Fifth Avenue Floral Monochromatic

 

The loveliest masterpiece
of the heart of God
is the heart of a mother.

St. Therese of Lisieux

***

 

 

Becoming a mother
creates a relationship
with a new life
that can never be undone.

***

Hi All,

Whether you have children or not….In my experience every woman has the heart of a mother and should be celebrated for that on this day.    On the other hand if you do have kids…you’ve definitely earned the celebration – lol!   

I rejoice that my twins that I lost in a miscarriage 20 years ago are celebrating this day and everyday with their Grandparents and their Dad in Heaven.   And forever grateful to a good friend who convinced me that I’m a mom whether my children lived or not.  That kind act healed my heart considerably. 

I rejoice too in all my many and varied “other” mothers who’ve made my life a joy.   Over the years many wonderful women adopted me (figuratively), mentored me and loved me in various ways that made my life better.  I’m celebrating each and every one of them today too!

I hope you have the chance to share the day with someone you love.

***

Fifth Avenue Floral Monochromatic

Shsh…..don’t tell….this is the card I sent to my Mom for Mother’s Day.   Oh yeah…it is Mother’s Day….Hi Mom!

 

Stamps: Fifth Avenue Floral

Paper: Shimmer Paper, Very Vanilla Cardstock, Shimmery White Cardstock

Inks: Versamark – Reinkers used – Blush Blossom, Rose Red, Cameo Coral, Regal Rose 

Other: Gold Embossing Powder, Heat Tool, Big Shot, Top Note Bigz Die, Manhattan Floral Embossing Folder, Kraft (soon to be Crumb Cake) Taffeta Ribbon, Aqua Painter, Craft Knife, Paper Snips, Spray Bottle with water.

***

This is a fairly basic mostly monochromatic  card with the lilies providing the punch of color.

Started with a plain Very Vanilla card base.  Added a Very Vanilla Top Note die cut that had been run through my Manhattan Flower embossing folder.  Both steps accomplished with my trusty Big Shot.   The taffeta ribbon was also pretty simple though with one trick – I used my Craft Knife to cut a small slit in the Top Note piece and fed the ribbon through that so that the knot of the tied ribbon could snuggle up to the lily pieces.

The two lilies are from the Fifth Avenue Floral Stamp set.   Following the ever popular Reinker Spread (or Reinker Float) technique introduced by Crystal French I embossed the lily image from the stamp set with Versamark on Shimmery White paper, embossed using Gold Powder instead of the traditional Whisper White craft ink with Clear embossing powder.  Cut out each lily with my trusty paper snips from Stampin’ Up.  Misted with water and using an aqua painter with reinker drops I moved the color around then let the pieces dry.   After drying I mounted each lily with a couple of dimensionals and Voila!  a very elegant card.    Actually a very quick card as I had premade quite a number of these lily pieces for various other projects while watching a movie.  So mostly it was Big Shot time and assembly so pretty much a 10 minute card (shsh…don’t tell my Mom it didn’t take all day okay?).

***

I found basic directions for the technique used on this card at the following:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NLLtjGbWQdY  – Sharon Rogers Reinker Spread (also becoming known as reinker float) technique video

http://pattystamps.com/pattys_stamping_spot/2009/04/watercolor-roses-technique-and-video-tutorial.html – Patty Bennett’s video for the Reinker Spread technique

Awhile back I created a PDF with a description of the technique Sharon learned from Crystal French the originator that you can download here:

Reinker Spread Technique – Seattle Regional 2009 PDF 

***

That’s it for today folks.  Have a blessed Sunday everyone and don’t forget to thank your Mom’s for all they’ve done and do. – Jean

One Response

  1. Happy Mother’s Day to you too! Beautiful card!

Leave a Reply

