Cards in the mail: Sympathy for Sandycat from dear friends

Hi All, 

Thought I would share a couple of handmade cards I received in the mail recently.  Good friends have been a wonderful comfort since my dear furface Sandycat was taken ill and died.  I’ve tried to guess on the supplies list or added a link when they were posted elsewhere. 

Click on the images for a closer look. 

This first card was sent to me by my friend and fellow demo Barb Story.  Barb is the same lady who shared this wonderful Stampin’ Addict Poem creation I highlighted here in an earlier post. I love our current set of In Colors and though I’m going to miss Dusty Durango I’m thrilled that Soft Suede has now been added to our new Color Renovation Neutrals Collection.   Barb’s card makes use of simple matted layering and the sponging and use of ribbon distributes the color in all the right places.  Simple but elegant describes not only the stamp set used but the card itself.   Thanks so much for sharing the love Barb! 

Barb Story's Kind and Caring Card

Probable Supplies: 

Stamps: Kind and Caring Thoughts, Teeny Tiny Wishes 

Paper: Dusty Durango, Soft Suede, Very Vanilla 

Inks: Dusty Durango 

Other: Dusty Durango In Color Ribbon, Modern Label Punch 

Barb’s tip for mailing:  “I fold my cards inside out to help cushion the embellishments when they go through the postage meter.” 

Great tip Barb! 

*** 

This second beautiful card was sent by Sharon Field, another friend and blogging SU Demo.  You can check out Sharon’s always inspiring blog here.  And her post about this and other cat cards here. I love the stark but elegant black,  white and gray  theme.  It also uses my favorite Night and Day DSP Paper that sadly retired with the Holiday mini from earlier this year.  On the up side though the paper is still available as a My Digital Studio Download and can be purchased in the Online Store for use with MDS or other graphics based software programs.  Though hard to see in this scan, in real life the layering and matting is amazing – some popped up with dimensionals for a wonderful textured card that isn’t too bulky to mail. 

Note: the kraft looking background is not part of the card.  To get my scanner to show the black and white reasonably well I had to use a darker backing piece. 

Sharon Field's C is for Cat Card

Probable Supplies:

Stamps: C is for Cat 

Paper: Whisper White, Basic Black, Day and Night DSP (retired) 

Inks, Basic Black 

Other: Black Grosgrain Ribbon, Silver metallic cord (retired) 

*** 

Lastly here’s a thank you card I made for Wicket to send to a dear friend (so technically that makes this a Card in the mail too!).  Since tomorrows Tightwad Tuesday is featuring this stamp set I thought I would give you a preview in advance with mine and Sharon’s card. 

 

Stamps:  C is for Cat, Fifth Avenue Floral 

Paper:  Bermuda Bay, Naturals White, Ruby Red Cardstock 

Ink: Bermuda Bay, Ruby Red, Black Journaling Pen 

Other:  Black Gingham Ribbon, 5 Petal Punch, 3/4″ circle punch, 1-3/8″ Circle Punch, Ticket Corner Punch, Big Shot, Finial Press Impressions folder 

Fairly self explanatory though perhaps I should add that the “starburst” under the C is for Cat image was created by layering two 5 Petal Punch pieces together just slightly offset from one another then popped up on a dimensional. The fish image from the stamp set was used on the interior of the card to outline a Whisper White layer for writing Wicket’s message (good thing I can transcribe cat!).

***

My thanks to Barb and Sharon for sharing their heartfelt sympathies and prayers.  Wicket and I really appreciated the time and care put into these lovely creations.  Hope you enjoyed them too.

Until tomorrow….

Hugs and Blessings – Jean

One Response

Leave a Reply

