Stencil Playtime…continued

 Hi All,

I’m back with a few more pics from my stencil playtime this last week.   And already ideas are stirring for more stencil mayhem and madness (hee,hee,hee).  I’ll give you a hint…the O Christmas tree die has stencil possibilities!  The pictures below also have a hint about a future post.  I’ve been creating a flock of trees.  I suppose that should really be a forest of trees but with the 3D branches that swoop somehow birds come to mind more than forests.

DCP01044_editedThis is another stencil card using the ornament punched/Movers and shapers stencil I created and showed last Wednesday on this post.  This time I stenciled in two then with the stencil still in place to act as a mask for the rest of the card I overstamped with the flower from Baroque Motifs.  Then created and punched out a third ornament to set up on a dimensional and added the greeting and some grosgrain ribbon and Voila a very quick and easy card.

 Supplies:

Stamp Set:  Many Merry Messages, Baroque Motifs (flower)

Ink: Creamy Caramel, Real Red Classic Inks, Creamy Caramel Marker

Cardstock: Kraft, Naturals White

Accessories: Gold Brads, Real Red 5/8″ Grosgrain Ribbon

 DCP01042_edited

Supplies:

Stamp Set:  Many Merry Messages, Baroque Motifs (flower)

Ink: Creamy Caramel, Real Red Classic Inks, Creamy Caramel Marker

Cardstock: Real Red, Naturals White

Accessories: Gold Brads, Real Red 5/8″ Grosgrain Ribbon

 *****

We interrupt this post for a word from todays furry supervisor Queen Wicket:

DCP01047_editedDear Stampers,

Are you aware of the impact on felines when you spend time stamping and taking pictures of stamping and then uploading and blogging about stamping??   That all means no playtime for us, late meals and tardy policing of the litter box.  This insanity must stop or we will be forced to take over the world!   Or at the very least may lead to destruction of all paper related goods and the electronic boxes that sit on our favorite napping spots.  Oh and one more thing.  No taking over the sunny spots with your camera’s and crazy paper concoctions until naptime is over….okay?

*****

Okay back to the post now that Wicket has gotten that out of her system.

DCP00960My wonderful Upline and friend Cheryl when she got her new Tulipe die cut out a set of stencils from Window Sheets for each of her downline to play with.   Sadly it sat more or less neglected until just recently – mostly because it kept disappearing!  As you can see from the photo it blends in quite easily almost anywhere!  And it slips in between pages too.  Well it finally reappeared and here’s a couple of sets of experiments I made with it.  Oh and a picture of it cut from paper so you can see the shape a bit more easily.

DCP00962 All of the following cards used either Bermuda Bay (one of the new in colors) or Naturals White for the base.  The Bermuda Bay cards used Dusty Durango & Bermuda Bay ink and the Natural White cards used Real Red and Always Artichoke ink.  All stenciling was done with sponge daubers applied in a circular motion with light strokes. 

Tip:  I discovered that older well used sponge daubers worked better than bright shiney new ones.  The newer ones had a tendency to suck up too much ink and would leave dark splotches.  The older more ink stained, slightly worn out ones applied the ink more evenly so a word to the wise get those daubers messed up in a hurry for best results – lol!

DCP01007

Here was the first test case.  Plain simple stencil work with no backgrounds or ribbons, etc.  Just a pure color and placement test.  Part of my design process is to start simple and then move on.  Even simple works quite often and I can always go back and glam it up with embellishments.   Probably goes back to my weaving and knitting where one generally makes test samples before embarking on the finished product.  Luckily paper is much cheaper than yarn!   One of the things I love about this Tulipe stencil is the Williamsburg Colonial feel to it.  Though I suppose I’ve also seen it in Scandinavian textiles as well. 

DCP01005

The next step was to add a background before stenciling.  For those of you that know me you will know that I have a thing for “natural” so of course I tend to reach for the retired “Weathered” background stamp quite a bit.  Since this card design is a work in progress I’m not too worried about working with retired stamps.  I can always rework it with current stamps for SU events.  But for my cards that I sell or send I tend to be a whole lot less fussy about the current status of stamps.

DCP01004

The next version made use of the Curly Label Movers and Shapers die and a different placement of the stencil and background stamp.  Tent cards of one size or another are probably my favorite style of card for some unkown reason.  Probably goes back to my childhood when I used to make tents any and everywhere.  Give me a couch, a few blankets and voila you wouldn’t see me for days.   I have to say my Mom was a pretty good sport letting me leave my tents in place and even eat some of my meals in them.  Very cozy!

This card also used a stamp from Friends 24-7 for the text.  I’m planning to send this on to a friend having brain surgery this week ( thus the Here for You sentiment) after I add a few embellishments.

