ynez Valley north of Santa Barbara.

**

When I saw the Dark and Dreary set in the new mini I immediately thought of my old street in California.  I lived in an old residential area that used to be a walnut ranch and the crows seemed to think it still was.  We had huge old elms and other shade trees lining the street and the biggest crows I’ve ever seen used to congregate in the middle of the street right in front of my driveway and hold invitation only tea parties.  Invitation only you ask?  Yep…any crows not on the list got chased away (with extreme prejudice as the CIA likes to say) cars and people too!  Those crows not invited would dive bomb the group and drop walnuts from the few walnut trees still left.  One learned very quickly not to be in the vicinity least you get a walnut on the head…they drop them from such a height it was possible to get knocked out by a falling nut!  I might add that the crows made the cars move…not the other way around…quite a feat!
Now if I can only figure out how to show all that with the stamps in the set.  Maybe a tree from waffle paper with wanna be joiners sitting on the branch and the party in swing down below with the candelabra as a centerpiece?  Hm…crow sized teacups?  Any ideas people?
*****
 

That’s it for today.  As always if you want to purchase any of the supplies (or anything else Stampin’ Up! for that matter) click on my online ordering link at the top of the  right hand side bar then click shop now for the best prices.  This month only I’m offering a rebate for the cost of your shipping on all online orders over $50.  I’ll either PayPal you the difference or send you a check to get you started on your next order.   The Holiday mini is packed with goodies so download your copy (see the left hand sidebar) and get ordering today while the savings are still available!

Hope your weekend is anything but Dark & Dreary.  The sun finally came back out to play here in Southern Oregon and I’m off to Stamp Camp where fun, frolics, stamping creativity and  Bingo Cards and games awaits all attendees.

Hugs and Blessings – Jean

2 Responses

  1. Loved your cards, Jean! I also enjoyed reading about those crows! Too funny. You know, I have a thing for crows, I just love the shape of them.

    Have a great weekend!
    Jackie

  2. I missed the first two on Stampin Addicts somehow. My favorite is the second one with the Happy Halloween stamped twice. Great job with these!

Leave a Reply

