Stencil Playtime once again: Elegant Trio Decor Stencils

Hi All,

Yep…I’ve been playing with stencils again.  Here’s a few bits and pieces and a very quick card.

Here’s my favorite piece that resulted from playtime. 

I grabbed a 5-1/2″ x 5″ scrap of Ruby Red Cardstock laying on the craft table and using a Versamark pad and Versamarker (to get into all the nooks and crannies) stenciled the image added gold embossing powder and continued as usual then stamped the En Francais background stamp over top…..screeching to a halt….say what….!  Yup I did it backwards.  What I should have done was stamp first and emboss second!  If you look at the close up (click on the image) you’ll see a few smears from where I tried to wipe the embossed flourish clean of the black ink.  Didn’t work as well as I hoped.  On the other hand it did add an interesting somewhat antiqued look to the gold so overall I’m okay with my boo boo.  I haven’t quite decided how or where I’m going to use this piece yet.  I  really like the composition, color and style and given that Ruby Red is retiring I’m in a hoarding frame of mind until I find the perfect project.  I’m thinking background for a framed piece or possibly a scrap page.   Like I said earlier, this was playtime and when I’m playing I rarely end up producing a finished card.  It’s more a time to try new things – like gold embossing a stencil image.

*****

This was Cheryl’s suggestion.  Emboss a sheet full of stenciled images for later use.  So I did three and left some room for using a different stencil later on.  Again the hoarding thing didn’t want to use up the whole sheet of Cameo Coral…another retiring color.  Now I just have to decide how I’m going to use these.

*****

Elegant Trio Stencil Tent Card

 

Stamps: En Francais

Paper: Basic Black, Cameo Coral

Inks: Ruby Red, Versamark

Other: Kraft (crumb cake) Taffeta Ribbon, Gold Embossing Powder, Ticket Corner Punch, Sponge Dauber, Elegant Trio Decor Stencil, Big Shot, Finial Press Impressions Folder

Pretty easy to put together and this time I remembered to get the order right on the stamping and Embossing.

Started with a standard sized tent card base in Basic Black.  Inserted the front for the card into the Finial Press Impressions folder and ran it through the Big Shot.   On a 3-1/4″x3-1/4″ scrap of Cameo Coral I stamped with the En Francais background stamp and ticket punched the corners. 

To emboss the stencil:  I lightly ran my embossing buddy over the Cameo Coral square then I  taped down (using painters tape) the selected stencil from the Elegant Trio set.  Then using a Versamark ink Pad I patted the pad over the stencil area.  I then grabbed my Versamarker pen and made sure all the nooks and crannies were thoroughly covered with the Versamark ink.  Then I embossed as usual with Stampin’ Up’s excellent Gold Embossing powder and a heat tool.  Once the piece cooled down I sponge daubed the edge of the panel with Ruby Red ink, attached the panel to the front of the card base, tied on some ribbon and was done.   

Normally I would have fussed a bit more with added embellishments or layers but since this was made the night before a stamping event with the intention of showing off quickly  what else you could do with stencils – ie. Emboss with them – I left it plain and moved on.

*****

 

Elegant Trio Décor Stencils – # 118262, $9.95, pg. 11 in the Definitely Decorative Catalog insert.

Here’s what Stampin’ Up! has to say about this stencil set.

Transform plain into pretty with the varied images in our versatile Elegant Trio stencil set. Our stencils can be used on most surfaces so you can add an accent anywhere you can imagine–on walls, wood, fabric, and more.

■ Dimensions: 4-3/8″ x 2-1/2″

3 separate stencils – one for each image.

Stamin’ Up has quite a few wonderful stencils.  To see all the available stencils check out my online gateway to the online store (click the button at the top of the sidebar), choose shop now and then Home Decor and then stencils.  All of our SU stencils work well for cards, pages, furniture, tee shirts and so much more.  And of course you can emboss with them all.

One further note:  The current Definitely Decorative catalogs Expire June 30th and we don’t yet know what stencils or other product from that catalog and insert to the catalog will be continuing.  So if you love this stencil set as much as I do don’t wait too long to order your very own copy.

Of course if you already have it but haven’t used it yet….what are you waiting for…grab your stencil, your heat tool and your favorite embossing medium and get crafting!

Here’s a few links to some other stenciled creations by other talented stampers including a couple using our new Summer mini catalog Stencil called Mostly Vintage :

http://www.inkandinspirations.com/2010/04/stampin-up-summer-mini-sneak-peekmostly.html – Mostly Vintage Stencil

http://www.createwithconnieandmary.com/create-with-connie-and-mary/2010/04/mostly-vintage-gift-bag.html – Mostly Vintage stencil

http://www.createwithconnieandmary.com/create-with-connie-and-mary/2010/04/welcome-to-create-with-connie-mary.html – 2 projects – Elements of style and Mostly Vintage stencil

http://www.makeminestamps.com/2010/04/stencils-arent-just-for-home-decor-anymore.html – elegant Trio decor stencil

http://inkingaddict.blogspot.com/2010/04/stencil-fun.html – Smooch Spritz & Elegant Trio stencil

http://mirrorimage.typepad.com/caroleannes-1st-blog/2010/04/vintage-ornament-stencil-turns-into-a-scrapbook-page.html – vintage Ornament Stencil

http://dreamingaboutrubberstamps.com/?p=3143 – Elegant Trio Stencil

*****

Hope you enjoyed my playtime as much as I did.   Time to get cooking on a few more new projects and posts for you my favorite friends and readers.

Hugs and Blessings – Jean

One Response

  1. […] Any ink type will work with this stencil including the Shimmer Paints, Smooch Pearlized Accent Ink and of course our Classic and Craft inks.   You can even use Versamark for a Watermark image or add embossing powder and emboss as I did with the Elegant Trio Stencil here. […]

Leave a Reply