You’ll also see if you click on the picture for an enlargement that I made the typical rookie mistake of stamping across the closed card with my background stamp which left weathered stippling in the window area.  After kicking myself I looked at it some more and decided I liked it after all.  That’s my story and I’m sticking to it anyway :D.   It does look kind of cool when the card is open to the inside.  Generally though you will want to open the card out flat on a stamping surface and then apply the background stamp to keep the inside pristine.

This last version is my attempt at a current product only version.  I used the Big Shot Texturez Plate from Kit #4 well inked with Soft Suede as a background stamp.   I simply inked the plate directly with the Soft Suede Ink pad then leaving the plate on the table placed the paper face down across the plate and using a scrap sheet of paper rubbed gently with my hands (you could use a brayer too) to make sure I got the full imprint.  I then stenciled and stamped as before and added a short length of Kraft Taffeta Ribbon for a bit more interest.  I can see know though that I forgot to trim the tails.  Oops.  Oh well keeping it real here folks.  And for me its all about sharing the creative process since I know all you  long time stampers will put your own “stamp” on your own versions (pardon the pun – it was just to good to pass up :D).

DCP01001

Supplies: 

Stamps: Friends 24-7

Paper: Bermuda Bay Cardstock

Inks: Bermuda Bay, Dusty Durango, Soft Suede (for background only)

Accessories: Kraft Taffeta Ribbon, Big Shot, Curly Label Mover and Shaper die, Texturz Plate kit #4, Sponge Daubers, Tulipe die cut stencil using a window sheet.

One other thought about this card is that instead of stenciling you could cut out the Tulipe pieces in both Bermuda Bay and Dusty Durango and attach them directly to the paper and bypass the messy ink stage completely.   Hm…might have to give that a try just to see the difference.  Not sure it would be as much fun as getting inky though.

*****

Here’s a quick glance at a more Christmas like version using the traditional colors of Red and Green.

DCP00974

 Once again I started plain though I did add a bit of ribbon, a brad and a tag using the same trick I mentioned last Wednesday to get a two color image from one single stamp image.

Supplies:

Stamps: Holiday Best

Cardstock: Real Red, Naturals White

Inks: Real Red, Always Artichoke classic ink pads and Real Red Marker (for cardinal bird on the stamp).

Accessories: Real Red 5/8″ Grosgrain Ribbon, Gold Brad, Scallop Oval Punch, Sponge Daubers, Tulipe die cut stencil using a window sheet.

(Tip added after receiving several questions)

Tip: For a perfect placement every time I used Dotto to hold my window sheet stencil to my grid paper then placed the image layer (or base card depending on which you want your image on) beneath the stencil aligned with a grid edge.  Since in this case my stencil is larger than my card area I was able to Dotto down both sides of the acetate stencil carefully lifting up one side to check progress and then pressing back down on the Dotto – rather like a hinged door.

DCP00972

This version is pretty much the same except I added the Texturz Plate as background stamp once again for a more “natural” layered look.  This time I used Creamy Caramel as the background ink.  I love single layer cards that only appear to have texture and layers.  I also left the sentiment off as I thought this design could work for pretty much any occasion.  As a Birthday, Thank you or whatever so will add a sentiment later when I know what I’m going to use it for.

Same supplies as above except for the addition of the Texturz plate Kit #4 and Creamy Caramel ink.

 And a side by side (okay top and bottom) comparison. 

Tulipe Stencil cards

And a final look at Queen Wicket.  At 14 years old and the last of a long line of related kitties (Sandy is her adopted sister) she really does rule the house though she often lets Sandycat pretend otherwise. 

She will always and ever be Daddy’s Princess.  Her Daddy is waiting for her in Heaven and what a joyful reunion that will be.  She and Steve were inseperable and she still mourns his loss 12 years on.   When ever she comes across something that still carries his scent she goes into mourning all over again.  And her eyes have never lost that soulful look that is her main characteristic that won her Daddy’s heart.

DCP01048_edited

Thanks for stopping by and checking out my latest experiments with stencils.   I’ll be back tomorrow with a quick look at a few other smaller bits and pieces that started out the whole playtime binge.

Hugs and blessings – Jean

PS:  I’ll be happy to help you order any of the supplies you might need to make your own stencil experiments.   Shoot me an email or give me a call.   And my studio is always open by appointment if you want to come by for a play date!

3 Responses

  1. Oh these are just all so beautiful, Jean! I wish I had that tulip die, but I do have the ornament punch and am planning on working on stencils with it! I can’t wait!

  2. […] brayers and then “stamped” on cardstock for an example of this check out this previous post of mine.    You can also ink the Texturz plate then run the cardstock through for an inked […]

Leave a Reply

