Fifth Avenue Floral: Manhattan Golden Glaze

 

Hi All,

Happy Saturday morning.  So many wonderful things to do and look at today.  

Yesterday two awesome blog hops/tours started.  The Stampin’ Addicts Summer Mini Tour/Hop (you can jump on board here at my pal Holly’s site) and the Royal Blog Tour (you can see the various tracks here) are up and running with amazing inspiration just waiting for you to dive in.  Trust me you’ll be seeing links from both on my regular blog picks and posts feature.

The other Good News is that the Summer Mini officially goes live today. 

To download your own copy as well as the Stampin’ Supplies list for the mini click here.

***

As promised a week or so ago here’s another in depth look at a card I posted just the basics on before.  Still loving the Cameo Coral though I think this design would look good made up in almost any of our 40 new or remaining Color Renovation colors.

Probably one of the easiest cards I’ve done in a long time.  If you have an embossing station and Big Shot station set up in your crafting area this may truly be a 10 minute or less card.  At least for the putting together part of it.  There is some drying time involved as I’ll explain in a minute.

Manhattan Golden Glaze

 

Stamps: Short and Sweet

Paper: Cameo Coral & Very Vanilla Cardstock

Inks: Versamarker, Versamark

Other: Gold Embossing Powder, Heat Tool, Gold metallic stretch Cord (retired), Gold brad, Scallop Trim Corner Punch, Crystal Effects, Paper Piercing Tool and Mat Pack

***

It’s hard to see from this photograph how truly shiny and glaze like this card looks in real life.  Adds some real WoW factor.

To begin…

I started with a Cameo Coral layer piece sized at 4″x5-1/4″.  Ran it through the Big Shot with my Manhattan Flower Impressions folder.   With the mostly clear folders you can easily see just what part of the image you want on your paper.

Next came the gold embossing.  I used the Versamarker to ink only the “love” portion of the “love you” stamp from the set Short and Sweet.  Sprinkled on my gold embossing powder and applied the heat tool.

Next step is a fairly simple technique.  To get the glaze look on the card simply fill in the wells created by the Manhattan Flower Impressions Folder with a thin layer of Crystal Effects.  You can use the tip of the bottle to move or swirl the material around for full coverage.  Then set aside to dry.  Takes about 15 – 20 minutes to dry if set in a warm place such as under a desk lamp.

Lastly I used the Scalloped Trim Corner Punch on the corner.  Used my Paper Piercing Tool and Mat Pack to make installing the gold brad easy –  then attached the textured layer to the standard size Very Vanilla card base and tied some gold cord around the card front.  

I have to say that last step was truly the hardest!  The stretch gold cord just doesn’t like to stay tied!  I’m still crossing my fingers that the new catalog will have the old non stretch cord back in place! 

I discovered a while back that I really like using the thin metallic cords for this Impressions Folder.  It doesn’t cover up as much of the image as regular ribbon can….besides a girl likes her bling…ya know!

To purchase supplies to make this card you can access my online SU store by clicking  here.

For questions or to schedule a time to learn how to make one of these yourself please contact me.

Have a blessed Saturday and have some stamping fun too!

Hugs and blessings – Jean

Leave a Reply

