Fifth Avenue Floral: Manhattan Tent Fold Card details

Hi all and Happy Wednesday morning! 

So…has anybody out there been instructed to build an ark yet??   If so could you save me a room.  I’ll even share with llamas (though I’d prefer sharing with the cats).   Just asking because here at my house we’ve had a few days of monster downpour mingled with monster winds.  Yeah I know Oregon is known for its rain but in my neck of the woods this is just a bit more than usual.  As my friend Cheryl said the other day…”Now this is what I call weather!”   And she made that comment without even seeing my porch furniture go flying off the deck (and we’re not talking the lightweight kind either!).    Luckily we’ve been spared the Twisters others in the country have had uprooting their lives but it’s quite a bit more than Wicket cat is prepared to deal with.  Have you ever heard a cat cuss??  Trust me they do! 

Anyway, last week I promised you details on some of the Fifth Avenue Floral cards I put up for a quick show and tell.  Here’s the first one with a few more how to’s.  And a reminder that the 20% off sale on this stamp set ends on Friday. 

Manhattan Floral Tent Card

Manhattan Floral Tent Card

Stamps: Fifth Avenue Floral 

Paper: Shimmery White Paper, Basic Black & Cameo Coral Cardstock 

Inks: Versamark, Gold Encore Pad, Versamarker 

Other: Gold Embossing Powder, Heat Tool, Big Shot, Manhattan Flower Impressions Folder, Black Grosgrain Ribbon 

*****

Basically this was a pretty easy and fairly quick card.   After cutting and scoring the tent card base in Basic Black I took a quarter sheet of Cameo Coral Cardstock and ran it through my Big Shot with the coordinating Manhattan Flower Impressions Folder.  I then darkened the textured flower image using a Versamarker.  This adds a watermark like effect and a tone on tone coloration that adds a bit more depth to the image.  I then followed up by taking my Encore Gold Metallic ink pad and lightly patted it across the raised portion of the embossed/textured  cardstock.  I then set it (more or less) with my heat tool.  

I don’t know about you but I have a hard time knowing and using the correct terminology for the various forms of texturing or embossing paper.   Anybody out there able to tell me the difference?  When is it considered Texturizing and when is it Embossing when you put paper through a big shot with either a folder or a plate?  Or are the two terms interchangeable?  Anyway…moving on….. 

To create the White Gold embossed Rose I first stamped the rose image from Fifth Avenue Floral with Versamark onto our SU Shimmery White Paper.   Dusted the image with Gold Embossing Powder and embossed with a heat tool.   This is also coincidentally the first step in the Reinker Float technique that’s been so popular this last year.   Some of my cards use that too.  But for this one I wanted the quiet elegance of the plain Shimmery White paper and the gold embossing. 

***

Tip:  If you plan to make several of these cards or think you will want to try the reinker float technique in the future go ahead and emboss a full sheet with several of the flower images from Fifth Avenue Floral and emboss all at once.   Once you have them cut out you can then decide whether to color them or not.   With premade pieces to pull from this will be a true under 10 minute card. 

***

The Shimmery rose was popped up on a dimensional then the Rose layer added to the Tent base and the 1/4″  Basic Black Grosgrain ribbon was added the top of the card for a quick finish.  For a slightly classier or more formal look you might choose to substitute one of the new Satin ribbons.  And of course there are any number of fancier bows you can tie.  My much damaged fingers have a hard time working with ribbon so I tend to go with pretty basic knots, etc. 

I left the sentiment off the front of this card and instead will place it inside.  I’m probably in the minority in this practice as I notice most stampers like to have a text on the outside as well as inside.  Probably my less is more tendency when it comes to most design. 

Of course you might want to add a punch piece with a sentiment or leave it off  until you’re ready to send the card. This leaves your options open.  If you make up some sentiment pieces up ahead of time in neutral colors it’s then easy to grab one and go. 

To step this design up a notch you might take your paper snips and cut along the Impressions folder roses border for a cut flower look…layer on another mat of coordinating or neutral color (Sahara Sand possibly) and then attach to the Basic Black card base.   Then add an embossed Gold sentiment in the open area.   Hm…I’ll have to give that a shot and post it when it’s complete. 

Here’s the main ingredients:

Manhattan Flower Impressions Folder #114517, $7.95

 

Fifth Avenue Floral - #113734, $24.95 - Sale price $19.96

That’s the scoop on this design.  If you have any questions please feel free to leave a comment or email me.  And of course if you want to take advantage of the 20% off sale or just stock up on Cameo Coral product before it disappears July 1 you can use the online store button on the top of my sidebar. 

Hugs and Blessings – Jean

One Response

  1. Hi my friend – sorry to hear about your weather. It really does seem that mother nature is trying to let us know something. We have had one of the warmest springs on record. In fact flowers that normally blossom in late May, early June are flowering. Heavens knows what will happen if we do finally get one of those late spring snow storms. It was in the high 80s a couple of days ago and then in the low 50s yesterday.

    LOVE your card. Gorgeous colors and I love the pop of the 5th avenue floral over the embossing folders.
    Hugs and purrs from the furry ones
    Jaydee

Leave a Reply

