November Playtime Continued….

Hi All,

Happy Monday!  As promised here’s another peek inside my recent play day.  Perhaps this should have been titled – Got Punch…got card!   Especially since my Scallop Circle Punch got such a workout.   My Big Shot is sulking in the corner and the Punch is muttering things like…Big Shot…Who needs a stinkin’ Big Shot…and…now who’s the Big Shot huh??  

Have to say the Frugal side of me is cheering the $15.95 punch versus the $99 big black machine but the creative side says…nope… I love all my children…uhm..tools…equally but my Big Shot just keeps stealing my heart with its versatility and range.  Sorry Punch but until you can cut 5+ sheets at a time, emboss on a dime and still crush a bottle cap… I’m afraid the Big guy wins.  But don’t despair we’ll be getting together for some intensive ornament making time really, really soon…okay?

*****

Remember these Card Candy flowers I showed you all a while ago here.

DCP01103_edited

…well now I’ve used one!  This feels like a Sesame Street or cognition quiz…which one is least like the others!  Yep…that’s the one I used!  Hah!  No surprise there!

DCP01171

DCP01173

DCP01172

DCP01174

DCP01183

As you can see in this last photo I created a window for my flower using the Scallop Circle Punch.  Since we don’t yet have this shape in a Mover’s & Shapers die my placement choices are a tad limited.  You’ll also notice that in the inside shot I still don’t have the placement for the stem and leaves image from True Friend quite down. 

The placement for the flower so it works with the window is a bit tricky and I didn’t quite estimate it’s size correctly when I stamped the base.  I did however highlight the leaves etc I stamped with Soft Suede with the gel pen so it stands out a bit better than it otherwise might.   I also used Versamark to create the watermark image background with the flourish stamp image from Season of Joy.   I haven’t quite decided what sentiment to add to the inside so will wait for inspiration or the right occasion.   The rest is, I think, pretty self explanatory.

Tip:  To add emphasis, interest and contrast that will make any image stand out from the background consider highlighting or filling in portions or your image with our white gel pen.  The white really glows against darker colors of cardstock and ink and adds a bit of dimensionality to any image.

Supply List:

Stamps: True Friend, Season of Joy

Inks: Soft Suede, Bermuda Bay, Versamark

Papers: Bermuda Bay, Real Red (textured), Naturals White, Soft Suede

Other: Gold Brad, Dimensional, Boho Flower Punch, Scallop Circle Punch, 5/8″ Real Red Grosgrain Ribbon, Red Gingham ribbon, White Gel Pen

*****

I hope your week is starting off well…Saturday’s Christmas Jingle SAS event when off wonderfully  though sadly without me (gotta love having partners who don’t panic if seizures keep me away).   I’ll hopefully have some pictures to share of Saturdays cards that my partner Linda created later this week.

Find some time to stamp this week and the week will fly by assuming you like time travel :D.  Thanks once again for stopping by my corner of blogland.

Hugs and Blessings – Jean

One Response

  1. I had to laugh as I read about your big shot sulking in the corner! They are such versatile tools and do take over the stampin’ room in all their glory and possibilities!

    I know… perhaps we should have a ‘name Jean’s Big Shot’ contest… guys name their cars, why can’t we name our toys?

    Would love to come to play day.. wish I lived closer! Looks like a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

