Sundays Rambling Rogue Thoughts: All Creatures Great and Small

 

Hi All,
 
What will that crazy cat decide to like next?  Bells!  Yup, Sandycat is bellstruck (sounds like there might be a bell related pun in that last bit).  I was surfing about looking for the text/lyrics  for O Christmas Tree – not too surprising given all the trees I’ve been making – when I came across a site with MP3 files of church bells and guess who was fascinated.  Yup, Miss Whiskers herself!  Certain files brought forth ginormous purrs, icks and a dazed expression. Others brought looks of consternation and flicking ears.  The one that seemed to be most requested for replay by her majesty was a beautiful version of All Things Bright and Beautiful.  Do you think she knew the rest of the quote…All things bright and beautiful…all creatures great and small…all things wise and wonderful…the Lord God made them all.  Or was she influenced by the DVD’s of the old BBC series All Creatures Great and Small about vet James Herriot.
 
Got me thinking so I had to Google the full text of this lovely hymn and thought I would share it with you.
All Things Bright and Beautiful

Cecil Francis Alexander 1818-1895

All things bright and beautiful,
All creatures great and small,
All things wise and wonderful,
The Lord God made them all.

Each little flower that opens,
Each little bird that sings,
He made their glowing colours,
He made their tiny wings.

The purple-headed mountain,
The river running by,
The sunset, and the morning,
That brightens up the sky;

The cold wind in the winter,
The pleasant summer sun,
The ripe fruits in the garden,
He made them every one.

The tall trees in the greenwood,
The meadows where we play,
The rushes by the water,
We gather every day;–

He gave us eyes to see them,
And lips that we might tell,
How great is God Almighty,
Who has made all things well.

All things bright and beautiful,
All creatures great and small,
All things wise and wonderful,
The Lord God made them all.

Somehow living in the country as I do these words have even more meaning for me.  Especially with all the rivers and hills that surround and run through my little pocket of heaven that is the Rogue Valley and the Applegate in particular that sits right at my doorstep. 

This seems to have been a week for hymns and carols for some reason.  Maybe because of all the creativity that’s been happening here and all the Christmas ideas percolating through the design mind.  As those of you that follow my blog know I’ve been going stencil crazy and for some reason stencils and Christmas just go together for me.  Maybe because my mom used to let me stencil Holiday images on the house windows when I was a kid.  Didn’t have much in the way of drawing talent back then (still don’t for that matter) so stencils were my best friends when it came to artwork.  Well that and potato stamps.  I loved carving up potatoes or using metal cookie cutters on them and then scooping out the interior space for a perfect stamp – star images were my favorites.  Add ink and Voila!  Just don’t leave the potatoes sitting around in dark or out of the way places – trust me you don’t want to know what happens to them. 

I hope you’ve all had a fun and relaxing weekend as we begin the long coast into Thanksgiving and Christmas.  Amazing that just yesterday it was July and I was complaining about the heat and now my poor old bones are feeling the cold and I’m praying for sunshine most days.  Hmm…guess I’m just never satisfied with what God sends…I’ll have to work on that…after all there is a time, a reason and a season under Heaven for all things.  Nope not a quote just my own odd paraphrase of a couple of familiar sentiments.

May blessings, hugs and lots of stamping love fill your lives this coming week and warm your heart and soul.

Peace and Joy my friends – Jean

 

Leave a Reply

