Flowers as card candy

Hi All,

Card Candy what’s that? 

Well I don’t have a dictionary definition for you but anything premade that can be added later to embellish a card counts a card candy in my book.  Many SU demonstrators make up baggies of such items to give away as door prizes, order incentives or hostess gifts.  Items that work for this might also do double duty as tags for holiday gifts or to hang on a tree.  Layered pieces stamped and colored or inked in some way ready to drop on a card, flowers such as I’ve made today or anything that can be used to step up or create a quick card.  

Here’s some pictures of Card Candy packets my Upline Cheryl recently created as order incentives. Most of these were made from scraps and bits of leftover die cuts and punches.  Click on the images for a larger image.

Oct28003Oct28005Oct28006

Here’s the set of flowers I created the other night.   I’m not entirely sure what I’ll use them on but I just had to make them!  After following Joanne Mainly, an English SU demo on her blog Mainly Flowers I’ve been fascinated with creating more 3D type flowers with my punches.  If flowers are your thing go check out her blog and tutorials.  If I can do these anyone can – trust me on that.

DCP01103_edited

Once again my camera and cropping blurred these a bit.  The stamp used was the flower from Baroque Motifs and the inks and paper for most of these are Rich Razzleberry and Very Vanilla with Gold Brads in the center.  The red flower used Real Red Textured Cardstock and Naturals White.  There are also a couple of small flowers cut from Cerise DSP (retired).  Basically I used a scallop circle punch sponged the edges and some centers just a bit then cut slits in towards the center from between all the scallops then curled by hand just a bit. same with the other layers cut using the Boho Flowers punch.  glued all the bits down and then pierced the center with my SU Piercing Tool and Mat Pack and attached the brad.  In Real Life they look much more 3 D and the paper curling is much more evident.   Wicket was so taken with them that I got this picture of her….

DCP01092_edited

She bypassed the pumpkins and the trees and went right for the flowers.   Hm…not sure what that means…she does have an affinity for the Rich Razzleberry products but this is a more intense reaction than her usual.   Always possible the plate of cheese sitting on the side of my desk was also involved though :D!   He,he,he!

If you find yourself dieting at least you can get busy with some card candy right?  That’s where I’m headed now.  Got me a paper sweet tooth…..to go with my stencil mania!

Hugs and blessings – Jean

2 Responses

  1. Oh how cool! These are very pretty, Jean!

  2. […] Remember these Card Candy flowers I showed you all a while ago here. […]

Leave a Reply

