Christmas Tree Stencil Mania goes 3D

Hi All,

 Now I have a 3D tree to go with the Pop up trees who’s stencil created the 2D trees I used to create the 3D tree…a perfect circle of creation don’t you think?    I considered titling this post…one 3D tree begets a 2D -3D tree?  Decided that would be too confusing!  😀

Many of you commented or emailed me with many kind comments about the Christmas tree stencil project from last week (see here) so I thought today I’d show you a 3D creation to match the card.   Using the same Baroque Border wheel and Old Olive sponging I created this.  And looking at this picture and the card he’s supposed to match (not sure why but most trees are he’s in my book) I realize now I totally forgot to put the loop of red gingham ribbon through the top to hang this little goodie by.  Oops!  Oh well luckily the tree pulls apart somewhat easily (I used Dotto for this prototype) so I can go back and add it in.

DCP01098_edited

He was created to match this card:

DCP01068_edited

Here’s a few more shots you can click on to enlarge:

DCP01097_edited  DCP01096_edited DCP01095_edited

This little guy was relatively simple to make and the finished size is about 2/3 that of the full die cut tree from the O Christmas Tree die.

To make this 3D tree you need 5 single tree pieces.   Starting with a piece of Very Vanilla cardstock cut up into (5)  3-1/2″ squares, and using the stencil from the smaller tree piece, I ran my Baroque Border Wheel across the pieces and then sponged in the outline with Old Olive Classic ink.  Of course you can stamp with whatever image strikes your fancy as well or in place of a wheel.   To step this design up you might want to emboss the wheel image so it’s a bit raised and shiny.   

Once done with wheeling and sponging I then used my paper snips to cut along the edges of the trees to free them from the surrounding paper.   I then stacked the pieces together and tried to match up the cuts and make any trims or adjustments needed.   Next the tricky part.   Scoring the trees down the middle.  I used my Trimmer and bone folder to accomplish this then folded the trees in half (inked sides together).  Then glued side to side to side….you get the idea (hopefully).    One note.  If you want embellishments on the trees such as brads, felt flowers, pieces from the pretties or hardware kits you will want to attach those before you glue the pieces together so any brad backs etc. will be hidden.  Since this is a prototype (yeah I tend to rush to market before the pretty ones are done – lol) I didn’t bother with any ideas except the aforementioned ribbon that I forgot in my excitement.  That’s pretty much it other than sitting back and admiring your handiwork – As Jan Tink would say YILM  (yes I love myself)!  Even more I love the creator of this die that gave me the stencils to work with – Thanks Karen!

Tip:  If you don’t have this die or stencil you can create trees using this same method (cut 5 and score down the middle, fold and glue) using triangles (see page 161 in the catalog) or a free hand drawn tree (see the cover of the Holiday Mini).   Stampin’ Up has provided a template for the Holiday Mini tree to their demo’s on the demo web site (pattern library) so ask me or your own demo for a copy if you want to play with this technique.  Of course if you are feeling creative you can always draw or cut your own freehand (for symmetry fold a piece of paper in half and cut or draw then open back up after you’ve cut out your pattern)!

Here’s the Supplies List for my Tree:

Stamps/Wheel: Baroque Border standard wheel

Inks: Real Red, Old Olive Classic Inks

Paper: Very Vanilla Cardstock

Other: Paper snips,  Homemade stencil template from negative image of O Christmas Tree Pop up die cut, Adhesive of choice, Stamping Sponge, Wheel Handle and ink cartridge, bone folder and Trimmer (for scoring)

That’s it for today.  Go create yourself your very own forest then make someones day and gift them along.  This tree and the pop up trees from the original O Christmas Tree die are perfect gifts for soldiers away from home, folks with no room for a tree, Nursing Home and Hospital Patients and of course as table decorations for parties, church events and more.

I might also add that it is possible (like with my pumpkins from earlier in the week) to fold these trees flat for mailing if it’s done carefully – if you do, make sure you let the person receiving it know to pull it back out to its full 3D glory.

Until next time…..

Hugs and Blessings my friends – Jean

One Response

  1. Hi my friend
    I’m loving your 3D creations. They are so creative – and useful. I love the idea of putting them on a natural tree. There’s something really vintage about your trees that is so appealing. Now… if only I could have a Christmas tree in the house, I could copy this idea and enjoy them… However, the furballs and Christmas trees…. they just don’t mix! Well.. I just have visions of Bailey on top of the tree eating the Angel…. and we just can’t have that!
    hugs
    jaydee

Leave a Reply

