Details: Manhattan Fifth Avenue Floral Trifold

Hi All,

And a blessed Sunday afternoon.  I was sitting out on the deck enjoying the morning sunshine, contemplating the world and came to the conclusion that Life is Good.  Not perfect but basically good.   Sunshine has that effect on me… 😀

Funny thing is those kinds of thoughts carryover and influence my art, my designs and all the other areas of my life.  I guess I was thinking happy thoughts when I came up with this card too.

I know I’m happy I figured out how to make these impressed (or should that be embossed?) tri fold cards.   I found the basic directions for all of the techniques used on this card using the following:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NLLtjGbWQdY  – Sharon Rogers Reinker Spread (also becoming known as reinker float) technique video

Awhile back I created a PDF with a description of the technique Sharon learned from Crystal French the originator that you can download here:

Reinker Spread Technique – Seattle Regional 2009 PDF 

http://pattystamps.com/pattys_stamping_spot/2009/04/watercolor-roses-technique-and-video-tutorial.html – Patty Bennett’s video for the Reinker Spread technique

http://pinkpjstamper.blogspot.com/2009/05/fifth-avenue-trifold-tutorial.html – Tutorial for the Impressions Folder Trifold used here.

*****

Manhattan Fifth Avenue Floral Trifold

 

exterior view

interior view

Stamps: Fifth Avenue Floral, Teeny Tiny Wishes

Paper: Shimmer Paper, Cameo Coral & Whisper White Cardstock

Inks: Versamark –  Reinkers used – Blush Blossom, Rose Red, Cameo Coral, Regal Rose 

Other: White Embossing Powder, Gold Embossing Powder,  Heat Tool, Big Shot, Manhattan Flower Impressions Folder, Scallop Trim Border & Corner Punches, Paper Snips, White Taffeta Ribbon, Craft Knife, Mat Pack

*****

While this card looks tricky it really isn’t too hard.  
Here’s the trickiest part:  

To Create the base card tri fold folder: 
Using a 5-1/2″ x 12″ piece of Cameo Coral cardstock I scored at 3 7/8 and at 8 1/8 on the long side.  I then placed the embossing folder so that the widest part of the flower was  lined up against the scoring line or fold of the card and ran it through the Big shot.  I then flipped the embossing folder (not the cardstock) so that the other “flap” was also lined up with the widest part of the embossed flower on the fold and ran it again through the Big Shot. I then used my SU Paper Snips to cut around the embossed flower images. 

I had intended to corner round the remaining center sections square edges but wouldn’t you know that little rascal punch has gone AWOL.  Hmm…since it’s a small punch I suspect feline enemy action – lol!  Time to crawl around looking under things!

Next step was to take my Craft knife and cutting pad from the Mat Pack to make two slits along the fold to slip the White Taffeta Ribbon through.   Hopefully my photo’s showing the open sections of the card give you the idea on this.

Next step was to create the Embossed Rose for the front of the card.  Unlike some of the previous cards I’ve shown I switched to White embossing powder from my usual Gold.  Now having rewatched some of the technique video’s I’d probably switch to their easier use of the White Craft ink and use of Clear embossing powder.   However at the time I was working from memory and we all know how that goes…..so do yourself a favor and watch the video’s or read my PDF and then go on from there.  The reinkers I used for these colors are in the supply list.

After all of the above I grabbed my still current Scallop Trim Corner Punch and the “now you have to wait until July 1″ to order Scallop Trim Border Punch to make my various layers or mats (still not clear on all those technical stamping terms but I’m slowly learning – ha,ha).   The Sentiment layer on the front was created by using a rectangle piece 1-1/4″x3-3/4″ and applying the Scallop Trim Corner Punch straight on to both ends.  I then stamped the text from Fifth Avenue Floral with Versamark and embossed with Gold embossing powder and my heat tool.  

Similar approach was used for the Happy Birthday sentiment from Teeny Tiny Wishes on the top of the center section except that I used the Border punch instead of the corner punch.  Starting strip for that measured 3-3/4″x1-1/4″ or thereabouts.  

The blank mat for writing my own note was a basic square 4″x4” with the corners punched.

All the various mats and layers were attached with my trusty SU snail tool and the rose was popped up on a dimensional.

That’s pretty much it.  Just add your note and tie the ribbon and you are good to go.  Fits fine inside a standard card envelope and didn’t require any extra postage (at least at my Post Office it didn’t – can’t guarantee what yours will do).

 ***** 

Here’s a few more versions by other stampers as well as other ideas for using the Manhattan Flower Impressions folder:

http://stampinbuzz.com/?p=682

http://www.loisschuerman.com/stamping_with_lois/tri-fold-card/

http://sluman.blogs.splitcoaststampers.com/2009/07/03/manhattan-tri-fold/

http://pattystamps.com/pattys_stamping_spot/impressions-die/

http://www.splitcoaststampers.com/gallery/showgallery.php?si=Manhattan+Flower+Impressions+folder

http://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=238192044017

*****

Enjoy the rest of your Sunday and may all your days be filled with joy, happiness and creativity.

Hugs and blessings – Jean

PS: There’s still time to enjoy the two blog hops I mentioned in my last post.  Time too to download the new Summer Mini & a wish list from my Scribd files and start making plans for summer stamping!  Don’t forget the May Scrapbooking specials either.  Even if you only make cards and never scrapbook you might like to pick up some of the stamp sets and earn yourself some free brads!

One Response

  1. Very pretty! Thanks for the detailed directions too!

Leave a Reply

