Fifth Avenue Floral – To scallop or not to scallop…that is the question.

Hi All, 

Just a reminder that Stampin’ Up’s Two Step Stampin’ Promotion has only 9 more days to go. Same for the Occasions mini too. 

To see the promotional flyer with all the details click here.  

Fifth Avenue Floral, a personal favorite,  is one of the 4 sets offered at a 20% discount so of course I had to feature this gorgeous set at this month’s events.  After all if a friend can’t help other friends save money……. 😀 

So here’s my latest project in process…anybody else notice that most of what I share is always in process and rarely finished??  Not sure what’s up with that.  The sign of a wandering, over stimulated mind perhaps – LoL! 

Anyway….my question today is To scallop or not to scallop.   I’d love your input.  The other touch I’d like to add is some Champagne Shimmer spray but at the moment I’m fresh out…good thing the Shimmer paints have been carried over from the Holiday mini and will likely be in the upcoming new catalog. 

Fifth Avenue Floral - Lily - Plain

  

Fifth Avenue Floral - Lily - Scalloped

Fifth Avenue Floral - Lily - interior

The interior is the same for both though of course it could be customized a bit further. 

Several techniques are represented here.  The ever popular reinker float for one – This was my first attempt at this one and I think can use a wee bit more practice (actually though this is my first card with this technique the actual lily is about my 10th…ARGHHH!).  This technique was popularized at last years Seattle SU Regional for demo’s and created by Crystal French who refers to it as the Embossed Reinker Spread Technique though a few other names have popped up as well.  The reinked lily is popped up on a dimensional above another gold embossed plain lily. 

Sharon Rogers has an excellent video showing this technique here – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NLLtjGbWQdY 

Awhile back I created a PDF with a description of the technique that you can download here. 

Reinker Spread Technique – Seattle Regional 2009 PDF 

Another trick was to color in the “Kraft” Lily’s with a Versamarker pen for a watermarked tone on tone effect.  Looking at the card now I realized I could also color in the flowers stamens with either a dark marker or a golden one to add highlights and another dash of color. 

All the texts and flowers except for the interior one were stamped with Versamark and embossed with Gold embossing powder. 

The last fun trick to this card was the diagonal piece I cut using Stampin’ Up’s Table Top Cutter.   That cutter was my early Easter present to myself.  I’ve been drooling over my Upline Cheryl’s for some time now and finally there’s one on my own crafting table I can slobber over to my hearts content.  Makes wonderful clean cuts and has a built in grid that lets my trick work.  I started out with a basic card front (4-1/4 x 5-1/2) then turning the card point to point (rather like a lopsided diamond) I lined up the points on the 1-1/2″ grid line and cut.  Then I flipped the card to the other side. Lined up the points once again and cut again.   I’m sure there is a math type term for a shape like this but at the moment it escapes me…any mathmeticians in the crowd??    Once you have your shape you just stamp and emboss then line up on the card base.   

Then the crucial question comes….to scallop or not to scallop….I’m still waiting for your input :D! 

Add some punch pieces for a text,  add the text, some ribbon and voila a card! 

Stamps: Fifth Avenue Floral, Short & Sweet 

Paper: Cameo Coral, Basic Black, Shimmer White, Whisper White, Kraft (now called Crumb Cake in the new color groupings). 

Ink: Cameo Coral (inside flower), Versamark and Versamarker – Reinkers used – Blush Blossom, Rose Red, Cameo Coral, Regal Rose 

Other: Designer Label Punch, Modern Label Punch, Scallop Trim Border and Corner Punches, Gold Embossing Powder, Heat Tool, SU Table Top Cutter, Kraft Taffeta Ribbon, Aqua Painter, Dimensionals 

note: Sad to say Cameo Coral and Blush Blossom will be leaving the family the end of June.  The Blush Blossom marker will still be available but not the reinkers or paper.  Luckily this design will work with other colors too.  Yay!

Did you notice the other fun I  had with the scallop trim corner punch.  The text on the interior of the card was stamped on a rectangular strip and then I used the corner punch face on to the edges instead of the usual corners.  My original thought was to put this on the front but it seemed just a bit overlarge once I actually tried it. 

As I’m typing this I just had another design brainwave.  Even though I was trying to keep the layers to a minimum I could still add a little texture by putting the basic black base through an embossing folder such as the new Square Lattice ( from the Summer Mini that goes live May 1) or the Finial Press folder available right now!  Hmmm…I’ll try this and let you know how it turned out.  This might be the touch I need to feel completely happy about this card. 

Well that’s it for today’s card in process.  I’ll get back to tweaking and hopefully show you later how it all came together.

Hugs and blessings – Jean

3 Responses

  1. Love what you have done with this set, I have a class coming up and I am so going to use this! LOL!!!!

  2. My vote is ……SCALLOP ! That card is gorgeous. I litke many things about it – I too am finding a bit of a challenge with the reinker technique- one day I “forgot” to spritz with water, and wondered why the color just wasn’t spreading. Well, try again, right?
    I really like the gold on craft- had never tried that. Thanks for sharing this card- I really like it!

Leave a Reply

