Abundant Hope #2

Hi all,

Here’s another quick look at another Easter card I sent out using Abundant Hope.   I’ve really been enjoying this set from the Occasions mini.  This particular image also gave me a chance to pull out my Stampin’ Up Watercolor Pencils – my favorite form of coloring.   Something about the pencil in the hand gives me a touch more control than using an Aqua Painter often does with my slightly shaky hands.   The only downside I’ve found with these is that you can’t buy single replacements, and given the number of yellow daffodils I’ve been coloring in I’m fast running out on one or two of the pencils.   On the other hand I’m extremely pleased with Stampin’ Up’s Pencil and Crayon Sharpener.  I’ve used a lot of sharpeners in my day and so far this one is the best ever.  Possibly because it’s made in Germany?   I’ve always been impressed with German engineering  – not to mention their Gourmet cooking knives.  Hmmm…maybe the same steel is used in the sharpener?

Ah well, enough musing and on to the card….

Abundant Hope Spotlight Card

This basic tent card uses several of my favorite things – clear mount stamps, watercolor pencils, new punches and of course black gingham ribbon for that touch of elegant country informality.    The circle punched overlay set up on a dimensional makes for the perfect spotlight.  Granted most spotlights pop a bit of color on top of a monochromatic image but this one just called for a bit of color on color so instead I’m focusing on the dimensionality it gives to the image without requiring me to spend an inordinate amount of time cutting out individual flowers with scissors.

Stamps:  Abundant Hope (Occasions mini)

Paper:  Naturals White, Garden Green, Bravo Burgundy Cardstock

Ink: Bravo Burgundy (texts and scrolls only)

Other: 1-1/4″ Circle Punch, Scallop Trim border punch, Watercolor Pencils, Blender Pen, Black Gingham Ribbon

The Daffodils were “dry” colored with the Watercolor Pencils then gone back over with the blender pen.  And looking at it now I think the next version of this I’ll also scallop punch the Bravo Burgundy mat for overlapping layers.

Hope your week is going well and that Easter joy is still singing in your heart and soul.

Hugs and blessings – Jean

2 Responses

  1. Hi Jean! This has to be one of the prettiest cards I’ve seen with this stamp set. Seriously – it’s gorgeous!

  2. hugs, Jean… I know you’ve had a rough week. I hope you’ll accept my sunshine award… I picked you because you need some happy sunshine in your life. You’ve been a wonderfully supportive of my blog, and I want everyone to know that… details on my blog later this evening… and a link to you too!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

